2003 Z4

Consumer Reviews

2003 BMW Z4

$5,409 - $13,261  MSRP Range
2003 BMW Z4

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

44 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 BMW Z4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fast, Awesome Styling, and Excellent mileage

by Z4 Lover from Baltimore, MD on Fri Jan 30 2009

I don't know how BMW does it, but they are masters at extracting the maximum performance from little motors. I wasn't expecting much from a 2.5 liter engine when I first test drove mine, but all I could say was WOW! It feels like a much larger engine with it's flat torque curve,very reminiscent of an old 5.0 Mustang GT I use to have.Matter of fact the strait line performance is very close. The best is first gear. Edmund's reports 0-30mph of the 5 speed manual 2.5i at 2.1 seconds.For comparison, that's faster than a 2005 C6 Vette LS2 by .1 seconds.However the Vette will pull you after that(but who cares?)If you make a habit of ringing out second gear around town, you'll probably lose your license before long anyway. Change out the poor handling and heavy run flat tires for a good performance tire and it will increase your performance further by reducing the rotating mass. The Z4 2.5i gets about 35 mpg on the Hwy with a light foot and about 23 in town according to the on-board computer.That is of course with the addition of a K&N panel filter and no "run flats". Where the Z4 really shines is in the styling and handling dept.With the "Sport Package" option and it's beefier suspension it corners like it's on rails.The sport button decreases power steering assist for more road feel and increases throttle tip in for more spirited driving. It looks like it should be in a James Bond movie('nuff said). Couple of tips if you are in the market for a Z4: 1)Get the Sports and Premium packages to get all the bells and whistles like power top, leather, heated seats, hifi stereo( you'll appreciate the extra watts with the top down). 2) Get a manual trans. The automatics aren't any fun and problematic from what I hear. 3) The difference in performance is marginal at best between the 2.5i and 3.0i mainly due to the 2.5i's shorter piston stroke and steeper final drive ratio. Test drive them and see for yourself. The insurance for a 2.5i is way cheaper that the 3.0i too. 4) If you are taller than 6'4", you might want to look for a bigger sports car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best roadster value for the money

by golfguy from Portland, OR on Sun Dec 16 2012

For a modest investment ($16-20k) a used Z4 is a bargain at about half the price new. The engines are bulletproof in terms of reliability. When buying I made sure to get both the sport and premium packages, you should too. They give you all the enjoyment a Z4 can deliver for not a lot of extra money and they'll help you when resale time comes around. Here's another tip: A Z4 is a huge step up from ANY Z3, there's just no comparison in terms of features, comfort, handling, etc., etc... Trust me, I owned a Z3 for several years and am very familiar with that model. The car had some major redesign features in 2006 so that's a good year to shoot for in terms of price/value. I would look for a clean low mile 3.0 model, but honestly, if you find a really good 2.5 car with sport and premium packages, they're a good buy. The 2.5 does 0-60 in 7 seconds and tops out at 146 mph, not bad for most driving! These cars are just tons of wind in your hair fun at a modest expense. You will LOVE your Z4!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Get ready to be the "Talk of the Town"!

by Sports Car Enthusiast Extraordinaire from Michigan on Mon Mar 05 2012

I have owned my 3.0i Z4 for almost two years now, it's simply fantastic. With its bold, exciting exterior design, you will be grabbin' attention everywhere you go with it. To this day, I still receive compliments from total strangers about it. My Z4 is an '03, and people think it's a brand new car! Not to mention, the resale value and depreciation rate for these vehicles are amazing. Overall, It's a win-win situation, high-end performance, good gas mileage, and a total "head-turner."

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Z 4444444

by I fly bmw z4 from chicago on Mon Aug 10 2009

Nothing else like it turns heads from every age group. The car out performs any other convertible in its class and for the money it un matched. The best part its a BMW loaded with performance and features most cars dont have or only found in cars that cost way more

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

BMW stands the test of time

by over40soccermom from Des Moines, IA on Tue Feb 23 2010

The vehicle I found on cars.com is a 2003. It still handles great and performs outstanding on the road. Its beauty never fades.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful car, great handling, reliable so far

by Elefntkpr from Louisiana on Sun Apr 20 2008

Love the styling. Hated the run flat 16" tire. Installed 18" CSL. Brave with no spare but I hate the stock rims. Interior well designed but storage space is minimal. Drives very nice, great suspension. Decent power for the 2.5 but don't expect too much. Lots of top end HP.HID lights are bright, love them. Factory stereo is awesome except for the lack of MP3 compatibility. Overall, great car and I'm completely satisfied. I'd buy another one if I lost this one.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SAD DUDE

by CHEESE from JONESBORO , GA on Thu Dec 02 2010

THIS CAR WAS SO CUTE I DIDNT EVEN WANT TO SELL IT. IT WAS GOOD AT EVERY THING. WHEN I DROVE IT, IT WAS SO COMFORTABLE.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

drove car for 50k over 5 years

by pamchenko from new york, ny on Sun Jul 10 2011

bought it CPO with 6k and 3 yrs of age. car had manual transmission. I liked the transmission alot. good punch from the 3.0 liter engine. very nimble. seats were okay but long road trips were tough. even after many years, people still found the car exterior attractive. reliability was good. cpo warranty covered convertible top issues. Repairs done on the car over the couple of years were a defective sensor in the trunk about the top and some motor replacement in the top. would likely have been costly but CPO covered it. stereo was pretty good, and better with aux in i installed. was overall happy with my purchase. with winters in new york, putting on smaller rims/snow tires made this driveable in good amount of snow albeit clearance was the most significant issue. summer tires/premium rims made this undriveable in snow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Sports Car I've Ever Owned!

by Spiderman from on Mon Jun 25 2012

I've had a Mazda RX-7 and a 300ZX, but this Z4 beats them both by a mile! Incredible handling and quickness, plus I love the look and stance of the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exactly what I expected from BMW!

by Dave's Zed 4 from Annapolis M.D. on Mon Aug 13 2018

Fast, good looking, stiff, sexy! I guess you might say I love this roadster. It turns heads and garners compliments. It makes me feel young again and I'm 76!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2003 BMW Z4

Poor Chris Bangle.

The design chief for BMW had his hands full when he was charged with the unenviable task of reworking what had worked right for six years.

And what wasn't right about the Z3 sports car? From its garish good looks to its hair-in-the-wind demeanor, young and old alike loved it. James Bond even plugged it.

How do you improve on a good thing? How do you make the Bond car better?

Bangle started over. And the complaining started up.

(Who knew adding a number would be so difficult?)

To the critics, the 2003 Z4 roadster was "too different," not "stylish enough," and hardly representative of BMW's "sexy corporate styling."

Sexy corporate styling?

Isn't that like saying "attractive... Read More