2011 Z4

Consumer Reviews

2011 BMW Z4

$13,115 - $34,387  MSRP Range
2011 BMW Z4

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

21 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2011 BMW Z4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

FUN CAR

by Thrills from FORT GIBSON, OK on Thu Dec 02 2010

THIS IS THE SECOND Z 4 THAT MY WIFE AND I HAVE OWNED. HAD THE FIRST ONE 7 YEARS NOT ONE PROBLEM WITH IT. WE LOVE OUR NEW Z4 IS IT IS A BLAST TO DRIVE AND IT IS A REAL HEAD TURNER. ALSO GETTING 29 MPG. I DON'T DRIVE LIKE A OLD MAN EITHER.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Perfect Roadster

by rparmar from winchester, va on Sat Jun 25 2011

I bought a 2011 z435i with premium,sound,sport package upgrades and 7 speed automatic transmission. It really is the perfect balance of sport, eye catching style, and luxury on the road. The acceleration is very responsive and has a nice throaghty masculine sound. The handling around turns is very nice and tight. The 0-60 speeds are exhilarating. The sport and sport + transmission options and the steering wheel paddles are a nice touch for the money to keep the car and the driving a bit more interesting, but probably would be better used by someone who truely is a bit of race enthusiast. The cars style is a show stopper!!!! It gets a lot of attention on the road. It has a great look from all angles and is noticed at a distance. The hard top is very functional and when up, gives the car a "non convertible" sports car look compared to other soft top convertibles that look less attractive with the tops up and visible. Putting the top up or down is a show stopper as well in public, given the "transformer" style of panels moving about ...very cool. The interior is typical BMW high end style. Lots of cabin room for driver and passenger, lost of leg and arm room, very comfortalbe on long trips. Seats are very supportive. You dont feel llike your in a small 2 seat convertable, you feel like you are in the cabin of a larger convertiable sedan. Great panaramic view with top down and great visibility with top up. Top up, the car drives and feels like a non convertible, back window looks and feels like normal sedan rear views. Limited storage space, but should be expected for this type of car. Trunk space is limited but agian this should be expected. Ride in non sport mode suspension is comfortalble for long road trips. I love that i can be taking a nice lazy senic drive with the top down and then when the moment strikes me i can gun the car down a straight away or fly around a nice turn like a top performance car and get goose bumps. The sound system is nice, not great, no subwoffer(?), ipod and usb interface is easy to use while driving, radio display is hard to see while top is down due to suns glare on dashboard. Cup holders are stupidy small, can only hold a 12 once can sized cup and they are hard to reach while driving (often spill my drink trying to grab it), optional detachable cup holder is easeir to reach but still very small diameter and cant hold a "large" size drink from fast food place (Big gulp....forget about it). BMW's a la carte option are very pricey and you need to get at least the premium,sport,sound packages to experience the car as i am discribing it. If you add on even more options the price range puts the cars cost in the range of other "higher" end sports/luxury cars that may be better all around options. For around 60K$ you may be able to get a faster or more luxurious car but I dont think you can get a better combo of all around show stopping, jaw dropping style,sport performance, and luxury on the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty, classy vehicle

by Z lover from Milwaukee, WI on Tue May 28 2013

This is my second Z series. I bought a new 2000 Z3 in 1999, put 250K miles on it and although it still looked and ran great, I decided it was time to upgrade. I bought a new 2011 Z4 30i in Sept. of 2012, needless to say I got a fantastic deal on this new, yet last years model car. The advancement in technology in 11 years is amazing. This car is a showstopper, especially when the top is down. The hard top convertible is unbelievable and easy to use with the touch of a button. The sound system is also amazing, there is an ipod and computer hookup. It has plenty of room, more than the Z3 had. It has limited trunk space which is typical for a 2 seater sports car with a convertible top. For the price, you just cannot do better or purchase a more reliable vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super Nice!

by J from Irvine, CA on Wed Aug 14 2013

A wonderful car bought from Beverly Hills BMW. Great performance and handing. Super fast car. Not a little slower than M3.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new Z4 35IS

by PSUZ4 from Mercersburg on Fri Oct 14 2016

This car is a glove like fitting, reliable, rocket car. I drove MB CLK's and SL's for 15 years prior to owning my Z4 and this car is in a different category of "fun to drive" and comfort from anything I've ever driven.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Sport Ride of Your Life

by Toni from Greenwich NY on Wed Jul 05 2017

This Roadster is married to the road. Hugs and holds it's form around curves at fun speeds. The engine has a highly engineered and precisely tuned sound. The acceleration is amazing and passing is a breeZe . At slower speeds I have had compliments from everyone 8 to 80 year olds! It's a thing of seer beauty. Classy and rare is the white on beige leather. The heated steering wheel is sweet and the headlamps that turn before you do are amazing on country roads at night. And finally I'd be remiss if I didn't mention the automatic (transformer) hard top. It's German engineering at its finest...and once seen, it can not be unseen! When the top is down this BMW Z4 is perfectly balanced front to rear ratio :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle

by Gator from Vero Beach, FL on Mon Apr 16 2012

Recently purchased and found car wonderful. Great gas mileage (29 average, 33 on the road), fast, comfortable and beautiful.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

As advertised.

by TheRavenous1 from Baltimore on Tue Jan 10 2017

I have a 2011 z4 sdrive35 and absolutely love it! In sport+ mode it is an animal; and not for the novice driver. The radio lacks bass in comparison with other Bimmers I've owned; surely due to lack of space and accommodation for the retractable hardtop. The seats fit my 6"1' frame comfortably; and the head clearance is more than adequate. The rims are light weight aluminum alloy 19 inchers on low profile tires that are not city pothole friendly (so beware); yet add tremendously to the handling of the car. It's a definite eye catcher; and a true value as a certified preowed vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very satisfying sports car

by Cbrunson100 from Temple TX on Thu Oct 26 2017

This is not my daily driver, though I drive it just about every chance I can. If the sun is out and the temp is between 60 - 80, I run the roof into the trunk and drive this little jewel. It's almost as responsive as our MINI and much faster. It isn't the most comfortable car because of the geometry, but the seats are supportive and as comfortable as they can be with your legs sticking straight out. It's not a fault of the car, it's a feature of the low-slung design. The '35is' is limited to 155 mph and will get there without breathing hard. It is gorgeous with the top up or down and sounds fantastic to boot. The long hood and short boot are perfectly proportioned just like the old MGBs and Triumphs were, and the lines of the car are exceptional. I will probably keep this car until I croak.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Website

by BMW Lover from Great Mills, Maryland on Wed Nov 06 2013

The website was fabulous. I had been looking for months when I came upon the vehile I had been searching for a 2011 BMW Z4, Crimson Red and in pristine condition. Contacted the dealership BMW of Sterling, Virginia. Dealt with Susan Coggins and Corey Pardue who were excellent with the paperwork. Made the two hour drive to the dealership and had a painless and quick paperwork process. The wife loves the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2011 BMW Z4

The new Z4 sDrive35is has as tongue-twisting a name as you'll find in the U.S. auto market.

Those who speak BMW can decipher what it means, but all you really need to know is that it fully lives up to the automaker's Ultimate Driving Machine slogan.

The top-dog version of the Z4 retractable-hardtop roadster is a pleasure to drive on the street or the track — just don't expect that experience to come cheap.

There are a number of versions of the Z4, all with excessively complicated names. The base model starts at $46,000 and is called the sDrive30i, and the lineup is capped by the $61,050 sDrive35is, which is new for 2011. To see a side-by-side comparison of all three trim levels, click here.

Styling

The first... Read More