2020 Z4

Consumer Reviews

2020 BMW Z4

$44,806 - $71,058  MSRP Range
2020 BMW Z4

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

13 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 BMW Z4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It's early but so far so good!

by Exercise addict from The Villages, Florida on Sat Sep 14 2019

Good balance of class, quality and performance. The handling exceeded my expectations. This car "sticks" to the road and is amazingly predictable. Acceleration is smooth and linear. Exhaust pop is like...music!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car

by Mike from Milford ct on Mon Jan 20 2020

The m40i is just incredible. It excels in everything. It’s fast, luxurious and insanely fun to drive. Treat yourself it’s well worth it. I’ve owned Porsche’s and this is more fun

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Even my wife likes it...

by マハ5号ゴー! from Houston, TX on Wed May 06 2020

Super fun to drive, but more feedback in the steering wheel would be nice. Surprisingly quiet for being a convertible. Lots of power on tap, across a wide range of RPMs. My wife wasn’t thrilled with my decision to get the Z4, although she was supportive. However, on our first real road trip, when things got a little weird on the freeway, and we needed to get out from around some craziness, the Z4 just pulled away with amazing capability and grace. My wife even said “that felt really good”, when normally she’d complain about heavy acceleration. It feels so rock steady on the road, it’s pretty amazing. I’ve never driven a car where people whip out their phones to take pictures previously, so it does have a coolness factor that is fun to experience. Incredibly comfortable seating, and amazing tech. I got the Frozen Grey II Metallic paint option, which looks amazing, but it does make it so you really can’t take it many places for care, so I handle it myself. I really love the car, and I really love driving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The engineering of this car exceeds my expectation

by Estaben from Nc on Sat Oct 19 2019

I waited for a 2020 to be built to my specifications and i am not disappointed. Love this car, especially the sport mode in the North Carolina mountains crusing Wayah rd.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One classy sports car

by Victory from THE VILLAGES on Mon Nov 25 2019

The Z4 has been a desire of mine for many years and I finally made the purchase. Beautiful car and one that I know I will love for years to come. I have owned many cars in all my years and this is by far the best I have ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Its a Cool Ride

by SpeakEasy from Arlington VA on Tue Oct 20 2020

At first I was skeptical. I was actually in the market for either the Porsche Cayman or 911. I did my analysis and discovered the Z4 compares pretty well with the Cayman. After test driving both cars, I fell in love with the Z4 and its M specs!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What an incredibly fun car!

by JCMICT from Wichita Ks on Fri Sep 18 2020

We purchased the Z4 M40i model. While not the fastest sports car it certainly does not leave us wanting for more power. The ride and handling exceeded our expectations. We drove it 600 miles back home after purchasing and it was a very good long distance cruiser and returned 35 mpg going 85 mph. Pretty impressive for this level of performance. Wind buffeting is well controlled and at highway speeds with the top down and window up you are able to carry on a conversation at a normal level. The sound of the exhaust is awesome especially in sport mode. It pops and crackles and brings a grin to our faces. A few gripes though. 1. Storage inside is pretty limited as expected in such a small car but I think there were missed opportunities in several areas. 2. The base audio is not very good. I would highly recommend getting the upgraded Harmon Kardon. I had that system in my 428 and it was really good. Overall it is an awesome car and we are completely happy with our purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ultimate driving machine

by Diggers from Clive IA on Fri Jun 26 2020

Awesome car, plenty of power and a joy to drive. Top down cruising wind in the hair, most fun you can have with your clothes on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just about perfect

by Robertg from Hampstead, NC on Sun Jul 19 2020

I recently purchased the Z4 M40. I liked the Z4, but loved the M40. The balance of power, handling, style is a home run. HUD, driving modes and sound systems are some of the best I’ve seen. I’ve always been a corvette guy owning several z06’s and just don’t like the lines on the c8. This new z4M hit all the marks for me and is a better balance of power and style for my taste.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

enjoy it much. not as much interior as early z4

by 1950 Z$ from Phoenix on Wed Feb 12 2020

Enjoyable ride, quiet and great with the top down. Top is easier to pt down vs older z4 models. Do miss the old z4 look but enjoy the new design. A good mix of Toyota and BMW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2