Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1994 Century

Consumer Reviews

1994 Buick Century

$346 - $4,374  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

10 Reviews
80% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
2.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1994 Buick Century?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

You get what you pay for ...

by I Like Cars from Batesville, AR on Tue Jun 26 2007

It's not all that expensive of a car, so you get what you pay for. The age tends to make things break down more easily. I have had some transmission problems.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Fuel Economy

by Car Guy from on Sun Apr 24 2011

I get great fuel economy with this car around 34 MPG Highway 20 City. This is a great winter car when you get the Goodyear Tire (Assurance). I cut right through the snow with this car with these tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love GM

by Tram1979 from Pennsylvania on Fri Feb 16 2018

Wonderful Car. I bought this 2nd hand and glad I did. I have replaced a few parts and was well worth the money. Selling price was $1800 but got it for $800. Sellers mechanic told him it had a blown head gasket turned out to be a leaking Coolant Temp Sensor. Car runs like a bear.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfy Car

by A from Virginia on Mon Jan 11 2010

I adore this car. I've had it over a year now and haven't had a single problem. I usually don't drive it over 65-70 mph since it's so old but it's been very reliable. It also has very comfortable seats!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable for the most part.

by josh from Auburn, WA on Mon Aug 30 2010

had the car for 6 years was in front lawn for 2 and stolen for a couple months worked grat after that great comuter car put 50k miles on it its at 120000 now has some engine problems one cylnder missfires wastes gas went from being 28 mpg to 9-13 mpg in the course of a few months cars garbage now but i still thrash it around for beign in bad shape/ condition u can still do 110-130 in it (downhill) without a ton of problems but it shakes like no other dont recomend going above 70-80 in these cars... but overall the engine lasted long for the wear and tare i put on it god lasting car... but one thing to be weary about is that the window motors go out very easily so dont over use them.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Longest lasting car

by College Student from Upstate NY on Sat Apr 04 2009

I've had this car for 8 years, and it has always been reliable. There have been issues, since it lived in the salty north for years, there's a bit of rust. Even after everything else stopped working, the engine and transmission kept going to 180,000 miles, but a new tranny is worth more than the car, so it was time to give it up, even though I'm still driving it through town...very slowly.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Big car competes with small car mpg!

by Penny Pincher from Seattle on Sat Jan 05 2008

Bought this car used at 60K and have only had 1 bill for cooling service which was neglected by previous owner. It gets great gas mileage and outbeat our Escort! Benefits still going strong at 100K? V6 power, electric everything, cruise, smooth ride, excellent gas mileage, cheap operating costs, very roomy & comfortable ride. Disadvantage? Huge turning radius makes city parking a headache.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by DVL from Tacoma, WA on Sat Mar 04 2017

Must see mechanical history to appreciate why this is a great price even though it is a 1994 vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Mundane Everyday Driver

by Cars.com from Canton, OH on Wed Jan 07 2009

Ugly exterior, boring interior, handled like a boat through corners, below average horsepower. This is a car that proves Buick is a wanna-be luxury company that fails.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best older car

by Cpfl2018 from Palm bay on Thu Jul 26 2018

This car did longer drives back and forth to orlando with no problems for the time I owned. Loved this little car for the time I used it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1994 Buick Century

Century.

Seems that's how long Buick's midsize sedan has been on the market.

Try as it might to drive a stake through the Century's engine for the last five years, the media has been unable to get Buick to discontinue the front-wheel-drive Century A-body, which first appeared in 1982.

That's the same media that tried to send the Chevrolet Camaro and Pontiac Firebird to the hereafter about a decade ago.

The problem with Century is that though scribes feel the technology is outmoded, the car-buying public loves the machine.

Well, not everybody finds rapture in Century. It's a car mostly for older folks (OK, 45 and up) who are intimidated by high-tech and whose vocabulary... Read More