Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1997 Century

Consumer Reviews

1997 Buick Century

1997 Buick Century

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

8 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Buick Century?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely Reliable, Runs Forever

by David R from Wisconsin on Sun Sep 11 2011

Overall a really great, reliable car with fantastic gas mileage. Owned a Buick Century Custom for years and years, and it has never had any problems, never broke down, always ran perfectly. They're very spacious and comfortable and a good sized car. Nice cold air conditioning in the summer and great fast heater in the winter. Good for the mid-west! Safe, and sturdy! The kind of car you can put 300,000 miles on and it will still run perfectly. This car lasts forever!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great car

by Jim from Chicago, IL on Thu Jan 27 2011

We bought our 1997 Buick Century Limited used 5 years ago, it has been great. Mileage is 20 city, 30 road. We also own a 2001 Toyota Camry - the Buick is our preferred car. Both get the same gas mileage, comfort of the Buick sells us. Rust is a concern.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't beat a Buick

by Barb from Rockaway on Mon Sep 28 2009

I owned a 1998 Century and is was quiet and had great gas mileage.Never had a ounce of problems and never broke down and left me stranded.I wish they still made this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great value - great car

by mitch from on Thu Aug 27 2009

I bought a used 97 century a few years ago for my daughter and the car has performed like a champ. The ride is smooth and the car has been a great buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

97 buick

by krazi from on Mon Feb 10 2014

Had one that my dad gave me. after the factory engine gave up, we put a new one in it. drove the car for another year until the intake gasket started leaking antifreeze into the crank case. after that repair the car didn't quite run right. it would hesitate and stutter when I wanted it to go. I will not own another gm 3100 again ever.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Loved This Car

by red2017 from Chicago Il on Tue Jul 25 2017

This car was perfect old school car know parts of it because it was old not hard to fix when broke down

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best deal in town

by b.billieu from tampa fl on Sat Jan 20 2018

I got the best trade in value for my car found the car I was looking for two months at the best price iv seen on the net very happy

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

This is a smooth driving, open road, family car.

by bf443 from Maryland on Sat Apr 08 2017

This is a smooth driving, open road, family car. We will miss this comfortable car. 1997 Buick Century Custom.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1997 Buick Century

The previous Buick Century went back to the early '80s and looked it. From its dated dash to its snorific styling, it was an archeological dig into the boring nature of GM family sedans during that decade.

But people kept buying them in big numbers right up to the end, because the cars were inexpensive, roomy and comfortable -- and they didn't break.

The 1997 replacement for that midsize sedan is a quantum leap beyond it. It is a more advanced, more refined vehicle with more contemporary styling. It is also a stronger car, which means it has less chance to squeak and rattle.

Indeed, about all it has in common with its predecessor is its drivetrain, soft ride and low price.

This roomy... Read More