2000 Century

Consumer Reviews

2000 Buick Century

$922 - $5,894  MSRP Range
2000 Buick Century

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

21 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
3.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2000 Buick Century?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Dependable

by #lookinforagoodusedcarbutcantfindone from Cincinnati, OH on Mon Feb 17 2014

Got this car with 62000 miles on it. Besides routine maintenance the only thing I have had to replace was the fuel pressure regulator and water pump. It now has 258,000 miles on it. Oh yeah and I had to replace a brake line.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good, Reliable Car

by Cory from Michigan on Tue Jun 17 2008

The car has never stalled, and has started up on it's first try every time. Roomy seating, and plenty of trunk space. The handling is not great because the car is so wide, but it has 175hp and a V6, so it drives well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing First Car

by JustintimeK from Kansas City, MO on Wed Sep 13 2017

I was given this car by my great-grandmother with 50,000 miles on it. I drove it for several years, across the country 4 times, and put over 50,000 more miles on it. Not once did it break down, or have any severe issues of any kind. I ended up giving it to my sister as her first car, and it's still on the road today. Very reliable, very cheap to maintain, and very comfortable. LOVE THIS CAR.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still Going

by nsgky from Owensboro, Kentucky on Mon Nov 06 2017

This car is the most reliable car still on the market. My Century has around 111,500 miles and it still runs like a top. Yes, the transmission is a little rough, but if you don't drive it hard, it isn't a problem. I can gladly say, I will be using this car until it won't go anymore! My only complaint is that the style and interior are a little bulky, but that's to be expected if you're going to buy an older car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good reliable car for the money!

by Roxie from Woodstock on Thu Jun 15 2017

This was a really good car and lasted a very long time before I had to get rid of it and tried to look for something similar.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Cream Puff I have bought

by Mrs Barben from NEW CASTLE on Thu Mar 23 2017

I bought this for my son who had just enlisted and it is perfect for him. It is 17 years old but only had 75,000 miles on it and we are the second owner Great comfort, looks and reliability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Owned

by Loyal Buick Customer from West Virginia Hills on Tue Feb 08 2011

I inherited a used 1990 white Buick Century 4-door sedan which had belonged to my mother and, before her, my great-aunt. In 2006 I traded it in - for a used 2000 white Buick Century 4-door sedan. This car is a dream to drive! Leather seats, automatic door locks, radio controls in steering wheel, seats with lumbar support, fantastic surround-sound music system, plus the famous "Buick ride" all combine for a pleasurable trip, whether tooling around town or heading to the highway for weekend getaways. This car, like the last one, starts first-time-every-time, even in zero-degree weather! It has plenty of head and leg room for backseat passengers, and the front seats come all the way out to the back of our knees (unlike the foreign cars which hit us about mid-thigh). Road noise is minimal and it handles beautifully in all kinds of weather - plows through snow like a Sherman tank. Couldn't be happier!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent

by bobbydrums from indiana on Sat Jan 29 2011

we now have 178,000 miles, replaced brakes serpintine belt tires and thats it this was our 3 buick the 3800 engie is tops, ours is the 3,1 which has enough power for what we need, purr like a panther, 34 mpg on highway, we some times use it for a rural mail route vehicle, We have a Honda CRV for full time mail route , honda are the best for this, Buicks are one tough vehicle, The traction control is great for Indiana Snow,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car

by Jimmy from Illinois on Sat Mar 06 2010

Bought this car for a steal. Runs great looks good handles well. I like the features and it does well with the crash report as well. The trunk is HUGE. So if you need the room there it has plenty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Tranny Problems

by PearlCity from Pearl City, Hawaii on Fri Dec 17 2010

Purchased this car used with only 40K miles on it. It was a one owner trade in with some body damage. Had it checked out and all seemed good but the tranny began to "bump" into the gears rather hard about 2 weeks after purchase. Found out the tranny is almost shot after 40K SOFT miles. After researching further discoverd that GM vehicles and Buicks in particularl had major issues with the tranny between the 2000 - 2004 models.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2000 Buick Century

With so many historic Buicks at Das Awkscht Fescht, you could get a hankering to try a new one.

Well, you're in luck: The most popular model is also Buick's least expensive: the front-wheel-drive Century.

The name has been around for the best part of the 20th century. It started out as a factory hotrod, sporting Buick's largest engine in its smallest body. But, for the last three decades or so, the Century has been a mid-sized model.

Since 1997, the Century has shared its body with the Regal. The Regal tries to hide its Buick heritage -- with mixed success -- by dispensing with chrome, and offering a tighter suspension with bucket seats and a center console. The Century is more handsome, with... Read More