2003 LeSabre

Consumer Reviews

2003 Buick LeSabre

$1,025 - $7,741  MSRP Range
2003 Buick LeSabre

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

30 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2003 Buick LeSabre?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Gentleman's car.

by Retired guy running around from Peoria, Illinois on Wed Mar 19 2008

I converted to Buicks about 15 years ago because friends and neighbors who had Buicks loved them. This is a smooth riding, responsive, comfortable, gentleman?s car. We bought it used with 67,000 miles on it and it has 88,000 now. No maintenance costs other than scheduled maintenance and tires. I had the moisture sensing feature on the windshield wipers disabled after experiencing delays when slush from passing semis obscured vision while the sensor was deciding whether the windshield was wet or not. I decided not to replace the $600.00 element in the driver?s heated seat. The trunk is big enough for golf clubs and pull cart with room to spare. The engine is more responsive than I need, but comes in handy when passing on a two-lane highway. Front seats are comfortable and fully adjustable. Lately, because of the price of gas, I have considered a Civic or Corolla, but this is a great car, and the reviews say it gets 18/29 mpg. I have never taken time to check actual mpg. This is a fantastic automobile. I enjoy driving it. Looks good. Suits me just fine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vechicle

by worden from Lansing, MI on Fri Dec 23 2011

What a great value for the money. In michigan you need a vechicle for any weather condition imaginable and the Lesabre fits the bill. Had the intake issue that is common with this engine which was 400.00. Other than this issue (not isolated to lesabres) it is flawless. Luxury at its best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great value car

by wgk from Dallas, TX on Thu May 06 2010

I have owned vehicle for 7 months and believe it is a great value for price, comfort, economy and reliability. Researched vehicle 6 months before buying; one of best cars have owned!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best of the Breed and Affordable

by The GM Man from Central Florida on Sat Nov 18 2006

This is the Lesabre Limited in the Touring edition and Buick really did this right. While it is still the 3.8 engine it has tremendous acceleration and gets outstanding gas mileage. It handles well under all conditions and the transmission is smooth as silk.This edition has all the bells and whistles and as it approaches 20000 miles it just keeps getting better. Smooth and comfortable ride even on rough roads and nary a squeak or rattle. Probably the best car I have owned...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car for the money.

by Yo. from Denver, CO on Fri Oct 23 2009

This is a safe, reliable car and it definitely meets or exceeds its EPA gas mileage estimates in both the city and on the highway. On the highway at 65 mph I average in the high 20's to low 30's for gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2003 Buick Lesabre Limited

by Ultrafred from Frederick MD on Wed Mar 09 2016

Purchased car with 70,000 miles as it did NOT have the popped dash board and NO leaks on the intake manifold (common problems) Very reliable model as I am driving the same make and model with 236,000 miles. Had all the bells and whistles including a sun roof. Car was garage kept and was exceptionally clean Including the under carriage. Highly recommend this model for dependable transportation. Note, I get 30 MPG on highway driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury with 29mpg average!

by The Green Queen from Cotton Valley on Fri May 23 2008

Beautiful and COMFORTABLE!! The nicest riding vehicle I have ever experienced. Plenty of bells and whistles--notifies you if tires are low or if you need to tighten the gas cap! Highly recommend!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned

by LeSabre Fan from St. Louis, Mo on Wed Oct 17 2007

This is the best car I have ever owned. I have bought over 10 new cars in my life time and I have had absolutely nothing to say bad about this car other than the fact that for so reason or another they don't hold their resale value like they should. A great car! I have owned this car for 4 1/2 years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

03 Buick LeSabre

by Rob G from Anthem on Thu Mar 16 2017

The good, good gas mileage, with the Buick 3.8 thats been around for about 40 years and is one of the most reliable engines ever made. Build quality if good, nice interior etc. The bad, the G bodys across the GM line are known for a highway wobble on the front wheels. Mine occurs at about 65. So its not a huge issue but it can take time to isolate the problem, it can be tires, alignment, worn shocks, worn tire rods, out if spec brake rotors...you get the idea. Its not a big enough problem for me to chase the issue down but will address it as parts are replaced.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Hooptie cruiser

by The money pit from New Orleans, LA on Sat Dec 13 2014

I bought this used Buick about 2 years ago with 116000 miles on it as a second vehicle to have a comfortable ride with good gas mileage. I am the third owner. (car fax) I like the ride and mileage, but have had a number of mechanical problems which have cost me thousands of dollars. Head gasket, catalitic converter, oxygen sensors, air shocks, windshield wiper moters (4) - don't buy "cardone" brand, stick with AC delco original parts. Maybe I just got one with problems and I hope I am about finished putting $ into it, but if I had known what was coming I wouldn't have bought it! Evidentally the intake manifold, power windows, and dashboard popping up are the most common problems. My mechanic checked after I bought and didn't see the problems that were coming. Still like the car, but haven't enjoyed the repair bills! I am still trying to get my moneysworth out of it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2003 Buick LeSabre

How do you last 100 years in the auto industry?

The formula is simple: Do everything well, even if nothing spectacular.

That's why Buick celebrates its 100th anniversary in 2003, and does so with a full-size LeSabre Celebration Edition rather than a cake.

You might expect that '03 would have been a great year to bring out a new LeSabre or Park Avenue. Or maybe a Regal if not a Century.

Of course, a new Century might not have been all that fitting because it's scheduled to go away soon as a separate model and become an option package on the next-generation Regal for '05.

Oh well, at least Century made the first century.

But we digress.

Word is that when Bob Lutz arrived and took over... Read More