2002 Park Avenue

Consumer Reviews

2002 Buick Park Avenue

$902 - $6,742  MSRP Range
2002 Buick Park Avenue

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

11 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Buick Park Avenue?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Alex

by Just another car owner from Connecticut on Fri May 12 2006

I bought my 97 Park Avenue used in 2001 with 71000 miles. Now it has 135000, but I love this car and would buy another one just like that only newer. BTW, I am only 30, so ditch the "grandpa's car" reputation! Get great mileage of 20-22 in city and 27-29 highway (best on my memory was 31.8 mpg highway-only driving for 6 hours @ 75-80 mph with tail wind). Regular 3.8L provides plenty of power and still runs quietly. Repairs/problems: 1.Blew head gasket and got coolant in cylinders once ($800). 2.Transmission solenoid got stuck and would shift jerkily ($500). 3.Chrome wheels need replacement (some corrossion around stem valves letting air out over week's time) - price TBD. 4.Just today windshield wipers ceased to work (looks like a slipped gear). Still, with all the comforts and great looks I highly value this model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I am now a fan!

by Fan of a Buick from LA on Fri Apr 30 2010

I would have never guessed how much I would like this car. I bought it off my mechanic (the main reason I bought it) and have never regretted it. Truth be told, I thought I was too cool to drive a Buick. Now I am a fan!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing vehicle

by ljmhoops from Vinita on Wed Jan 03 2018

I'm an old retired basketball coach. The right vehicle for my world and including the possibility that I was young . I am also a car guy who has owned some used and some new. The ride, the gas mileage and the overall performance of the Park Avenue is right there with the best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Park Ave Superior

by rwgelan from Kansas on Fri Jun 29 2012

Own 2. 1998 was my Dad's. Bought it when he stopped driving several years ago @ 75,000 mi. 1999 purchased 3 years ago for $1600 with 120K mi. Have done only minor maintenance/tires/battery, and recently a set of front struts. 98 has 145K on it. 99 has 169K miles, both engines running strong. I'm guessing they'll both run 200-250,000 mi (21-29 mpg and no car payments! That's true economy!) All that in a truly comfortable passenger cabin with excellent air conditioning.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Dutchie from The Netherlands on Tue Jan 06 2015

In 2004 I bought a 2002 model in the Netherlands and drove it for 9 years. Than I gave it away to a friend for free, after importing in 2013 a 2005 model (the LTD version, 10.000 dollars) into the Netherlands. Needless to say I am completly in love with this last great sedans the USA produced (I think it was). Really wonderfull.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Found exactly what I was looking for

by Love Park Avenues from West Union, IA on Wed Jun 06 2012

Have bought and owned 8 Park Avenue. Put out a search for a 2002 or 2003, under 100,000 miles, red and chrome wheels. Put out a 500 mile search found one at 481 miles, exacely what I was looking for. 80,000 miles, new tires, looks and rides like a new car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and Relaxing Ride

by jruppert from Birmingham, AL on Thu Jan 04 2018

This car is the most comfortable vehicle I have ever entered. It offers ample room, and a very smooth ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I have ever had

by Sputnick from Richmond, Va. on Tue Jul 04 2017

This car is very reliable and a exceptionally smooth ride. The exterior and interior are still in excellent condition.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car I ever owned. 79 years old

by Old lawyer from Baltimore, md on Sat Jun 24 2017

I love it. I told my wife i will drive it til I die. The only reason se doesn't like it is that the mirror satilite connection doesn't work. AND, it holds `both of my garbage cans

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by RajackB from Bear Lake, MI on Sun Aug 13 2017

Great Comfort, Great Mileage. Several little things are worn out like the door catches, the power seats only partly adjust and the wheels leak air due to corrosion around the beads. I wish I had it when it was new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 Buick Park Avenue

Changed circumstances can alter your viewpoint. Take the matter of the 2002 Buick Park Avenue Ultra, the biggest of the Buick sedans.

I had uncharitably considered the car a wallow-mobile, a rolling land yacht, an automobile designed more for passengers than drivers.

But that was before a second transplant surgery relegated me to the role of passenger for a month.

During my first week of recovery, a Toyota Highlander wagon/sport-utility vehicle was available. It was a wonderfully crafted machine, a less expensive version of the mechanically and structurally identical Lexus RX300.

The Highlander was loaded with comfort-giving options, too, including heated seats. But... Read More