2001 Catera

Consumer Reviews

2001 Cadillac Catera

$1,526 - $4,914  MSRP Range
2001 Cadillac Catera

Review Score

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5

16 Reviews
69% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Cadillac Catera?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR I EVER BOUGHT

by pamperedgirl83 from moreno valley, ca on Wed Apr 27 2011

I got this car used with 68k on it. It has been almost a year and I have put almost 15k more on it and have put about $800 into the car. I knew when we bought the car that we would have to do repairs soon after since on the car fax there was only regular maintenance no repairs. When you buy an older used car you have to expect to do repairs. I will not trade this car for any new car out there...its just the right size and its so comfortable. I'm going to drive this car into the ground!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Jack802 from VT on Sun Mar 05 2017

This vehicle drives well and is the best vehicle that I have ever owned in my life. Comfortable on the inside and stylish on the outside.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Catera Solid Car

by Caddy Fan from Denver, CO on Tue Dec 30 2008

I've had my Catera for almost 5 years and it's been a great car. I really like the styling and it's fun to drive. It does surprisingly well in snow and ice considering it is RWD. I've had to put some money into repairing the traction control, battery cables, and oil level sensors - but that was all under warranty. All in all, this car has been very reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A very good first car

by Mike from LI Ny on Sat Jul 19 2008

I have been driving the car the past 6 months and it has been trouble free. Power is just right(7.1 sec for 0-60 is fine for me), and i personally like the interior and the exterior. My only complaints would be leg room for everyone in the car(im 6 3 and im VERY cramped), and that premium gas is recomended even though i cant figure out why. Other then this the car makes a great first car and college car. I would not however recomend it to an adult since it does not live up to the cadillac name and makes you wishing for more. Just hope you find a good one.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

needed repairs every 6 months

by rlm colorado from Colorado Springs, Colorado on Tue Oct 12 2010

Bought car used with low miles. After 6 months it needed repairs and there after numerous times. I was sold on the looks and styling of the car. but it is a maintenance nightmare. parts are very expensive and hard to find. the car is german made. Opal. If you dont mind spending money on repairs, then heres your car. Hopefully my mistake will not happen to others. even if you google this car you will find numerous others with problems.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Couldn't have made a better choice.

by Chevy from Chicago,IL on Mon Jan 22 2007

I bought My 2001 catera used with 42,000 miles on it, it's just like new! I made an excellent used car choice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Master tech

by Luxury lover from California on Wed May 31 2006

Very peppy, stylish, sturdy and great handling! I felt very safe and protcted with this vehicle. Unlike most new cars, it is built with real steel! The interior is beautiful and very luxerious. I believe the German engineering and design has done well with this Cadillac.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Avoid this car!!

by Boycott GM from Monterey, Ca on Sun Feb 07 2010

Parts are hard to get, not to mention expensive, and the mechanical problems are plentiful. I regret buying this car, mostly for the credit card debt accumulated trying to keep it running and the fact I had to sell it to a dismantler after 10 months of ownership because I could not sell it. Worst decision I've made, hopefully you will avoid it too.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Get more for your money

by sports car lover from Nevada on Wed May 31 2006

Great value for a used car made in Germany! I would not get any satisfaction from a car, thinking just about "economy", if there is no JOY driving it or looking at it. I love the look!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely well engineered german Cadillac

by Peter's Catera from Commack,NY on Thu Aug 24 2017

Its a great car... nice size. Sporty and well tuned. I serviced it by the same dealer for the past 16 years since I bought it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2