Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 STS

Consumer Reviews

2005 Cadillac STS

$3,004 - $8,696  MSRP Range
2005 Cadillac STS

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

34 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Cadillac STS?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Coolest ride I've ever owned

by Real automobile lover. from Mississippi on Thu Nov 01 2012

Beautiful car has been trouble free, plenty of power and decent mileage on regular gas. Mine is fully equipped glad I got a book. Juat like professional reviews the 6 cyl is all the power you need. The V8 is much more costly. There are too many features to review them all but everything is great. I just love the envy from my friends am a very proud owner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2005 Cadillac STS V6 RWD

by CaddyOwner111 from Boston, MA on Sun May 26 2013

I got the 05 STS in 2011 with only 60k miles. The car is nice but I was semi skeptical about repair costs. About 2 years and 36k miles later, all I have replaced were wipers and breaks. The car is beautiful inside and out. I stand 6'3 and friends have a hard time sitting directly behind me. Sound system is great. Only complaint is that I should have gone AWD for the snow I get. Overall, I would buy a Caddy again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Luxury Car

by sds409 from Pittsburgh,PA on Mon Sep 18 2006

I have owned several cadillacs in the past. I am a gadget junky. I love all the buttons to push, all the lights, etc. I don't like that in order to access the driver memory system, you have to go through the navi system to get there. This is not as easy as some cadillac models. They have a button on the door...very easy. This fully loaded vehicle does not have some of the basic options, features that the deville has...for example, tilting side view mirror, auto trunk release, close, auto gas door, auto brake release when in reverse. I actually miss these features and have to get used to not having them on this $70,000 cadillac.This STS rides like a caddy, drives like a caddy, performs like a caddy. Overall, I am very pleased with this vehicle. I will always own a Cadillac!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Got a Great Deal on a 35k mile '05 STS

by CaddyFan from Bloomington, IL on Sun Feb 20 2011

Picked up a perfect 05 STS for 17k last year. Very nice looking car. You might lose some weight owning one of these--will wind up parking way out in the empty sections of the parking lots to avoid the thought of anyone putting dings on these beautfully crafted car bodies......V6VVT. Avoided Northstar - even though it is a very good engine - over it's discontinuation and also the Prem Gasoline requirement. Glad we did. The V6 has all the power needed. Very responsive and smooth. Car will do 100mph quietly and very smoothly, without laboring the slightest. So far no problems, exc for volume knob on radio stopped turning volume up/down (use steering wheel buttons). Very much enjoy the car. The design is solid yet advanced. Not much good getting around in the snow (constant traction and stability control engage), but parked it to keep it off the salt anyway. Extremely fun to drive. Whipped a college boy in a early 90's Z-28 during a "traffic light challenge" that he initiated. Great Bose stereo. Have heard the batteries in these cars get used up quickly due to all of the active electronics - so far can say it overwintered 3 months without being a prob - recognized the key fob and unlocked the doors, engine started without a prob. Have noticed the plastic parts finish on buttons and interior door handles was sub-par quality for any manufacturer. Caddy quality control was asleep at the wheel with that one. Is a minor issue, though. Haven't put enough miles to give an adequate mechanical review (6k so far). Car is very, very smooth and solid feeling. Last thing to note is this car uses expensive tires. The different front/rear tire size was stupid. Going to try and use a uniform size at repl time and see how it goes - that way they can be rotated like normal cars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT

by MR.KSI from tucson, az on Mon Dec 29 2008

i have own nothing but cadillacs this is the latest one to my resume. what can i say the sts lives up to the cadillac reputation, smooth ride, powerful acceleration and it hogs the streets. i have to mention that my 99 sts probably has a better interior as far as the material goes. the dashboard looks like cheap plastic you find on dodge trucks. i really don't like the power buttons for the windows. the buttons on my 99 are nicer i don't know what they were thinking. but anyway, i love cadillacs and the stares i get when i'm going down the street make up for all of this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most complete ride i have ever owned

by Big Daddy from topeka,ks on Mon Apr 09 2012

outstanding ride...prettiest "hog" i have ever owned or driven....everybody should own a Cadillac/"hog" before they meet their maker!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sport, Luxury and Style all in one package

by Car Nut from San Francisco, CA on Mon Jul 16 2007

I love to be noticed in my cars and the STS defintitely catches eyes everywhere I go. Lots of get up and go yet smooth and comfortable just like a Cadillac's supposed to be. The fuel mileage leaves a lot to be desired otherwise 5 stars!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by luxury lover from Denver, CO on Mon Dec 10 2012

Loving this car. All the comforts of luxury. Drives like a dream. Tremendous value for a used car. Love the drive and pickup on the highway.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

STS

by AJ from SACTOWN on Wed Dec 20 2006

Excellent model! Drives superb, comfort and speed exceed expectations of a luxury vehicle!!! Overall- Cadillac STS V8 is GREAT CAR!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best in the world!

by mmcnulty from Houston, TX on Thu Jul 26 2007

This is my fourth new Cadillac and they just get better and better. I will never drive anything else.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2005 Cadillac STS

Curve dancing done well requires good music and a nimble automobile. No ordinary car will do. No truck need apply. You can't salsa with a wimp. You can't tango with an elephant.

Curve dancing demands a tight body and responsive soul. It is ritualistic art -- engine humming, music pumping, speed building, approaching the entrance to the curve, easing into its apex, letting the curve take you as you take it, flowing into a graceful exit.

That is the joy of driving a car such as the 2005 Cadillac STS Northstar V-8 sedan. It is made to dance. Its body is sleek versus slick, chiseled yet sensuous, stunning without the slightest hint of being overdone -- purposeful.

May I have this dance?

Curves?

Yes.

The music... Read More