NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 XT5

Consumer Reviews

2017 Cadillac XT5

$20,189 - $36,281  MSRP Range
2017 Cadillac XT5

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

158 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Cadillac XT5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 158 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My First Impression is Very Positive

by Boris P. from Sammamish, WA on Sun Apr 09 2017

I love everything about this car. Comfort, very quiet, smooth ride, interior and exterior design, performance. I am rating 5 stars reliability with some reservations, as I bought my XT5 brand new, but with very good warranty. The gas mileage on average 22 mpg. Dash board is very user friendly and pleasantly designed. Cadillac XT5 CUE is very easy to use. Very spacious trunk.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

43 out of 43 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sexy and Sophisticated Car

by Luxury and Power Loving Lady from Lakewood Ranch, FL on Fri Apr 07 2017

I test drove many cars this time around including the Mercedes ML, Lexus RX, Toyota Highlander, Ranger Rover. Although the Lexus was my favorite overall, the dealership wouldn't work with me on the numbers. Plus, the XT5 feels roomier in the back seat for my growing 10 yr old twins.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 XT5

by Tom from Dix Hills, NY on Sat Feb 18 2017

I just picked up my new XT5 and I'm so happy I decided on this model. The ride and power is better than I had expected. This auto has all the luxury making driving a pleasure.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far, so good

by Regular guy from Fort Payne, AL on Wed Dec 05 2018

I bought an off-lease 2017 with 36k miles. I've driven it for a couple of months and love it so far. The auto stop/start takes a little getting used to, and if I'm going through a drive thru I sometimes pull it down into Manual just so it doesn't stop and start so many times. The exterior styling turns heads, and the interior is very luxurious and comfortable. It's a true pleasure to drive, and the automatic braking has already prevented a possible collision in a parking lot. The lane keep assist is also a great feature, especially if you are someone who gets sleepy driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome - Great vehicle to own!

by Eman New Ride from Bowie, Md. on Sun Jul 14 2019

At first I was comparing the Cadillac SRX to the Jeep Cherokee, then I came across an article comparing the SRX and the XT5. The reviews, modest price increase for a newer model and completely out class the Jeep made it very easy to decide on the Cadillac XT5.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A step up from BMW X Series

by The Long Ranger from Incline Village, Nevada on Sun Apr 23 2017

I had driven 3 BMW X3s for the last 9 years. I test drove a XT5 and decided right then to get one. Far more comfortable, especially on long drives. Handling is at least on par with the BMW, visibility is roughly the same. No complaints about acceleration and mileage on the road is in the 24-26 MPG range. Roomy interior including the rear seat. Impressive and distinctive styling. My main complaint is the Cue control/display arrangement. I think the touch screen control takes my eyes off the road for too long. I'm glad I took that test drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my car!

by Pastorsgirl from Shafter Ca on Mon Apr 24 2017

I absolutely love my new Cadillac! Driving is so much fun and the comfortable ride is beyond lovely.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Owner

by LisaD from Detroit, Mi on Tue Apr 25 2017

Love it! 1st time owning a Cadillac and enjoying it so far. The ride is comfortable and it handles great on the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nothing better than a Cadillac

by mickey from LONG BEACH on Thu Sep 20 2018

I am 74 yrs. old and have owned many cars in my lifetime. All were General Motors from Oldsmobiles, Buicks, Pontiacs and Cadillacs. The ride comfort has gotten better and better. The styling has gotten sleeker and always have to take a second look. Most importantly is the confidence a driver has for the dependability in the name Cadillac.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent luxury mid-size SUV

by odessajay from Tampa, FL on Mon Jul 24 2017

We own a XT5 and GLC 300. The XT5 has a much better infotainment system that is easier to use than GLC300. XT5 has a more comfortable ride while GLC has the sport ride. GLC has edge in the sound system. The XT5 interior quality is better than GLC - real leather and not faux leather. Both are equally quiet on the road. XT has more rear leg room. I also think the XT5 looks better than the GLC. I like both cars but prefer XT5 for long trips for the comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 16

Our Take on the 2017 Cadillac XT5

The verdict: The 2017 Cadillac XT5 excels at offering a luxurious experience that should tempt midsize luxury crossover SUV shoppers — and worry its competitors.

Versus the competition: There’s no mistaking the Cadillac XT5 for anything but a luxury car. It feels more composed than the Lexus RX 350, but lighter and more fun than the Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class. It also offers a more comfortable ride than either of them and has a top-of-the-class interior.

Exterior & StylingFrom the outside, the first thing that stands out about the Cadillac XT5 five-passenger SUV is how fresh it looks compared with the SRX it replaces. It’s not that the SRX was an ugly car, but to my eye, it’s been around... Read More