Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1995 1500

Consumer Reviews

1995 Chevrolet 1500

$39 - $9,023  MSRP Range
1995 Chevrolet 1500

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

18 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1995 Chevrolet 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Overall a very good truck

by G.L.J. from Illinois on Mon Mar 12 2012

I just sold my 95 K1500 ext. cab z71 edition got it in 2003 with 55000 miles. 9 years and 130000 miles later the truck was still running strong. Great engines well worth the gas!! (and they love gas) over the years I replace 4 transmissions due to very rude use of my part, front ABS sensors are a common problem due to HUB bearings fast wear, ball joints, and front axle shafts. Big tires make this worst. I fix it my self all the time and work on my friends Chevy trucks and Tahoe's so I know the common problems, engine wise only regular wear on starter, alternator, water pump. Replace the master cilinder and put some good aftermarket rotors and pads. I bump my head every time I see my old Chevy on the road driven by somebody else specially on snow days. If you dont mind the cost of fuel get one they are like the commercial said The Longest Lasting Trucks In America.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I have two of these Super reliable!

by BD from Bristol, CT. USA on Thu Nov 07 2013

I have two of these, 1 has 312k miles the other has 200k miles these trucks are bullet proof with regular maintenance!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very good truck!

by Tyler from on Thu Mar 06 2014

I have a 95' Silverado 1500 with the 5.7 and it is absolutely amazing! It runs great and I have no problems at all. This is my first vechile it has only 134,000 miles and the only problem have had so far is a leaky line to the radiator and that's it. I have very bad tired with about 15% tread left but even with bad tires it runs like a beast! never have gotten stuck and I hit roads HARD! im really rough on it and it stil starts every day to be my daily driver! Very highly recommended as a first truck! kinda hard to find one under 200,000 miles anymore though

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Truck for the Age

by ChevyZ71 from Kannapolis,NC on Fri Apr 28 2017

Owned it since new in 1995 and it's never let me down. I can count all the problems I've had with it on my hand over the span of 22 years.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome truck

by J Bone from San Rafael , CA on Sat Jun 23 2018

I found this step side 8 years ago with 47,000 miles on it with a blown trans....turns out that the 95 was a one year only experiment by Chevy to see if a single planetary gear tans would hold up.....it didn’t . After my trans guy built a bulletproof unit I towed my 6,000 lb trailer to the Grand Canyon. The looks I got when they said’ you are towing with that lil truck’’ I’ve done regular work on the motor and now I’m sure it will go another 20 years!! Fabulous Truck

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Owned This Truck for my Teenager

by Previous Owner from KCMO on Wed Jun 23 2010

I owned this truck and would recommend it to anyone who wants dependable transportation and a pickup with a little style. Note that it has new brakes, new glass-pack muffler and tailpipes with chrome tips, new tie rods, and new windshield washer pump. My teenager babied this truck for the 2 years we owned it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I've ever had

by Dave9998 from Covington, GA on Fri Jun 09 2017

This truck gets good gas mileage and is very dependable. Cost to own is the lowest of any vehicle I've ever owned.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by Mike from South Mississippi on Tue May 30 2017

It has had its problems but all of them were minor repairs. I bought my '95 used with 177,000 on it I now have 197,000 and the motor still outta like a kitten I am having ongoing trouble with the AC. I still give it two thumbs up..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great truck

by timmy from washington on Thu Sep 18 2008

great power, good classic looks, comfortable (atleast in the front seats) and very reliable. only bad thing about it is the gas milage but hey it's a truck and they're not going to get you 30mpg

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I ever known

by Redneck0628 from Reno,nv on Fri Sep 01 2017

The car met all my needs to the fullest extent...so now when there is customer there they will feel just as much as part as our time

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1995 Chevrolet 1500

I DON'T KNOW why Chevy called the truck "Cheyenne." It wasn't madeby descendants of the Algonquin tribe of the Great Plains, who arecalled Cheyenne. It wasn't even made in Minnesota, from where theCheyenne began their 17th-century migration. Nor was it made in Montanaor Oklahoma, where the tribe wound up on reservations. Instead,the big rear-wheel-drive truck, with a crew cab designed to seat sixpeople, was made in Fort Wayne, Ind.

So I checked with some Chevy dealers and General Motors Corp.marketers to find out why they chose to call the truck Cheyenne. No onehad much of an answer.

Some GM officials suggested that the name is meant to signifyboldness, toughness, ruggedness, adventure... Read More