1998 1500

Consumer Reviews

1998 Chevrolet 1500

$194 - $9,986  MSRP Range
1998 Chevrolet 1500

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

23 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1998 Chevrolet 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Option

by Army Driver from Fort Stewart, GA on Sat Dec 13 2008

This vehicle is by far the best and longest lasting vehicle I have ever owned! I am in the Army and when I move duty stations it easily pulls my families belongings anywhere, through the mountains, over the plains, through the snow and rain without skipping a beat. My 1998 K1500 Z71 has the 5.7 liter V8 and the 4X4 option. There are 220,000 miles on my vehicle with the original engine, transmission, alternator, water pump and more. I just replaced the original shocks around 210,000 miles. The truck drives very smoothe on the highway, even with 31 inch tires (no lift) on it. It is also very reliabe off road when I go out to fish in the Georgia clay and sand. The fuel mileage is acceptable for as many miles it has (about 15 city/20 highway). If anyone is interested in buying a truck from 1995 to 2000, this is the year, make and model to purchase. It will last forever if you take care of it. If you are like me and buy one vehicle once every ten to twenty years: Buy a Chevy - you'll get your money worth out of it and more for many years to come.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

40 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Rock!

by Southern boy's Z-71 from South Carolina on Fri Oct 05 2012

I bought my 98 k-1500 Z-71 in 2001 with 31,000 miles on it. i now have 200,000 miles on it and love it as much as the day i bought it. I drive a lot of highway miles on it and thoroughly enjoy the ride, (gas mileage is 20 to 22 on the highway and 15 around town) i have found that using non-ethanol fuel actually boosted that mileage. The truck likes it and runs smoothly with it. I also use the truck for hunting and it handles extrememly well off-road. i have recently decided to keep the truck forever and painted it and rebuilt the motor. Runs and looks like new. Love the body style as it is what Chevy says....Built like a rock, dependable!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car nevers stops

by that one cool person from Kalamazoo MI on Wed Nov 11 2009

I have over 600,000 miles on my truck and it shakes like mad but it runs. It is a very nice carrrrrrr.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great truck

by ford guy from oceana ,wv on Mon Sep 21 2009

it's the z71 offroad it's very powerful it has a 6.0 v8 it's the most powerful truck i have ever owned

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable truck that will last a long time

by Jacob Davis on Thu Oct 05 2017

This truck is a very dependable vehicle. It may take some work to maintain over time, but overall this is a very good truck to have; especially if your use for it is a starting vehicle for a teen.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable daily driver

by Johnnytruelove from Seminole tx on Sun Nov 12 2017

I was looking for a 4wd pickup and always loved these trucks. And their actually getting harder and harder to come by that haven’t been used for a farm truck. Extra reliable! Every parts store has parts for them, and it’s something I can work on myself. I love these old z71s!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck on the market

by Mac2500 from on Sat Apr 29 2017

I own a 1998 Chevy k1500 my dad bought new. I bought the truck from him in 2005 with 231000 miles. I've been driving the truck 12 years and it's left me stranded one time when the fuel pump went out. It has the original engine and transmission with the mileage currently at 422800. I'll never part with this truck, they are easy to maintain and very very reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best truck I have personally owned

by Jard from Bossier City, La on Thu Nov 02 2017

This truck served me well. I had no serious issues out of it. It got decent gas mileage for a pickup and drives smooth.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Chevy Silverado

by Mary Cook from Oklahoma on Sat Jun 17 2017

Very dependable truck, it was later given to a relative and it is still going. Great truck. Easy to fix. Easy to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXTREMELY CLEAN AND RELIABLE TO DRIVE

by TIM from CAMERON, WI on Wed Dec 06 2017

QUICK, FUN TO DRIVE AND EXTREMELY CLEAN FOR ITS AGE. AN EXCELLENT SUMMER VEHICLE WITH ORIGINAL PAIN AND INTERIOR.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1998 Chevrolet 1500

If you need a truck for your business, you aren't going to find one with a stronger work ethic than the 1998 Crew Cab Fleetside -- the biggest, baddest pickup truck ever to roll out of General Motors.

You've got to love a truck with an engine that is warranted for 100,000 miles, that has as much interior room as your average Cadillac sedan and that has four rear wheels, four-wheel drive and that won't balk when you hook up a 7,500 pound trailer.

This is truckin' USA.

Although the Ford F-150 and Dodge Ram trucks are better in some areas than the Chevy, this machine becomes like a trusted friend, a partner. When you turn the key, you know you can depend on it to get the job done.

Detroit may have slacked... Read More