2000 Astro

Consumer Reviews

2000 Chevrolet Astro

$1,599 - $6,551  MSRP Range
2000 Chevrolet Astro

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.4 out of 5 stars Performance
2.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Chevrolet Astro?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Super Reliable Family Hauler

by Sam from Socal Mountains on Sun Apr 10 2011

Bought my Astro van new in 2000 to haul my family of 6 everywhere. We use to jam pack into a 1984 Toyota 4x4 which has 280k miles and has gone everywhere our family has gone, and we still have it. We needed a bigger vehicle to haul us around and after test driving a suberban and the astro van; the astro van had more room and with the seats removed a 7ft bed. I ordered it custom with the full reclining individual seat benches for the 2 rows, which are very comfortable and gave every one of my kids their own seat and storage area when we would go places. The main selling point for the astro van was the room and comfort because of its box shaped design. As far as performance its a minivan, braking is good, but doesn't have much get up and go. It will pull a 5k pound trailer if needed, which is enough to haul simple stuff around or a small boat. The ride quality is very good, absorbs bumps very nicely and is always in control. I've noticed with the rear seats out the rear leafs do ride a bit stiff, but while the seats are in, the ride quality is good in the rear. Add passengers and it gets better. It is quiet inside and overall is comfortable to drive. As far as reliability... by far the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned, and I'm 64 years old. This thing just keeps going, with 250,000 miles on it, still drives great, and still starts up on those cold 20 degree mornings just fine. All I've replaced is; the battery, alternator, 2 fuel pumps and a speed sensor. Thats it! My van has the limited slip which doesn't work as well as they describe, at least for this van anyways. During the winter with snow and ice on the ground even when the limited slip engages it doesn't do much, so this van can get a bit tricky while driving during the winter time. Gas mileage is good, averaging around 20 mpg with loads of city and freeway driving. Overall this vehicle has paid for itself 3 times already and don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon. My boy says that hes going to bury me with my astro van. They got that right, as long as it keeps going like it has for the past 10 years, it might come true.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best for the money!

by astroman from MI on Fri Jan 08 2010

This car has the best engine GM has ever made. The 8 pass converts to work van fast and it tows my 4 ton boat without any trouble. It's like bus, with panaramic views in any direction! 126,000 miles, all parts original, (ex. brakes, coil & tires). I loved my Astro Van!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unstoppable

by Van Lover from on Fri Nov 23 2012

We bought our van with 168,000 miles on it. It now has 329,000. Motor and tranny just keep going. We did replace the rear end once, fuel pump and a few other things, but it has been worth the money we paid for it! The Astro before this one had 216,000 on it when we sold it. I LOVE my van! Was going to buy some scrape lumber at a lumber yard and remembered I was driving the car. Really miss my van when I'm not driving it!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A good car for your money

by chevyoldlady14 from washington dc on Wed Dec 13 2017

I love my chevy astro van, I go every where to work on my old lady after 312 K she still going strong, best tip is to take care of the engine EJ: fluid ,oil changes leasing to your chevy learn the sound it makes cause u will safe money along the road.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

best for light hauling

by Poor guy who hauls thing aroung from New York, NY to Richmond, VA on Sun Feb 25 2007

We shopped for quite a while to find a vehicle like this. (2000 Astro 4.3l v4 ext cab) Primary criterion: maximum cargo space to city-living-mobility and parkability size ratio. Secondary criterion: affordability; purchase price, gas mileage, reliability/ maintenace cost. This is spectacular so far (about one year owned... bought at 80k miles and 6yrs. It can hold some pretty large panels yet be affordable on longer road trips (a 4x8 sheet lies flat behind front seats and back door with seats removed) and the bumper to bumper length is not much more than our previous small sedan. Its been reliable... the engine is very hardy. But... the front suspension is very poory designed, be prepared to replace all. The interior trim is flimsy... not much concern for us, but.... I've heard complaints about various electrical failures from other like owners (and I can believe them by the experiences that I've had with this age range Chevy vehivcles). We've suffered no major failure yet, but the fuel gague jumps around alot when under 1/4 tank (a sign of fuel pump failure in circa de 2000 chevies), the display does not correctly read to which gear it is ingaged, and several things like power locks and stuttering power windows are showing signs of failure. But... The thing still pulls hard and the trans shows no signs of age. And... Ultimately, there is nothing else (stock) on the road with so much storage capacity relative to its exterior size. And... They don't make them anymore... so, if a few plastic connectors go... or it needs a new trans or engine in a few years. We'll just come up with the cash- no tears.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

teacher

by Stuff Hauler from Cocoa, FL on Mon May 22 2006

I find this vehicle is a good choice and value for the family that travels or needs to tow a camper or boat. I bought my LS extended version 2 yrs old. There is a reasonable compromise between horse power and fuel economy and lots of room in the extended version for eight passengers and luggage. Plenty of power and torque to pull my camper. Fuel economy averages about 18-21 mpg. Rear air provides alot of conditioned air if needed. Had to replace an alternator, and power lock actuators, but otherwise it has run very well. The full truck frame provides a stiff handling, but suspension is smooth enough to ride like a sedan. Exterior styling is boxy and dull, but nicer rims, privacy glass, and styled body panels spruce it up a bit.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

An amazing traveling vehilce

by buysser from Red Wing, MN on Tue Aug 29 2017

I loved our Astro Van. We took it on long trips with the kids multiple times and the back seat had the movie going in the high top section and mom and dad enjoyed the view from up front. We loved our high top Astro conversion van. Yee Haa

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Van

by THE VAN MAN from on Thu May 13 2010

my family's astro is the best vehicle we ever owned and we only had it in the shop four times since we got it. we used it for our our family business and now we use it to tow our boat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Shopper

by Bruce Brady shopper from Isanti,MN on Thu Nov 24 2016

I checked out this van. Unless you are a mechanic-stay away-lot of issues! I only drove it around the lot and that was enough!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1