2007 Avalanche

Consumer Reviews

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche

$6,930 - $18,090  MSRP Range
2007 Chevrolet Avalanche

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

79 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 79 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Smartest Car Enginbe I EVER owned!

by Truckin Sam from on Mon Dec 20 2010

In addition to the fabulous LTZ trim/comfort package, I absolutely love the engine in this truck! It shuts dow 4 of the 8 cylinders whenever it can (level ground and downhill) increasing the MPG by at least 5 or more. For example, I drove across the Appalacioan mountain on Interstate 77 from central Ohio to southern North Carolina and got a whopping 19.2 MPG! My old Silverado would get about 8 to 12 MPG depending on the load being carried/towed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I have ever owned

by Extreme deal shopper from Sanford, NC on Sun Mar 28 2010

I love my Avalanche. Looked at everything and shopped everywhere for the best deal. Owned Chevy, GMC, Nissan and Toyota trucks. Was going back to a Toyota but they are way over priced. Fell in love with all the STUFF on the Chevy. Bought a 2007 and an extended warranty (just in case) and still way under a similar equipped Tundra. I have the LT with the LTZ package. This truck drives and handles better than any of the others. My kids watch movies and my wife and I listen to XM radio and its just wonderful comfort. It has been extremely reliable to this point. Drive one and see for yourself. Everyone that sees it wants one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2007 Chevy Avalanche LT3

by jake1234 from muncie, in on Thu Jul 22 2010

Best truck or car I've ever had. Rides like a Cadillac. The only problem I ever had was that the transmission went out about a year into owning it. It was under warranty though and was fixed in no time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Better than I expected.

by '07 Avalanche from Cambridge, OH on Mon Nov 29 2010

I bought the Avalanche to have a 4WD vehicle for winter and to tow a boat. The Avalanche does a great job of towing the boat and handles great. The interior is spacious and comfortably seats 5 adults. I would definitely recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Sports Car Enthusiast from on Sun May 01 2011

Most Reliable truck I've Owned and the vehicle and my individual experience driving it is great. Get one and enjoy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

07 avalanche

by tileguy from Massachusetts on Sun Aug 07 2011

Best truck I ever bought. The only thing I don't like is there is no bed liner. other than that it is the perfect truck for everything

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2007 Avalanche

by rico from Davis, California on Mon Jan 30 2012

This is a niche truck for the recreational/professional type of person since it can do it all with 280 horses and real 4-wheel drive. Ability to put the 3 covers over the tailgate and keep a lot of tools is the key and also so easy to get the 3 covers off when emptying. Fitting in a standard garage by just about 10 inches helps also since the big cab trucks are over a foot longer to start with! I hope to give it a 5-star reliability but haven't owned it long enough. Have seen some of these with lots of miles which bodes well for longevity. Plastic of course doesn't hold up too well for looks but it is plenty thick so no bending... Economy isn't what they advertise either. Lucky to get 18 on freeway (not 21)! The driver's seat could also be a little more comfortable with no real lombard support!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First 30 days...

by DadsGrandpa from Milwaukee, WI on Tue Oct 16 2018

Upgraded from a traditional truck (1999 Silverado extended cab, 6+ft bed, manual trans) to this 2007 Avalanche. A comparison would be unfair, considering the disastrous condition the old truck was in... yet, the Avalanche was purchased as a replacement. It is completely capable of anything the old truck could do, and it does it more comfortably, and with greater ease. For me, hauling and space were priorities. I large van, truck, or SUV would have accomplished this. As stated, I knew the capabilities and limitation of the truck in this area, and the avalanche outshines in every category. I now have the capability to haul 4'x8' sheet goods with the bed closed. The bed is lockable and watertight (from the factory - no need for additional caps and keys). When cruising with my 3 dogs, they are able to roam, walk, or lay with ease and in comfort - and I am able to interact with them (unlike the bed of a traditional truck) So there is the limitation of the truck, and where an SUV or cargo van would have suited- But I have spent plenty of time as both passenger and driver of a cargo van (GMC Savanna) and aesthetics and creature comforts favor the Avalanche tremendously. The SUV, although similar, seemed too much for my needs, as hauling materials, tools, toys, and dogs is my main objective, I didn't need the third row seating, and the additional less than flat cargo area when seats are folded seemed inconvenient. as did the finishing treatment of the cargo area (carpeting, roof line, overhead rear hatch, etc...) The avalanche suits my needs and it does it wonderfully. The LTZ model has comfortable heated black leather seats, the 9 speaker Bose is enough for my needs, 320hp from the 5.3l V8 pushes the truck along nicely, the now outdated 4 speed automatic transmission feels great, The trailer hitch/towing package will be great for bigger toys (hitch, heavy duty rear end, transmission cooler, tow-mode transmission). Selectable 4WD (2wd hi, auto, 4 lo, 4 hi - with locking differential) with traction and stability control. This truck has "autoride" - electronic dampening , self leveling suspension, which is wonderfully smooth and comfortable (though it will be expensive if it ever needs replacing). The truck is smoother, easier to maneuver, and easier to drive in general than the most recent cars I have driven ('05 Montego, '04 Sentra, '00 Audi A6) After 27 days of ownership of a heavily used, but well maintained, 2007 Chevy avalanche LTZ, I am extremely pleased with the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the best truck

by 07AVAY from on Sun Oct 23 2011

:) i love my truck. havnt had any problems. hate the fact that the avalanche doesnt get recognized in the truck community the way that it should, but overall its an amazing truck... the only real issue i have is taking off the bed lids when hauling stuff. it can be a pain sometimes to take off and put back on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2007 Avalanch 2wd LT ... Excellent

by AZ Ranch from Phoenix, AZ on Mon Sep 18 2006

Initial impressions are that this is an excellent vehicle (although we we have only had our 2wd 2007 Avalanche LT a couple weeks). Performance meets my expectations and exceeds in some areas. It handles more like a large car than a truck with cornering and parking. Power is as expected. With a reasonable load maintains spead up and down the Arizona mountains with little effort and smooth shifting. Handles dirt/gravel road and washboard well. I am very happy with gas milage (I expected worse). Note that I am pretty easy on the gas pedal ... Mountain driving turned in 19.5 mpg. Looks like flat highway driving should be around 21 - 22 mpg. The 4 / 8 cylinder fuel management system appears to really help on the highway for mpg, yet the power is there when you need it. Howerver, short trips of 1 - 2 miles in the city really drop the mpg. Lots of cool features and everything works as advertized. Midgate is great for converting from "truck" mode to "SUV people" mode. Other notable items - Interior is very quite (quieter than our Acura TSX). Bose stereo sounds great. Redesigned dash is looks good and is practical. Its too early to know about reliability, but as new there were no factory defects. Two suggestions. Rear visibility is very limited. At best you will only see the roof of a mid size car behind you at a traffic light. Suggest getting the backup sensors (they were not on ours). If you drive dirt / gravel roads add the mud flaps (I just ordered these, expect they should help). Without the cladding from prior years (which was ugly), the lower body takes a lot of hits from stones kicking up on dirt roads.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche

Chevy's redesigned 2007 Avalanche retains its forebear's midgate magic, but the entire package has been overhauled as part of GM's full-size truck platform revamp — everything from the Chevrolet Suburban SUV to the GMC Sierra pickup was upgraded for 2007. Although it's plagued by a few low-tech components, I found that the Avalanche offered a refined ride, plenty of luxury features and a much-improved interior over its predecessor.

The 
Chevrolet Avalanche originated as GM's solution to the forced tradeoff between pickup truck cab space and bed space. When crew cab pickups became mainstream around 2000, their roomy, four-door cabins seemed liberating, but they... Read More