2008 Aveo

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Aveo

$1,770 - $6,786  MSRP Range
2008 Chevrolet Aveo

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

29 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 Chevrolet Aveo?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

a starter car

by a father from Sacramento,CA on Thu Jul 30 2009

This is the second aveo,the first was a 04 and was rear ended by a car doing 40mph,did not look that bad but repairs were more than car was worth. So far no problems. Daughter using car for school she loves it,mileage has been over all about 28mph. I am 6 foot 3'' it has plenty of head room and leg room front seats,back seats are ok. Great interior ,outside is nice. A very large trunk.Ya it is slugish on hills and power on flat land it can handle it's self ok. Yes it needs more power ,but it's a fun car to drive.For a starter car it's ok. You get what you pay for it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car EvER

by rabbit4956 from lincoln, NE on Tue Dec 30 2008

My aveo has been named "willy" and it is the best car ever! i have had it for over a year and the only trouble i have had is with the tires, the front ones were bald, and had to be replaced, a lot sooner than my other cars, however, it's probably due to the driving conditions, and not the car. The inside is nice and roomy, and i love the way the seats fold in- plenty of room for 2 big dogs. the sound system is nice, and I love the way it handels (i also love to rev it up in traffic) ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS CAR! i plan on keeping it forever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Incredibly Roomy Inside

by Cupid D from Tustin NA on Sat Aug 02 2008

I bought this car in response to high gas prices. Filling up for under $50.00 is a plus and the purchase price was also great. According to the information I have read, the car is 4 star rated in crash test so that makes me feel safe. People often comment how roomy the car is on the inside. I recommend this car to anyone who wants to save money and still have style and saftey.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A lot of bang for the buck!

by RedWolf from Las Vegas, NV on Thu May 01 2008

It's been 8 years since I've purchased a new vehicle however, my new wife has never owned a new "off the showroom floor" vehicle and with Gas prices soaring the time seemed right. She is very frugual and wanted a vehicle with good gas mileage and a low price. She finally decided on the Chevy Aveo LT Sedan. After owning it for a week we are very impressed. The styling is great front to back with the high roofline, Altezza tailights, chrome trim and styling. The interior is comfortable and even more stylish than the exterior with simulated Burlwood trim, Chrome bezels around the A/C vents and gauges as well as other Chrome and brushed aluminum trim. The features are plentiful and amazing for a vehicle in this price range, the ride is quiet and comfortable and the gas mileage on the first tankful was 25 mpg CITY not HWY as is usually advertised nowadays. All in All a great vehicle all the way around including fit and finish. Bravo GM!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love my aveo

by girlie from los banos on Sun Aug 03 2008

best little car on the road, but inside is not little plenty on head and leg room. love everything about this car and beleive me i have owned my share of cars. going to buy me another aveo in a couple months. this will be my second. the first was a company car which i got to pick out. our company has two both are awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

My 08' Aveo

by firstnewcar from Alaska on Sat Apr 14 2012

The throttle body went out at 50xxx miles. It handles decent in snow, however deep snow its quite pathetic. I live in Alaska and this poor car just hates the cold! I plug it in when the temp dips below 20 degrees and it still sounds like I stepped on a cat when it starts up. Gas mileage you would think would be great considering how small the car is. I average 28 mpg and I drive mostly highway. Bought for $9600 brand new, resale is very very low. MUST change timing belt before 60,000 or your 5 year/100,000 powertrain warranty is voided. (Nice little bit of info I learned after I took it in for when the throttle body went out). Over all- Its a cheap commuter car and you get what you pay for.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Highly recommended

by JAG_WAR of Val. Phils. from Valenzuela, Philppines on Mon May 03 2010

I had my aveo for the last 2 yrs and have not given me any trouble at all. I am very much satisfied with my aveo. I highly recommend car lovers to get one. In Philippines Chevy cars are not yet so popular but i think it will change because of this chevy aveo.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Compact great mileage vehicle.

by Mark on Wed Mar 21 2018

Overall great car. The aveo is made for a specific compact reason right, to serve compact needs. Maintenance is like most cars, this varies on the person. Being detailed and focused on safety, the vehicle that I own is very well maintained. Overall I drove for 10 years and love it. Only reason I'm moving on and selling is only to upgrade size. The car isn't made for 6'9 people BUT I easily made it work bc of the low profile, tilt steering, and reclining seats. The vehicle has been in multiple states and 72k mikes later still very happy with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ms Lisa

by Baby Blue Bell from Florida on Fri Jul 26 2013

I wish I had found this car sooner . Love love love , love it . Roomy inside , comfortable for long distance driving , which I do a lot . Gas ha , can I get a woo hoo for that . never gonna own a big car again . Looking for a matching bike to strap on the back right now . There should be more designs like it .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best basic car ever

by pianomann from Ladysmith BC Canada on Sat Mar 17 2018

few bells and whistles, but, cheap to drive, reliable, perfect for me. I've had 26 vehices, this is the best. oh, and nice radio/cd. Great car for the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Chevrolet Aveo

Editor's note: This review was written in September 2006 about the LT version of the 2007 Chevrolet Aveo. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what details are different this year, check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

GM brought the Korean-built Chevy Aveo stateside for the 2004 model year, and a restyled Aveo sedan is available for 2007. Despite its friendly face and upmarket frills, I found the new Aveo short on drivability, comfort and — most importantly — overall value.

Thanks to the recent jump in gas prices, small sedans and hatchbacks priced from $10,000 to $15,000 have seen their popularity soar. Honda, Toyota and Nissan already... Read More