2002 Cavalier

Consumer Reviews
2002 Chevrolet Cavalier

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

22 Reviews
2002 Chevrolet Cavalier
4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

excellent commuter, reliable, and economical

by commuter from loganville, ga on November 18, 2008

Purchased car in the Fall of 2001 for the purpose of commuting to work. In the last seven years it has filled that role perfectly. It has been a reliable and inexpensive ride. After 58000 miles except for scheduled maintenance the only repair to the car was replacing a backup sensor. Around town I get a steady 29 mpg and on the highway I get 38 to 40 mpg. With 4 dollar a gallon gas it was a blessing. The value has been excellent. I am now retired and to show my trust in the car I am giving it to my daughter to use while she is in college.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

02 Yellow Cavalier with 163,000 miles...

by East Coast Traveler from Virginia on May 9, 2009

I bought my Cavalier new in 2002 and had the 100k warranty on it. I LOVE this car and the first time I had a problem with is was at 98,000 miles. The head gasket and a cylendar were replaced under warranty out of suspision. I currently have 163,000 miles on it and I just replaced the fuel pump, but something else is making it stall now. I never thought I'd get this many miles on a Cavalier, and I hate to see it go, but I've had a blast with this car considering I put around 28,000 a year on it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most dependable car I've ever had

by Midgie from Philadelphia, PA on April 25, 2008

I love this car. It has been good to me while living in Florida, and great in Philly. I drove from Florida to Philly without any problems at all. The only thing that bothers me is the dash completely crumbled, and it will cost a lot to replace. The plastic pieces for the vents and seatbelts have broken off at different times. And the glovebox broke. But, honestly a very dependable car all around. Does anyone know if there is a recall for the dashboard?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable car!

by lnolan2002 from Mt. Prospect, IL on July 20, 2013

I just recently traded in my 2002 Cavalier because I just recently started to have major trouble with it over the past month or so. Otherwise I had a great run with it! It was a very reliable car for the 10 years that I had it. I even purchased it used back in 2003. If you are looking for a car that can go the distance, I would definitely recommend the Cavalier! I had mine for 10 years and put on 86,500 miles after I purchased it with 18,000 miles on it already,

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

'02 Cavalier Base

by Wulfman from Tacoma, WA on June 4, 2012

Found a screaming deal on a Cavalier. The miles were on the high side, but the price was right. It had 159xxx on it but the way it drives, you wouldn't know it. It has plenty of power, the interior has ample storage and a surprisingly large trunk. It's not a luxury car by any means, but it is above basic transportation, gets great mileage with the 5 speed manual and doesn't cost me a kidney to fill it up. The only con with this car is that the gear box is EXTREMELY tight.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

bang for the buck

by havard from kinnakeet, nc on July 1, 2007

this car is very reliable and powerful for a 4 cylinder. it gets great fuel economy. the ride is very smooth. im planning on putting on a k and n air intake to add fuel economy and 6 horsepower.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Engine

by Dale from Everett, Pa on September 27, 2012

Chevy commented that one quart of oil in 3000 wasn't considered excessive, even brand new! Good mileage.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2002 Chevrolet Cavalier

by HM2006 from Cincinnati, OH on June 15, 2012

My family purchased a brand-new 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier 10 years ago now, and it was a great car! We had the Cavvy for only three years, we lost it in 2005 due to financial issues, and I sure do miss it. We never had any problems with it at all. The 2.2L inline 4 cylinder was peppy and had great gas miles at 30+ mpg overall. Trunk was surprisingly roomy for a small car, but the rear seat was a bit tight, however. Overall, one of the best cars we've owned!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Cavalier LS Sport

by CMJ Cavalier Lover from Billings, MT on May 20, 2006

I bought my Cavie new. This is my Third Cavalier and by far my most reliable and fully loaded LS (previously Z24). Absolutely the best value for the money. Every option I could have put on it was already there. Good power, great realiability, great gas mileage. I have had mine for almost 4 1/2 years and would buy another Cavalier if they still made them but I don't like the car GM replaced it with so I'll just keep the one I have.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cheap reliable transportation

by Dwin on July 3, 2017

I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a reliable vehicle. Parts are cheap and inexpensive to mantain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier