1996 Impala

Consumer Reviews
1996 Chevrolet Impala

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

14 Reviews
1996 Chevrolet Impala
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Gentle Giant

by Godspeed from Monroeville, PA on July 31, 2010

I ordered my SS new, took delivery 12/6 and was in ATL the next day. It has been my road car period. It is the most plush muscle car you could ever own. And muscle its got. At speed the faster you go the lower it gets to the ground. No wonder cops still drive 'em. Its a Corvette you can double date in. Handles like its on rails, no crying tires here. Could use more support in the lounge seats, great for passengers not for a driver. I only drive in the city to get off the Interstate, so I only have hwy mileage of 26.6 @ 72 mph. No problems ever. I put new brakes on because after 10 years they just looked cruddy, same for the tires. Gets props where ever I drive. Use synthetic only.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Coming Back Home to Chevrolet

by 96 Impala SS Lover from Northern Illinois on December 1, 2014

12-1-14 My first car was a 1965 Chevy Impala SS, 396 with a four-on-the-floor. The Caprice made its debut that year, based on the Impala. In an ironic twist of fate, the 1996 Chevy Impala SS, the last true RWD muscle car to be built by Chevrolet, was based on the Caprice of that era. I purchased my dark cherry 1996 SuperSport from the son of the original owner. With 98K on the odometer, this car still looks, runs, and drives like a new car. The engine is quick, powerful, and responsive. The transmission (still a four-on-the-floor, but now an automatic) shifts smoothly and quickly. The stainless steel dual exhaust has a deep growl that hints at the powertrain's frisky nature. The car cruises down the road straight and true, and corners like it's on rails, with hardly a noticeable yaw or body roll. It delivers a solid, comfortable ride. The suspension, brakes, and cooling consist of a "police interceptor" package. This vehicle is extraordinarily reliable. It starts easily and quickly regardless of weather extremes. The leather seats are comfortable and solid, and the lumbar support is excellent. As a handicapped individual, ease of entry/exit from the car, and the comfort and support of the seats was essential. The factory Bose AM/FM/CD stereo system still works perfectly and gives great sound. The turning radius on this beautiful beast is one of its drawbacks. Tight spots require alot of maneuvering to get in and out. The center console should have been designed with at least one cup holder, but one can always make do. As a highway cruiser, this car is stellar. It's quiet and comfortable. The controls are easy to reach and operate (lights, radio, and climate control). I'll be looking for a way to increase fuel economy, but currently averaging 16 mpg. I use it mainly for picking up groceries, mail, and driving to the VA for medical appointments. At almost 20 years old, this car turns heads everywhere I go, and has even gottten some double- and triple-takes. In between my Chevy SuperSports, I've driven cars from every GM Division. Now that I'm back in a Chevy, I feel like I'm back home. I'm looking forward to a road trip next Spring or Summer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Phenomenal handling and ride comfort

by SS fan from WI on November 14, 2009

I have driven many cars and still have yet to find one whose combination of monster available torque, superior ride smoothness, exceptional braking matches this. The classic shape is immediately recognizable as the best SS Chevy has come out with. I love the power at hand, you never deress the gas pedal when driving, a gentle change in pedal presssure is all it takes to move this vehicle up to speed. If you ever need additional power, you know it is always there and eager to please. The braking effort is minimal, but the stopping power is excellent. Upgrade the sound system and you have a car for a lifetime.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Last LARGE American Car with Chassis

by Cliffhanger67 from west covina on July 13, 2017

In it's time, it was an American respond to the Mercedes S-Class. GM gave it a sinister looks and gave it an LT-1 engine. All this means a nice riding car. iIown a 2007 Mercedes S550. The ride of the Impala SS on rough roads and concrete roads is less harsh. And bottom line is a car 1/4 the price of the German car. Folks, it's a marquee and certainly a bargain price considering that it can haul 5 people in comfort. It's resale value is very high.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1996 SS Impala

by SS Owner from Kansas City on September 13, 2011

This car looks great and runs good. It's probably not going to be the fastest burner, just because it weighs a lot, but it does have some pop. I sold my 2004 Mercury Marauder and bought the 96 Impala, so their was a very noticable drop off in performance, but that was to be expected. It looks better than it runs, but runs faily good. It's a 1996, so for that time, it ran pretty good. For the most part, if you take car of it, it will take care of you if you ever decide to sell it. By the way, you may have to make some upgrades to get some more power and a smoother ride, new tires, exhaust work, K&N Cold Air Intake system, etc. You should enjoy it while you have it! Not so good in the snow, get a back up car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SWEET SLEEPER

by JB from STANHOPE, NJ on October 27, 2012

I must say that this is probably my favorite car that i've ever owned & i've had 'em all,,, 'vettes, camaros, trans ams, rocket powered oldsmobiles, & this car rides like a corvette on a cadillac frame,,, this cars' stance looks like it's doing 65 mph sitting still & feels like 65 @ 100 mph & has no problem getting you there in true muscle car fashion,,, she rides smooth & tame w/ a mild exhaust note while cruising & is snappy & grippy w/ a surprisingly aggressive growl (if you can imagine that "BAAAWAAAAAHHH!!!" head turning sound) while getting froggy,,, like most RWD sport cruisers, it's not good in the snow,,, i get many compliments from people that recognize this car for what it is, a classic, asphalt eating collectable...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Fun Big Car

by mechz11 from mi on January 4, 2007

I have owned my Impala SS for 1-year. It is a very good handling highway car. Plenty of smooth power to pass other vehicles. The interior is very comfortable and roomy for a, 6'2" guy. I like the roomy trunk, also very handy. The only dislike is the lack of electronic interior gadgets such as an overhed display and heated seats. Great 11-year old car with outstanding resale value!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the best car ever

by co from on November 26, 2008

i would reallly recomend this car to anyone nd plus i love this color need to have seat fixed thats alll

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impala SS

by sport car from phoenix on June 28, 2011

Standard equipment Power Windows AM/FM Radio Power Door Locks Air Conditioning Power Steering Rear Spoiler Cassette Cruise Control Leather Power Seat Driver Dual Air Bags

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Big and Beautiful

by TravisM from on May 20, 2017

Lobe this car, its big, its loud, its fast. Lots if room, big trunk. Mad respect when i drive around town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 1996 Chevrolet Impala