2002 Malibu

Consumer Reviews

2002 Chevrolet Malibu

$285 - $5,369  MSRP Range
2002 Chevrolet Malibu

Review Score

3.7 out of 5 stars

3.7

18 Reviews
61% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.7 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Chevrolet Malibu?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great First Car!

by Malibu182 from Los Angeles, CA on Mon Oct 31 2011

This Malibu is the first car I've ever owned, and I can tell it will last me a long time. Partly because I bought it with <60,000 miles on it, and partly because it is just about flawless. The gas mileage could be a bit better, so far I've gotten around 18-19 mpg city, and the acceleration from a stop isn't the best, rather poor, actually. But everything, literally, everything else about this car is fantastic. Of the reviews I've read, owners either love their car or hate it.. and I am one of the ones who loves their Malibu. So I, for one, recommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

My last Chevy!

by Malibu owner from Las Vegas, Nevada on Thu Aug 28 2008

I like the car in every way except for reliability. The car was good until 30,000 miles. At that time it needed and intake gasket (a little soon for an engine gasket!) It was good for another 10,000 miles. At that time I needed to have the ignition re keyed for the theft system. Soon after that It need front end work. At 40,000 miles the transmission needed an overhaul. I took the best care of this car since I bought it. things just seem to go wrong way too soon. I now have 42,000 miles on the car and I am getting rid of it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Really?

by Novelnot from Rockford Illinois on Wed Dec 09 2015

I have owned a 2002 Malibu since 2004 and put about 100000 miles on the vehicle myself. Problems are: Anti theft system, lower intake manifold gasket, front wheel bearing. Had the lower intake gasket replaced in 2008 currently needs replacing again. Beware the Malibu's produced in Lansing Michigan. Came from the factory with silicon nylon lower intake manifold gasket needs to be replaced every 50000 miles. OOPs did I forget to mention the key ignition probs. In all I do not see how anyone that has owned this car and put more than 20000 miles can give it high ratings.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by malibu owner from Lubbick on Wed Aug 07 2013

We have a 2002 Malibu with 290,000 MILES on it. Bought it for $9,000 back in 2003, ten years later it is still going. We put about $2,000 in repairs over the past 10 years. Super Value!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I like it!

by Spike from Cannon Beach, OR on Sat Dec 04 2010

This car is great car to drive when you are in a hurry on the highway. When you are in a complete stop on a stoplight and it turns green, you are able to go to the speed limit pretty quickly. I love my Malibu! Its a great car to have!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Good car but.......

by Occassional driver from Toronto Canada on Tue Jun 13 2006

This is an excellent car in all respects......except......the anti theft device occassionally prevents me from starting the car. On 2 occassions I have had to have it towed. If it was not for this very annoying problem I would not hesitate to recommend the car to others. It drives well and is quiet. There are many little features on this car that I miss when I drive other cars. It had decent power and good driving characteristics.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Haseo from Spokane, Wa on Fri Nov 02 2007

THis car is the is the best car I ever had. I will always drive this car everywhere I go untill it falls apart.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My malibu is a great car.

by Malibu fan from Minnesota on Mon Jun 05 2006

My chevrolet Malibu is a great car. The performance of this car is great for the cheap price. You could not ger a better vehicle for the price of a Malibu. I would recomend this vehicle to anybody.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Over 233k and it was still going

by HYY on Fri Nov 24 2017

I kept it for 14 years. When it was replaced it was still running fine. It restored my trust on American car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Most Reliable Car Ever!

by Malibu Lover from Chicago, IL on Thu Aug 27 2009

I bought my 2002 Malibu at 37,000. Over a period of 6 years I have had only one major problem: catalytic converter replacement after 4 years. Also there was a recall on the 2002 Malibus for the turning signals and I got it fixed at a GM dealership in a few hours. This car is a very dependable car if you take care of it properly. The engine is strong and the interior is durable. After a thorough car wash and detail it's practically brand new! It's a great car for those who have to drive a lot.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2