NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Malibu

Consumer Reviews

2017 Chevrolet Malibu

$11,018 - $22,510  MSRP Range
2017 Chevrolet Malibu

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

240 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Chevrolet Malibu?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 240 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

First GM car I've Owned

by LSG Miami from on Fri Apr 07 2017

I've owned this car for three weeks and am very happy with it. It's my first GM vehicle, after owning foreign makes for over 20 years. The style is beautiful, size is substantial. I have the 2.0L turbo engine and find it to be extremely responsive and handling is sure and easy. The ride is comfortable and solid.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

49 out of 49 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent options list

by bill94fan from ROCKFORD,IL on Thu Mar 30 2017

We purchased the LT model the list of options is incredible still learning more about them every day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by Glenda from Crockett Texas on Wed Mar 22 2017

I love this car. It gets excellent gas mileage and is so comfortable. It is a joy to drive and is so reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Least reliable car I have owned

by fredie from Dallas, TX on Fri Apr 19 2019

I purchased a Chevy Malibu in October 2017; my first car from an American brand. Everything was great until March 2019. The check engine was on for the first time. I took to the dealership in Dallas, TX and they stated that the problem was the water intrusion in the air shutter harness. They stated that they replaced the part. Three weeks later, the check engine light was on again. Now, the technician states that we need to replace exhaust valve lash adjusters. After doing that, they will re-test; no certainty on solving the problem. The cost for that is now $2,021 after paying $519.73 the first time. How is it possible that all the advertising on TV is about how dependable this car is and this is what happened after just 1 1/2 yrs of use. GM would not assist with not even part of the cost. I drive a lot but I had cars from Asian brands before (Honda, Toyota, and Hyundai). All of those cars I put over 200,000 miles on them and NEVER required such an expensive repair. I just want people to know because I do not want anyone else having to go with what we are going thru. GM do not stand by their product.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Easy to control on the highway.

by Winona from Portageville, Mo. on Mon Mar 27 2017

Drove back to my home yesterday and was a very smooth ride. Will have to get used to the tinted rear view mirror and the backup screen on the touchscreen.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Malibu best on the road

by BobW from Belleville, IL on Wed Mar 29 2017

The car rides great. Super gas mileage. Electronic sensing of blind spot beside you is great. Rear camera and radio screen is big and easily readable in any light.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LovemyredMalibu!!

by MalibuSue from Woodbury, MN on Wed May 03 2017

My 2017 Chevy Malibu is the nicest vehicle I have ever owned! It is not only beautiful to look at, but very quiet, comfortable and economical. I feel so special driving around in it. You will too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Malibu

by KimC from Bloomington, IN on Tue Mar 14 2017

LOVE my new Malibu! Drives and rides very well, awesome features. I would recommend this vehicle to friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

The Troublesome Malibu Legacy continues...

by Boo2Malibu on Thu May 24 2018

I traded in a troubled 2013 Chevrolet Trax for my 2017 Chevrolet Malibu. Sadly, the newly redesigned Malibu is no better than it's predecessors. I've been plagued with engine and electronic issues since I took ownership. Granted, I still have warranty. But, I strongly feel that GM needs to build a better vehicle. I have no intention of keep the Malibu, long term. And look forward to my next vehicle...not going to be a Chevrolet.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Good starter car

by Ari23 from Tomball, Tx on Thu Oct 18 2018

Just bought this used 207 Chevy Malibu. Was previously a rental car so it was pretty well maintained. Had 41k miles. My only problems with it is that the autostop engine feature doe not have a disabling mechanism. I do t have the choice to use it or to disable it. And the gas seems to go pretty fast but the tank is pretty small so it makes sense and I life in a big city.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 24

Our Take on the 2017 Chevrolet Malibu

The verdict:

The reimagined 2016 Chevrolet Malibu's polished exterior looks are matched with a roomy cabin, refined powertrains and a seamless multimedia system.

Versus the competition:

There have long been a lot of strong contenders in the midsize sedan class, but the Chevrolet Malibu hasn't been one of them. Now, with a redesign for 2016, it should finally have a shot.

Editor's note: This review was written in January 2016 about the 2016 Malibu. New for 2017, a new nine-speed automatic transmission is standard on the Premier model, replacing an eight-speed automatic. Little else of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the 2016 and 2017 model years. 

The Chevrolet Malibu competes against the Honda Accord, Toyota Camry and Hyundai Sonata, among many other midsize sedans. Compare them here. Along with its new styling and powertrain, the Malibu grew in size for 2016. Compare it with the 2015 model here.

Exterior & Styling

The Malibu's designers admitted... Read More