2017 Malibu

Consumer Reviews

2017 Chevrolet Malibu

$11,324 - $20,728  MSRP Range
2017 Chevrolet Malibu

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

274 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Chevrolet Malibu?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 274 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

First GM car I've Owned

by LSG Miami from on Fri Apr 07 2017

I've owned this car for three weeks and am very happy with it. It's my first GM vehicle, after owning foreign makes for over 20 years. The style is beautiful, size is substantial. I have the 2.0L turbo engine and find it to be extremely responsive and handling is sure and easy. The ride is comfortable and solid.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

55 out of 55 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by Glenda from Crockett Texas on Wed Mar 22 2017

I love this car. It gets excellent gas mileage and is so comfortable. It is a joy to drive and is so reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Easy to control on the highway.

by Winona from Portageville, Mo. on Mon Mar 27 2017

Drove back to my home yesterday and was a very smooth ride. Will have to get used to the tinted rear view mirror and the backup screen on the touchscreen.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Malibu

by KimC from Bloomington, IN on Tue Mar 14 2017

LOVE my new Malibu! Drives and rides very well, awesome features. I would recommend this vehicle to friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LovemyredMalibu!!

by MalibuSue from Woodbury, MN on Wed May 03 2017

My 2017 Chevy Malibu is the nicest vehicle I have ever owned! It is not only beautiful to look at, but very quiet, comfortable and economical. I feel so special driving around in it. You will too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car at an affordable price

by Latasha from on Wed Apr 26 2017

I love the direction GM has gone in with the new Malibu. It's very stylish on the outside and I love the way it drives. The back window is a little smaller than I anticipated but it does have a back up camera. I have the LT model and I love the feel of the steering wheel. The display screen is better than ones I've seen in other vehicles and it's very easy to navigate through. If you want a very good car at an affordable price I recommend purchasing the LT model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my baby

by Lashonda from Fairview Heights, IL on Sat Apr 01 2017

I'm so pleased with the new design and sleekness of the Malibu. The seats are nice and comfy. I am glad that the LS is just as equipped as the LT. I am impressed by the room in the car, the back seat has plenty of space. The ride is so smooth and the steering is great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Seems to be a great car

by rrash from on Mon Apr 03 2017

A lot of the new features I really like. So far the gas mileage is very good. I like the push button start.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've had

by Ttripp from Rockford il on Wed May 03 2017

I love this vehicle and would recommend it to anyone. It is comfortable and has a very smooth ride .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Joe from Buffalo on Sat Apr 22 2017

I have had my 2017 chevy malibu for 1 week now and I absolutely love it!! It is a real head Turner and a sharp looking vehicle!! I love my chevy

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 28

Our Take on the 2017 Chevrolet Malibu

The verdict:


The reimagined 2016 Chevrolet Malibu's polished exterior looks are matched with a roomy cabin, refined powertrains and a seamless multimedia system.

Versus the competition:


There have long been a lot of strong contenders in the midsize sedan class, but the Chevrolet Malibu hasn't been one of them. Now, with a redesign for 2016, it should finally have a shot.

Editor’s note: This review was written in January 2016 about the 2016 Malibu. New for 2017, a new nine-speed automatic transmission is standard on the Premier model, replacing an eight-speed automatic. Little else of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the 2016 and 2017 model years. 

The Chevrolet Malibu competes against the Honda Accord, Toyota Camry and Hyundai Sonata, among many other midsize sedans. Compare them here. Along with its new styling and powertrain, the Malibu grew in size for 2016. Compare it with the 2015 model here.

Exterior & Styling

The Malibu’s designers admitted the... Read More