2003 Monte Carlo

Consumer Reviews

2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

30 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

3800 engine, one of the best ones out there

by joelg1988 from Overland Park, KS on Fri Sep 03 2010

Wow, this car is great that's all I can say. This engine has been running for at least a decade with very few problems, the only con of the car, it doesn't come in a manual transmission.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST AWESOME CAR EVER!

by Mia from Midwest on Wed Feb 23 2011

I have one that I bought new 8 years ago. I have over 150k on it and have never had a days trouble with it. It also gets gets 32 mpg on the highway. Not bad for its size!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely amazing

by Monte Carlo Lover from New Windsor, NY on Sat Sep 10 2011

Just rolled 258,000 miles and no complaints or problems wwhatsoever. Handles great in all weather! The best car I have ever owned!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

3.4 LS Model

by Monte Carlo from Massachusetts on Tue Sep 18 2012

I have had this car for a little less than a year now and i have had some problems. The head gasket went within the first few weeks of buying the car. The flexplate went soon after. There was also transmission leak with the engine again. The air condenser also needed to be replaced after four months. All in all i spent over $2000 fixing the vehicle that is after the lemon law depleted. When it isnt in the repair shop it is a really great car. People comment about how nice it looks and stuff.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Thank You Chevy Guys!

by My Other Car is a 73 monte!! from Knoxville Il on Wed Mar 20 2013

I've had my liscense for 32 years! In that time,I've only had 8 vehicles and 4 of them have been Monte Carlos!! The 2 I own now are a 1973 Blue and White, with 42,000 miles and my 2003 Pace Car Edition that just clicked 100,000 last weekend! LOVE LOVE LOVE MY CARS !!! Would recomend (and do) this car to anybody cool enough to drive one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable SS

by Mr. Monte from Kissimmee, FL on Fri Feb 17 2012

Bought this car with 30,000 mi on it and 2 years old. It is the SS package. Have had nothing major wrong with this car since. It is now 109,000 mi and still running strong! After 100,000 mi I had to replace 2 things, a window regulator ($500) and an elbow coolant hose ($300). Very good acceleration for a V6, I was pleasantly surprised. Standard options are real nice too! I especially like the premium sound system with factory amp. It is very bassy sounding. Power everything, cruise on steering wheel, ICE COLD A/C still at 109,000 and never serviced it. Amazingly reliable!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car the style, coupe, handling,reliable!

by 2nd monte owner from Rockville,mn on Tue Dec 25 2012

This is the second monte for me first had a 98 LS that I loved to work on but it never needed much. Went for a ss 03 now...leather heated seats the 3.8 it's much faster and the sport shocks are a little stiff but it handles great around corners.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Miracle Monte Was The Greatesr Car Ever!

by Luvbytes from Cleveland, Ohio on Wed May 09 2018

This car has been through everything, deer, falling bins, being totaled in an accident, driving 326 Miles twice a week for 4 years and handled it all perfectly! 240,000 Miles on this car and the original engine still purrs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Owned

by Transpsych from Huntington, NY on Mon Feb 25 2013

Bought my Monte Carlo LS with 9400 miles on it in 2006. It presently has only 43,000 on the odometer, as I work from home and don't drive it much during the week. What a great car - very comfortable, good mileage 20-21 town & 26-27 highway with the V-6, feels safe, easy to handle, very distinctive styling, reliable. This car is treated well with regular maintenance, even though we have no garage and it sits outside. I gave it "5 Stars" for performance since it has plenty of adequate power, enough to break the front wheels loose if you stomp on the accelerator, which I've only done a handful of times. Otherwise it's driven carefully. These automobiles are a wonderful value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Would recommend.

by CrustySavage from Minneapolis, MN on Tue Oct 27 2015

Not quite as stylish as the first couple generations, but a huge step up from the previous. The car is fast and glued to the road. The only complaint about the handling is the turning radius, but that's to be expected from a mid-sized GM. Speakers and bass sound amazing, accelerating sounds amazing. I do wish that this car came in manual and rear wheel, but as well as this car has treated me it's hard to complain. You sit very comfortable and close to the road in this vehicle. It's very responsive and fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

In the pending Florida divorce action between NASCAR Winston Cup driver Jeff Gordon and his wife Brooke, court filings suggest that Jeff has a net worth of $48,798,837, the vast majority of it from his skill at driving a Chevrolet Monte Carlo race car around a track.

Evidently, that's all the Monte Carlo driving Jeff needs. At home, he and Brooke preferred other cars, such as their 2001 Porsche 911 Turbo or the 2002 Mercedes-Benz 600SL. Don't forget the $1.5 million tour bus, and there's a $7 million yacht under construction.

Suffice it to say Jeff probably isn't driving around on weekdays in the 2003 limited-edition official Monte Carlo SS Jeff Gordon Signature Edition, but you can. Act... Read More