2005 Monte Carlo

Consumer Reviews

2005 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

$282 - $9,438  MSRP Range
2005 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

25 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This car is an amazing car for the money.

by Mr. SS from Las Vegas on Mon Jan 03 2011

I own a 2005 Special Edition Monte Carlo and this car is very reliable and a very good bargain. Not only is this car fast, but it has a great look to it. The only thing bad about this car, is that it is front wheel drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A Great Car for the Price!

by Chris from Worcester MA on Sun Jun 18 2006

The 2005 Monte Carlo is an excellent car for the price. Its strong points include, a very nice balanced suspension, a very comfortable passanger interior and a price that can't be beat for a car of this size. In the LS (which is what I own) I would have to say that acceleration is only addiquite(I can only assume this would improve with the LT or SS). The steering is decent some have said it is too stiff but it works for me. Some of the interior materials seem somewhat cheap, but at the same time still look good. I really like the exterior styling on the Monte it is bold but not to bold and won't be confused with anything else on the road. I think the car shines when driven on the highway. It handles bumps and dips in the road well and keeps engine and wind noise to a minimum. This to date is a car that I would defintly reccomend. I can't however comment on reliability since I have only owned the car for about 6 months.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by dennis from ind on Tue Aug 22 2006

i liked my 03 ls so well i sold it to get an 05 ls . the body looks so much better than the 06 , and im getting 32mpg on the hwy. i like the leg room, in most cars i cant get far enough away from the pedals. great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The BEST car I have EVER owned

by Monte Carlo girl from San Antonio, Tx on Sat Dec 15 2012

This car is scary---it's a great machine, impressive and amazing. I just hope Chevy brings them back so I can keep buying them. It's got speed, safety, GREAT gas mileage and the looks inside and out are fantastic, I love this car, some of my friends have them and they talked me into test driving one--after the first block I was in love and sold on it. I love the fact that the car has a lot of room in it, I never feel cramped or unsafe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

has some issues should have been recalls

by gforce from northeast ohio on Fri Feb 12 2010

i have had issues with the steering making noises , this was fixed by the dealer , they claim gm no longer replaces the part they just tighten it down. traction active issue and also have to replace the instrument panel cluster , tachometer and fuel gage go haywire, this is an on going issue with 2003 to 2006 not sure why there was never a recall, price 350 to 500

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very reliable car

by 2005 monte carlo owner from montana on Mon Sep 08 2008

I have owned 2 monte carlo's over the years, and my husband has a 2007. All you do is maintain them and drive them.....they just go and go. Great pick up, comfy to drive long distance, and darn good in the snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Its an average car

by monte from Colorado on Thu Oct 20 2011

I have the LS the interior is cheap plastics on the dash are falling off, slow to take off plenty of power over 60 mph, 32mpg also developed a slip in the trans when taking off from a dead stop at 120k mile. I bought this car with 87k miles on and i use it as a work car. The best thing about this car is the gas mileage.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Looks good

by Mel from Las Vegas, NV on Fri Feb 27 2015

I bought the car new (12 miles on it). My 2005 does not like the cold weather. When you start out from a dead stop at a light i.e., the car sits there for a few seconds and then feels like it jumps forward suddenly. The engine really runs well when it's warm weather and you cruise about 80 mph.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My wife fell in love again, only with a car.

by Car Nut from on Fri Oct 01 2010

My wife has had a back operation and could not find a car she could ride in or drive since our Caddy untill this Monte Carlo.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury Sport Coupe Fine Quality!

by Steve from Akron, Ohio on Tue Jul 03 2018

This 2 door Luxury Sport Coupe has been one of the nicest riding, Quiet, Fun Driving, economical cars we have ever owned! Beautiful Classy styling inside and out. Over 34 mpg highway. Low road hugging performance. Great sounding stereo, easy to use instrumentation of everything. Huge trunk, comfortable seats, pride to own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3