2001 S-10

Consumer Reviews

2001 Chevrolet S-10

$845 - $10,261  MSRP Range
2001 Chevrolet S-10

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

22 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Chevrolet S-10?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Good Truck

by Hippy John from on Mon Mar 12 2012

Had a few minor problems with my ZR2 but nothing major. Tows like a full-size. Drive it all the time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a good bang for your buck

by retired old man from hatboro pa. on Fri Nov 29 2013

a great blend of value for your money and reliability. comfort in the cab and on the road . 2nd one I have owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome truck

by Norm?s boy from on Mon Apr 30 2018

I love this truck, fast and very fun to drive. I get complements every where I take this truck. If your looking for a fun truck this Is the one

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bulletproof

by GroveStreet42 from Ansonia, CT on Tue Aug 22 2017

Had the 01 S10 LS RWD for a few years before someone smashed into me, it was amazing. for a first vehicle, i got it with 230K on it, and ran it another 100K before someone smashed into me. no nouse, no shaking, no bogging, nothing. i swear, GM trucks are bulletproof, the chassis was clean, interior was clean, engine was original but looked like Chevy just fitted it in. for the person i was at the time, a guy just looking for something to get from A to B, and back to A when shift ends, it's the perfect vehicle. didn't help me much in the snow due to no 4X4 (LS problems haha), it did wonders. so even if you find a S10 with 100K on it, 200K on it, 250K on it, if it runs clean and is clean, it is clean. mileage with these trucks don't matter, and. ever will. you can run these things up to a half a million miles or more before you need to worry about replacing anything internally.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good starter truck

by Pj Stierwalt from on Mon Mar 06 2017

This is a very reliable truck it gets you from point A and back for a long time. It is amazing on gas.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Little Truck

by Fanna from Apalachin, New Yoprk on Fri Feb 06 2009

This 2001 is my second S-10. It is a two wheel drive extended cab with the four cylinder engine and a five speed manual transmission. This vehicle is very reliable mechanically. I bought it new in 2001 and now has 92,000 miles on it. No mechanical problems besides the rear differential seal leaking fluid twice. Both times were covered under the 36,000 mile warranty. The problems with the vehicle are these. A rattle in the passenger door that I had to take into for repair under warranty, four times. It still comes and goes, but I have learned to live with it. Also the hood latch cable broke once. The third door hinge has broken three different times also. I just do not use the door anymore. If you live in a state that uses salt in the winter to clear roads the S-10 is guaranteed to eventually rust starting at the third door and then rapidly expanding. I know of four different S-10s that this has happened too. The rusting will begin being visible at around 80,000 miles though. If you can live with these,then an S-10 may be for you. Bottom line is that is a dependable tough little truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2001 S10 chevrolet truck

by Mack from South Zanesville, Ohio on Sat Aug 05 2006

This is a nice driving truck with lots of power. It has bucket seats with a lumbar support on the drivers side. It is well maintained and kept in a garage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Truck

by Teen Driver from Cedar Rapids, IA on Wed Sep 15 2010

Good value for the money. only a few break downs. Recently got in an accident and not much damage was done to the truck after being hit from behind. Otherwise, a great truck with a lot of towing for its size

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I thought all american cars were the same

by z from Las Vegas on Sat Sep 20 2008

Not! I didn't know that Chevy made reliable, durable and comfortable vehicles. I was brain washed to believe only import brands could do that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cherolet S10 Extracab 2 Wheel Drive P/U

by S10 Owner from Renton on Sat Sep 01 2012

This is our fifth S10 from Chevrolet, the first our were the Blazer model. We purchased this mainly because of Chevrolet's reliability and dependability as we needed another short distance commuter vehicle an a pick up for hauling odd jobs. This vehicle has worked out to be a great purchase for us and we would definitely recommend this purchase to anyone that is looking for a similar vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2001 Chevrolet S-10

The new four-door version of the Chevrolet S-10 is another entry into that most unlikely niche, the compact crew cab pickup truck. The genre was seemingly started in the United States by Nissan with its four-door Frontier, carried over into the sport utility realm by Ford with its Sport Trak, and made big and bold by Dodge with its crew cab Durango. Now, the S-10 crew cab offers upscale accommodations in a compact truck.

Did I say compact? Although it's still narrow, the S-10 crew cab is plenty long enough, about the same length as a full-size Chevy regular cab pickup. The S-10 crew cab is still not a big truck, though it seems much more formidable than the other versions: regular cab short... Read More