2003 S-10

Consumer Reviews

2003 Chevrolet S-10

$2,008 - $9,608  MSRP Range
2003 Chevrolet S-10

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

27 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2003 Chevrolet S-10?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely reliable and easy on the fuel

by Loyal GM Fan from Laramie, WY on Sun Jan 23 2011

I purchased a 2003 Chevrolet S10 a few weeks ago and I love it. It serves it purpose well and get really good fuel mileage, one tank can last me up to three weeks. I had two other Chevrolet pick-ups that I owned were very fuel hungry, but made lots of power. ( $30.00 a week in fuel costs alone) The one I purchased replaced both of them and it has 174,XXX miles. ( all highway miles though) It has the 2.2 in-line four cylinder, the 5 speed manual transmission, and is 2wd. Yes I will admit it is short in the power department, but it is primarily used to go back and forth to work, get groceries, and haul the occasional load of wood. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a second commuter vehicle. Simple reminder to thoroughly inspect before purchasing,...I lucked out and got a good one, many more out there that have more wear and tear.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck!!!

by John from Georgia on Mon Jun 14 2010

I bought my '03 S10 in 2006, since then I havent had any issues with it!!! Although my truck is only the base model(regular cab, 2 wheel drive) I still enjoy it! I am looking for a ZR2 model now because not having 4X4 is keeping me from going out and doing the activities I love to do! Definitely an outstanding truck and would recommend it to anyone!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mr

by Truck Lover from Denver, CO on Sat Jun 03 2006

This is a fantastic 4x4. It has the ground clearance and design that makes it nearly impossible to stop. During a blizzard, this truck was not stopped, although my friend's Jeep was stuck for days. The rear locking differental makes the difference. All I can say is that I love this truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

alright beater

by tom tom from palmyra, Pa. on Sun May 16 2010

i really enjoyed my S10 when i first purchased it but had to replace the transmission and purchased a faulty aftermarket warranty that didn't pay a dime. It nickeled and dimed me here and there but always made it to the garage and never left me stranded. I felt the 4.3 vortec felt a little doggish at times. I'm forced to sell my chevy for a toyota. I think if the previous owner took better care of it I wouldn't of had a problem with it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Almost no complaints

by Bill from Hiawatha Iowa on Tue Feb 28 2012

I bought my 2003 S-10 ZR5 crew cab 4 wheel drive in 2009. It had 46000 miles on it and I paid $11500 for it. The truck was spotless when I got it and I kept it that way while putting 27000 miles on it. I maintained it very well including oil changes, transmission fluid change, tire rotations ect. Only repair needed was a water pump. Truck has bedliner, fiber glass cap, running boards, roof racks and is a beautiful dark green. Only complaint is the poor mileage (v6 4wd). A consistant 16 to 17 mp gal. I traded it this week for a Hyundai Tucson SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

good litttle pick up

by joker from ct on Sun Jan 10 2010

For the light construction work I do the truck is good. It isn't much in the snow nor does it do well in mud. With the cap we can use to camp.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A terrific little truck

by Joey C from Chattanooga, TN on Thu Feb 07 2008

This is the perfect little truck for what I need. It has great power and a lot of torque for a truck of its size. It gets decent gas mileage and I really like the look of the truck, inside and out. If you need a light duty truck, this is the best. A ton better than the Ranger I used to have, hands down.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

PERFECT LITTLE PICK UP

by SENIOR STILL YOUNG AT HEART from LONG BEACH, CALIF. on Fri Aug 27 2010

I NEVER THOUGHT I'D BE HAPPY WITH A SMALL PICK UP BUT THIS LITTLE BABY SURPRISED ME - IT'S A 4 CYLINDER LONG WHEEL BASE WITH A SNUG TOP CAMPER SHELL THE EXTENTED MODEL---MY OTHER CAR IS AN SRX CADILLAC AND I WAS THINKING OF TOYOTA BUT I THINK THEY ARE WAY OVERPRICED!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Happy With S10 Truck

by Ceeb from So. CA on Sun Aug 12 2012

Description said with AC. Compressor seized but priced about $2000 below rate. Fixed myself so it only cost $500 to fix, dealer discounted $200 to help pay cost for parts. Truck had new brakes which wasn't mentioned when I bought. Feel I got a fair deal

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by s10 owner from Lancaster, PA on Mon May 14 2012

2003 - S10 4WD Extended Cab LX Great truck, terriffic mileage. All around vehicle.................

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3