2003 Silverado 1500

Consumer Reviews

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

$1,672 - $13,612  MSRP Range
2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

41 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Tow Monster!

by Ron T. from Elizabeth, CO on Wed Aug 04 2010

Guess who everybody calls when they need to move there large machinery or 31' Airstream? I have the 1500HD Crew Cab 4x4, and this thing tows like a monster, and is awesome in Colorado winters. It has a 4L80, reinforced suspension, type 5 hitch, etc etc etc. I think it's rated to tow 10,000!!! Don't let the 1500 fool you, it's more like a 2500, in fact I was told the 1500HD, is a 2500 right down to the 10 lug wheels, and class E 10 layer tires. I towed some pretty heavy stuff in the mile high city, and this sucker doesn't blink an eye. It has 65K miles, and I only had to replace a couple of things. The instrument cluster (warrantee) and the oil pressure sender ($30 bucks). Oh and a couple of fuses, but that was caused by a rental trainer. I always keep spares in my center console now. The only thing I added was a K&N air cleaner kit. Been meaning to add anchors on the bed floor, and maybe a front hitch. I save a lot of people in the winter time, and end up pulling 4 or 5 cars a year out of ditches and what not. Anywho It's a great truck, and I'm so glad I bought it... Wasn't cheap when I bought it (28,000), but worth every penny.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck Ever Built

by love trucks from Biloxi Mississippi on Fri Jun 22 2007

the silverado is the most comfortable truck I've ever owned. After 4 years no problems. My wife really likes the dual air conditioning controls. I like the gas mileage over 21 on the highway. The ride is really smooth not much noise in the cab,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

this has been a darn good truck

by +turbo from Green Bay,Wi. on Sat Feb 11 2012

i,m the 2nd owner of my silverado. I like this truck very much. I have owned it for almost 7 years and only 1 issue aside from routine maintenance. That issue was replacing a steering shaft in the steering column. It cost me $140.00. My truck only has 63000 miles on it but it has been rock solid. No leaks of any kind. My only complaint is the fuel mileage, 13-14 in the winter, 15-16 in the summer. Other than that, very satisfied.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love brutis!

by chevy gurl nj from newton, nj on Sat Nov 29 2014

So, let's face it. Every car needs a name.mine is Brutus! Lol bought used from my. I'm the second owner. I love the comfort, the style, and how sturdy my truck is. When you get on the gas sometimes it lags instead of taking off, but that's no biggie. I love my truck!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

by ONSTAR1961 from Glyndon,Mn on Sat Sep 07 2013

Just know this is a Great Truck all around..This works Great for pulling my Boat with the Tow/Haul package..Does'nt use to much gas and still drives Smooth..Thank You Chevy..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the right truck at the right price

by x-ray man from murphysboro, il on Tue Mar 19 2013

I had a great experience at Vogler. My salesman was Bill Manis. He went above and beyond to satisfy our needs! We love Vogler!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck cheap parts

by Silverado Man from Alexandria,IN on Fri Feb 09 2018

I have had my truck for a year bought used with 190xxx miles now has 217xxx miles I replaced the original fuel pump new wheel bearing and now needs the trans rebuilt. This truck doesn't leak a drop of oil engine is solid best truck I have owned. I drove 450 miles straight and was comfy the whole way the dual climate control is helpful on road trips with others, the 4x4 is solid and the auto 4x4 is a life saver. I would recommend this truck to anyone and I think it's the best looking body style yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck for being a 2003!

by Rob from Edinboro, PA on Wed Aug 01 2018

For being 15 years old, the truck was in great shape inside and out! Low miles, previous owner took great pride in taking care of this truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

truck just great happy with it

by soulman from white casrle on Mon Sep 10 2012

i would need a nother truck i would buy the same kind of truck i like it the dealer that i bought the truck from was great, there is nothing i can say about my truck i just love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Undervalued Work Horse

by Daily Driver likes road trips from Upstate, New York on Thu May 06 2010

I recently bought a 2003 Silverado 1500HD and love it. The 11 mpg I avaerage might be due to the 8000 lbs it weighs or the towing gear ratio in the rear differential but the 6.5 foot bed allows for great cargo capacity, the full four door design allows for emense comfort when traveling with friends or co-workers. The 6.0L V8 offers gobbs of power on demand for easy acceleration making the truck very nimble on the road and off. This is a great buy for anyone looking at a crew cab.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Chevy's 2003 Silverado looks a little like the son of Avalanche. The "expressive front end," with rectangular lights, a trapezoidal grille and a bold chrome bar, uses styling cues whose roots are easily recognized in the Avalanche and TrailBlazer. The Silverado Sport test truck, a two-wheel-drive regular cab Sportside model, had a base price of $18,191 and a sticker price of $22,441. This plain vanilla truck had a bench seat, manual windows and an AM/FM radio (no cassette or CD player), but $22,441 is very reasonable for a full-size truck, and the Silverado gives Chevy an inexpensive foothold in the full-size truck segment.

For many young buyers, the appeal of a truck like this is much like... Read More