2000 Suburban

Consumer Reviews

2000 Chevrolet Suburban

$29 - $9,505  MSRP Range
2000 Chevrolet Suburban

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

11 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2000 Chevrolet Suburban?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Well behaved UV

by Die-Hard Suburban Fan from Missouri on Mon Jul 16 2007

Having owned 2 previous versions of the Suburban that went 250k miles each, I am impressed with Chevy engineers and the 2000 Suburban. Although it is still as big as a truck, it now rides, and sounds, more like a car. Gone are the teeth-loosening suspension, and the deafening road noise. A long road trip leaves you feeling good, like you weren't in a vehicle for the last 14 hours. The 5.3 Vortec is a bit underpowered off the line, but is forgiven for squeezing out 19.5 mpg at 77mph. Handling is what you would expect from a large UV, but it's worth noting that the 'Burban drills through rain slick highways, and is very well behaved as long as you remember you are in a high center of gravity vehicle that weighs 3 ton. No NASCAR moves! Interior comfort is vastly improved. Controls are easy to read and use. The leather seats are similar to your favorite recliner, any more comfortable and you would go to sleep. Quad seating leaves everyone with enough personal space (no sardine feelings!) The only complaints I have is the parking brake wears out too quickly. There is a TSB covering this, but only for the manual transmission versions. Shame on you Chevy! The other is the AC begins to blow warm if you are stationary for too long. Chevy's fix is a roaring aux radiator fan. Overall I am quite pleased with the '00 Suburban, and would recommend it to anyone who needs the wide array of capabilities it provides.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Burb

by Big Guy from Lincoln, NE on Fri Feb 19 2010

I bought my 2000 Chevy Suburban online, out of state in 2004 with about 75,000 miles and haven't looked back. Now at 172,000 I'm not interested in a trade. What for? The newer models have fancy GPS type systems, but it's still the same great truck. I've replaced the alternator. That's it. I'll keep on haulin' the family on vacation, to soccer practice and to the mall. Great buy. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by mom of 2 boys from pittsburgh,pa on Mon Sep 03 2012

Love it! Very comfortable, spacious, many extras that make you fell pampered. Easy to drive and park. Not the gas hog we expected.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2000 Suburban

by AndreT from Mississippi on Tue Jul 18 2006

Great vehicle for a family. Good for traveling and the such. Even pretty good around town. With about 104k miles, still going strong in all areas.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's been a dream to own

by Suburb 2000 from Philadelphia on Sun Apr 22 2012

I purchased my 2000 Suburban in Jan 2010 with 129000 miles. I replaced the alternator, fuel pump and CV joints. This truck is very comfortable and reliable. I now have 148000 miles and the truck runs like new. I would not hesitate to purchase again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Steal deal. Buy mine < $3 K. Buy new for $70 K.

by TomJax from Jacksonville on Sun Jul 08 2018

Taken us from FL to Maine 12 summers. Serviced every 3 K miles. Someone getting one heck of a buy. Steal deal for someone. Better hurry.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bad weather, storms ,snow no worries you'll make i

by Barb from Luck, W.I on Thu Jul 13 2017

Comfortable, dependable, driving family, pulling make easy ,mud ,rain, snow no worries 4 wheel drive at push of a button. Plenty of room for whole family and pets perfect for camping allows you to take roads off the beaten path

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Comfortable car/truck I've ever driven

by azsports from Lewis Center, OH on Sat Oct 21 2017

Great Car, smooth comfortable ride and easy to drive. excellent condition and very well taken care of. Fully loaded and very well taken care of.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Raised All 12 of my Children in this

by Mother of Dozen from Kansas on Sat Aug 01 2015

I bought this car after I had my 11th and 12th children (twins) in 1998 when my 1993 Suburban started to break down. We live on a farm in Kansas, and my husband bought a 1999 Tahoe, and we would split the kids up between our cars. I loved this car, and I had it until a few months ago, when I had to purchase a 2015 GMC Yukon XL after my 2000 Suburban started to die. I loved my 2000 Suburban, and I wouldn't trade it for the world.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Family Size Vehicle

by Butts1 on Thu Nov 30 2017

Smooth luxurious ride. Very spacious & ease of comfort for my daughter's dance team or holiday shopping with the family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2000 Chevrolet Suburban

TELLURIDE, Colo.--My driving partner and I decided that Ophir Pass should be called No Fear Pass after we successfully shepherded a 2000 Chevrolet Tahoe across its narrow rocky road more than 11,000 feet up in the San Juan Mountains.

On a normal day this trail isn't all that tough, but descending the west side's rocky shelf in a steady drizzle and fog as dense as skim milk did give us momentary pause when we considered that putting a wheel amiss could result in a consequence we didn't really want to contemplate.

Antics like this are hardly the usual fare for Suburbans and Tahoes, but Chevrolet has a truck reputation to protect and it was important to demonstrate that the 2000 Suburban and... Read More