2001 Tahoe

Consumer Reviews
2001 Chevrolet Tahoe

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

27 Reviews
2001 Chevrolet Tahoe
4.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

01 and 02 Tahoes are the most reliable

by Tahoe Owner from Illinois on April 3, 2012

Had a 01 Tahoe that had almost 200,000 miles with no major problems until an accident. Bought a 02 Tahoe to replace it and have had no problems. Decided to trade in a 02 Ford Explorer that had nothing but problems for a 01 Chevy Tahoe. With just a little maintenance it too should be a great vehicle. The overall performance of a Chevy Tahoe is great. Large enough to fit all the equipment for a 3 piece band or to haul a trailer. Long trips across country is very comfortable. Only thing that is pain in the pocketbook is gasoline consumption. It gets about 16 mpg around town and 18-20 on the highway, with a 26 gallon tank....ouch filling up. In the end, since purchasing a Tahoe I don't plan on owning another make of vehicle in the future.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've owned

by Booch from Minneapolis on January 22, 2010

I have owned this tahoe since new, October 2000. It is a 2001 Model. I have now over 100,000 miles, and all I've done is rear brakes, tires twice ( i recommend Michelin) and spark plugs and wires, and normal oil changes etc. This truck drives well, although does not ride like a car. It hauls everything, and tows without problem. It still looks great, and I forsee it lasting for several more years and another 100,000 miles. If you don't mind the gas mileage ( 14 in town, 17 on the highway) this 4 wheel drive truck will do everything you ask, without complaint and will not leave you stranded. The only negative thing i could say is, Chevrolet, please try to minimize the rattles in your cars/trucks!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't imagine a better vehicle

by T from St. Louis on March 11, 2011

176,000 miles, a few sets of tires and a new gas pump.........other than that, there have been 0 issues with our Tahoe. We use it for pulling a boat regularly, working and hauling as well as trips and running around town.... It is comfortable, reliable and drives like a nice car. Everyone who drives and rides loves this vehicle.... Can't do any better!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Love My Truck

by Short Fuz from Saginaw, MI on April 5, 2011

Best SUV I have every had. I started with a Jimmy and it has nothing over MY Tahoe. I will never sell it. I dont even want to upgrade. I stand about 4'11 or 5ft and people always ask How can you drive such a big truck (like females dont like trucks). This Tahoe has been all over and pulled a trailer through 15 states. What a truck :0)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by Truck Owner from Hastings, Michigan on November 12, 2006

This vehicle is great for comfort, driveability, towing and design. One should remember that this is a truck and even with all the improvements made, it will still handle like a truck. Mine being a 4wd means that it's higher off the ground and subject to handling problems in windy conditions. Also being around 5000+ pounds in weight, braking and mileage are decreased. One more thing is that being 4wd doesn't mean it can go anywhere or through anything. It is still 4 tires on the ground and they will slide and being higher, rollover, so beware of the conditions and use common sense. Having owned trucks since the 1970's, it is unbelieveable just how far the Tahoe and trucks in general have advanced. The ride is fantastic, the engine and transmission smooth and creature comforts fit for a king. Maybe a little pricey. Options are bundled together called LS or LT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Smooth Ride with a strong motor

by Jack Wagon from North Texas on June 13, 2016

Great vehicle with over 150k miles but will need to replace all of the front suspension components, power steering pump, and oil pan gasket. Another common item that will need to be replaced is the windshield wash reservoir which has hole and will not retain any washer fluid.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Room for the tent and Cooler

by Go Bears from Chicago on March 4, 2010

This is by far the best tailgating vehicle ever. Just look around the parking lot. Your road trip will be comfortable and have room for everything. You will want an external platform on the back for the grill; those things smell on the way home. I plan to drive my 2001 LT to the Bears Superbowl; so I plan to have it for another 20 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

it's a Great truck to own.......

by Chevy from new York on October 12, 2008

the price was resaonable and good........... Most Reliable Car I've Owned................... it's a good famiy truck..................... it rides very WELL......................

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Handling SUV

by Discerning Shopper from Chicago, IL on May 7, 2008

I purchased a used 2001 Tahoe Z71 in Sept. '07 after weeks of online research / shopping (and a few test drives) and came up with a winner. I replaced the brakes and tires and enjoyed a stress-free rough Chicago winter. I bet it truly can turn on a dime; it's that easy to handle. The interior space, both personal and storage, is great. The Z71 package provides an upgraded ride, adds leather, and eliminates practically all exterior chrome. It's a sharp looking vehicle. Proud to drive it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bulletproof

by RSomr from Ny on October 22, 2016

I bought my 01 Tahoe in 2014 with 98k. Currently has 119k and runs like new. The most comfortable car I own. I feel like I'm driving around on my living room couch. The turning radius is really good for a large truck, better than my 2013 Frontier that I gave to my son. I couldn't drive the Frontier anymore after riding around in the tahoe for a few weeks. I actually bought the tahoe for my son and decided to keep it for myself and give him the almost new Frontier. Have not had to do any major repairs at all but did do every service that gm recommends at 100k. So that got a little costly around $1k. For a going on 17 year old truck it still looks great with no rust other than underneath but nothing major. Gonna run it til it dies but that should be many years from now.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe