1998 Concorde

Consumer Reviews

1998 Chrysler Concorde

$484 - $2,764  MSRP Range
1998 Chrysler Concorde

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

8 Reviews
63% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Chrysler Concorde?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Concorde LXI

by "Big Guy" from BField, CT on Mon Dec 28 2009

Bought this car when i was 15 for my first car. Had 88,000 miles on it when i bought it and started off with alot of problems like the radio didnt work leaked oil and trunk leaked when it rained. After putting some money in the car (under $1000) the car works great runs very smooth and being a sedan you feel like your driving a limo because its so long. VERY comfortable leather!! LXI edition is a must!! Runnin strong with over 100,000 miles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

better than my new impala

by wheeler from mesa,az on Thu May 08 2008

i have owned alot of different cars in my time and so far i can get in and out of this great car very easy rides just great and has alot of power. for a person like myself being disabled being able to get in and out of a car is very important and this car makes it very easy for me to get in and out of

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nimble larger car

by Doc from Macon Ga on Tue Aug 14 2012

I bought this car after having Major back surgery. Very easy in and out of this car with leather seats. Down side, seats (black) were very hot for Georgia summers. It handled extremely well, felt solid on winding roads. The engine 2.7L was a little under powered, but the really bad part, at 60,000 the car was burning a qt of oil every 900 miles. Finally had to sell too many little issues. All in all a decent ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Mixed Emotions

by dramakid from Rural Nebraska on Mon Apr 06 2009

I got my Concorde LXI for my 16th birthday, with 81,000 one-owner miles on it. Today it just turned over 113,000 and is still running well. Great for long highway and interstate drives. Reliability has been so-so, sometimes it has a had time starting. All maintaince has been done at the local Chrysler dealership, and has been a good vehicle. It came with a factory Infiniti Sound System, and I had the front speakers replaced last year with new Infiniti acoustic speakers. The bad stuff- IT LEAKS AIR AND DUST. Before I had this Concorde I owned a 1990 Chrysler New Yorker Landau. I had the same problem with leakey back seats and trunk. The digital screen has also gone out on the climate control. Gas millage has gone down over the years... don't know why. A Concorde is NOT a vehicle that you want to own when you live in rural areas. I live on a ranch, and with our Nebraska winters I usually get stuck in the driveway.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

solid vehicle

by Happy with first car from Chino, Ca on Fri Jan 02 2009

This was my first car and have had it since 2006. Everything works flawlessly without any expensive repairs or anything than normal oil change and what not. Styling on the vehicle is very attractive especially when compared to the other vehicles of 1998 which were, from what I have seen, generally ugly. I have the 3.2L V6 and it has served me well on the freeway. It is always able to pass when needed. On highway, if I am kind to it, it can get 32mpg, but if I am driving 80, it is closer to 27or 28. Urban driving is around 18 mpg. I have test driven many other vehicles over the years for fun and helped the girlfriend buy a car, and have to say it stocks up well, even against modern cars....sadly, even against its own modern Chrysler competition. A good vehicle, and u won't be dissapointed if u happen to be in the market for it. Try to get the Lxi version which comes with all of the bells and whistles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

dont buy

by The Car Review from Pittsburgh, PA on Tue Jun 17 2008

I would stay away from this car if I were you because they are not reliable and the handling were do I start you can not control this vechile at all, but there are some pluses it looks good from the inside and out but when you start the car up its a no no its overall performance is 2 stars

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Okay for first car

by DanielMD from Forest Hill, MD on Wed Mar 22 2017

i inherited the car with 145k miles and after 2 years it now has 157k. It needs maintenance very often. Do not get this car as a daily driver unless you are willing to work on it every weekend.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Deal

by The Chrysler Concorde Caper from Virginia Beach, Va on Wed Aug 09 2017

This is a Awesome car, I purchased it practically brand new for $1,000. with 600 miles on it. It had 1 previous owner who died, this vehicle sat in a garage for 24 years. All I had to purchase was a battery and a new computer. I got into an accident and parts were inexpensive to repair. and the vehicle still runs great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1998 Chrysler Concorde

When it comes to humans, multiple births aren't common.

When it comes to cars, they are.

But like night and day, the Chrysler Concorde and Dodge Intrepid are the same, yet different.

Both of these front drive automobiles share the same platform, with a 113-inch wheelbase along with identical measurements for width and height. The Concorde comes in about half a foot longer than the Intrepid's 203.7-inch length, which allows slightly more passenger and cargo room.

Engine choices are identical as well. Both start with an all-aluminum 2.7-liter, 24-valve double-overhead-cam V6, pumping out a whiney, if sufficient, 200 horsepower and 188 pound-feet of torque. Optional on both is a much more comfortable... Read More