2000 Lanos

Consumer Reviews
2000 Daewoo Lanos

Change Vehicle
3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5

8 Reviews
2000 Daewoo Lanos
3.2 out of 5 starsComfort
3.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car! 2000 Daewoo Lanos S Hatchback

by High Schooler from Detroit Lakes, Minnesota on April 10, 2016

Great little car. Very good on the highway. A bit noisy, but that can be fixed by turning up the radio. Pretty economical back in the day, but could be better. I get around 34 mpg driving highway and city. Plenty of trunk space, but the back seats are a bit crowded. The only problem with this year of Daewoo is in the Lanos S: there is no clock on the dash, and it is missing an RPM meter. Some people also mention the timing belt goes out quick. It may be true for some cars, but mine doesn't seem to have this issue. All in all, if you treat this car right, you'll be rewarded with an amazing car that will last a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

More car I did not like

by mohammed from cairo on September 11, 2017

This car is full of defects, the motor suffers many defects after a period of simple use and that the car loses its stability while traveling at average speeds

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2000 Daewoo Lanos very reliable

by sw from Portland, OR on July 7, 2017

I was given this car in 2003, when I wasn't sure I wanted to own a car at all, mostly because of the expense. Not at all interested in the "status" aspects of particular car models; was just won over by the possibility of doing road trips without waiting around for friends to be available. Was rear-ended in 2004, and decided not to spend the insurance money on a complete rebuild, opting instead to just have the hatch bent back so it was still functional. 14 years later, my "totaled" car is only now getting its first major maintenance: I've done the usual oil changes, tire replacement, brake pads and such; one cracked hose flange, 8 years ago. Only now, at 65,000 miles, I'm having the belts replaced as a preventative measure, which will cost a bit more than I expected-- about US$600. Still, well worth it: after poking around a bit online to see what these things usually cost, I'm astounded at how lucky I've been to have had my first car be so inexpensive to run, to maintain, and generally so reliable! I've often wondered if people just underestimate Daewoos, because of unfamiliarity and/or snobbery: mine has been a great little car, on the road and "off," and, fingers crossed, I'm hoping I'll have it for a long time to come.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2000 Daewoo Lanos S Automatic

by Isle of Orphan Cars from San Francisco, CA on November 3, 2008

I bought this car brand new in 2000 and this is my review after 8 years of daily driving as the original owner. I have owned many vehicles in my life -- American, European, and Asian -- and the Lanos has been the most reliable of all those vehicles. In all this time, I have only had to pay for routine maintenance items -- oil/filter changes, new tires, new windshield wiper blades, and new brake pads. There have been NO mechanical problems or other failures of the vehicle. The Lanos uses a GM-built 4T40E automatic transmission, which is used in several other GM models and is smooth and reliable. It also uses a GM-engineered 1.6-liter double-overhead camshaft engine, with 4-valves per cylinder, producing 105 peak HP. The engine cruises smoothly and quietly at 65 MPH, and is efficient, yielding about 33 MPG overall. The standard power steering is nicely weighted, though perhaps just a bit heavy at expressway speeds. The brakes are nicely modulated and responsive. The build quality is impressive, with narrow and consistent gaps between the body panels. The Lanos, now discontinued, continues life in its new incarnation as the Chevrolet Aveo. The car does what it's designed to do well: It is a small, basic, efficient commuter, which is thoroughly reliable, fuel-efficient, and delivers good handling, ride, acceleration, and braking. Interior noise levels are decently muted, with the primary noises being wind rush and tire noise, rather than engine sounds. Cars like the Lanos are disappearing from the American market because of the ever-present push for "bigger, stronger, faster", which have caused subcompacts like the Corolla and Civic to become much larger, less efficient, and more expensive vehicles. That leaves a gap in the market, where there exists a segment of buyers who prefer small, low-cost, easy-to-park, fuel-efficient cars that perhaps don't inspire fantasies of neck-snapping accleration or impressive doughnuts on slick evening streets, but do otherwise successfully fulfill the need for comfortable and dependable transport with minimum maintenance costs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great first car

by Sarah from Vermont on August 31, 2006

This car has been a great first car. It looks small but I've been able to move all my stuff back and forth to college very easily. Does need to have the timing belt and water pump replaced around 60,000 miles.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst car I have ever owned...

by Toyota Lover from Anywhere but where a Daewoo is on September 28, 2008

I have never seen a car so bad. I am calling the finance company to come and get it. It lasted 4 months and then started overheating after driving it for 5 minutes or so. The estimated repairs for this junker will probably total more than $700...which I am NOT willing to pay. That is why I either will call the finance company to come and get it or try to trade this pile of junk in on a good, reliable, dependable car like a Toyota or a Honda. I cannot drive it more than 5 to 10 minutes before it overheats. I refuse to pay for this trash. They can have it and find someone to buy it. Please, please...do NOT buy this car or any car made by Daewoo. They are absolutely NO GOOD and completely and totally UNRELIABLE and UNDEPENDABLE. Save your money and get a Toyota or a Honda...both are known worldwide for their high-quality and total reliability and dependability. I will never ever buy another Daewoo and you can take that to the bank!!!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Reliable car now needs repairs.

by JoyceC from San Francisco on March 28, 2017

I bought the car when it was a year old. I've had 16 years of good service. I can no longer drive for health reasons. Now the car needs work to make it as reliable as it's been for me. Battery need charging before it can be driven away -- hasn't been driven for about 5 months. Needs estimated $800 in repairs. A real bargain can be negotiated.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

worst car ever!

by z45 from alabama on July 6, 2017

Had too many problems with this car. It was given to me. The reliability issues with the car is far too much. It was very hard to find parts for and couldn't find anymore parts for it.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1