2005 Dakota

Consumer Reviews

2005 Dodge Dakota

$3,194 - $12,454  MSRP Range
2005 Dodge Dakota

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

38 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2005 Dodge Dakota?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 38 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Mid-Size Truck on the Market

by AZPathfinder from Wisconsin on Tue Aug 31 2010

I waited for the 2005 redesigned Dakota body style and really like the way it looks. Had a Ford Ranger for 2 years, test drove all the other small to mid-size trucks. The Dodge Dakota is the best by far. Have owned for over 5 years and very few issues...just normal maintenance. Looks and feels like a much bigger truck. I have the Quad Cab and very comfortable seating for 5 adults. I like the AWD and the ability to shift on the fly into 4 wheel lock and even 4 wheel low if needed...but never used. Just peace of mind. Handles great in the snow and on wet roads too. Like all the safety features like side curtain air bags, etc. I would highly recommend the Dodge Dakota.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Aside from the gas mileage, great truck!

by auburn tiger from Waycross, GA on Fri Apr 30 2010

Love the truck. Never had a repair in 4-years. Love the look and performance has been exceptional. Just not too keen on 12 MPG in city. :(

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best looking and fastest truck ever!

by Fratzogs Rule! from Jacksonville, FL on Fri Jan 11 2013

My 05 Dakota is the 4.7 v8 and when I mash down on the gas it feels like I am driving a NASCAR. Chicks really dig all the space in the backseat. Gotta say without a doubt this truck is a part of my best memories. Grab life by the horns!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

dodge dakota

by tim2347 from chicago,il on Mon Nov 03 2014

I have 3 dakotas and wish they still made these,now its time for a new truck again and there is really nothing out there I like as much as this truck. except for normal maint. this truck has been trouble free. I bought dakotas because they gave you the most truck for the money. everything else was 1000s more amd not as good looking as this truck. (cmon dodge bring dakota back)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sweet truck

by roughneck from woodstock,il on Fri Feb 26 2010

my third dakota take care of it, and it will take care of you. 5 years old still runs and drives like new. The ranger is to small and outdated. and chevys have to much plastic.always had dodge vehicles I also have a sweet running 93 plymouth grand voyager and a 03 jeep liberty all run great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

get up and go

by Kewl for Kars from Thunder Bay, Ontario on Mon Jan 07 2008

I've got the SLT fully loaded, trailer package, 4x4 chrome rims and black/chrome exteriors. Sharp looking and the V8 has guts. Tows my 18 foot camper like it's not there. No major problems at 35,000km. Replaced a seized caliper around 25,000km and back chrome bumper started rusting from day one. Cloth seats will stain from just rain so get covers for them. Stereo has good bass. You feel like one of the big boys in this compact. Competition looked too cheap and Toyota was too expensive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Been through the worst but it's my daily

by Agg from New Mexico on Thu Sep 11 2014

So being from New Mexico having ranches I use trucks all the time. My 05 4.7 4x4 does everything but pull the trailers. This thing has seen some pretty horrible days. Me and a buddy were off roading in a dry river bank when I hit a mud hole and sunk. Tried to get me out but no use, so we figured we would just get the front loader in the AM. Well it rained that night and the river bank filled up water was up to the middle of the doors and flooded the interior. After I got it out the only problems I had was a broken radiator a messed up tensioner pully and belt and thermostat besides that truck runs great!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Truck

by Lee from Cleveland, Ohio on Sat Jul 07 2007

For the size I couldn't find anything else that compared. I've had good luck with it. Already 55k miles and no problems. My first truck that isn't full size - and I've been pleased.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love this truck

by truck driver from chicago,il on Mon Jun 01 2015

great truck,great size,wish they still made them. If dodge brings them back I will be first in line to get one. and yes it has some minor issue's but show me anything that hasn't had problems. gas mpg could be better but again no worse than anybody unless you buy a base stick 4 cylinder import that struggles to tow something as small as a jet skii.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2 Time Dakota Owner

by IrbyDuo from Hartsville, Trousdale County, Tennessee, United St on Thu Apr 27 2017

Best truck I have ever owned. This is my second Dakota, and it has been a reliable workhorse for me. It is comfortable for long trips and great towing capacity.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2005 Dodge Dakota

Dodge Dakota gains a new look and a boost in size for 2005. It also loses something that no one is likely to miss.

Following the trend in pickup trucks, Dakota no longer comes with a traditional, single-seat cab. Now, there is just a variety of Club Cab and four-door Quad Cab models. Both have rear seats, though only the Quad has full-size seating in the back.

Dropping the short cab makes sense because most pickup drivers have learned to appreciate the extra space behind the front seats. That and the ability to use the pickup as a family-size vehicle, especially in the Quad mode.

The revamped Dakota is about 4 inches longer and a smidgen wider than its former self, moving up from midsize and closer to... Read More