2005 Dakota

Consumer Reviews

2005 Dodge Dakota

$3,279 - $12,003  MSRP Range
2005 Dodge Dakota

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

52 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Dodge Dakota?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 52 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Mid-Size Truck on the Market

by AZPathfinder from Wisconsin on Tue Aug 31 2010

I waited for the 2005 redesigned Dakota body style and really like the way it looks. Had a Ford Ranger for 2 years, test drove all the other small to mid-size trucks. The Dodge Dakota is the best by far. Have owned for over 5 years and very few issues...just normal maintenance. Looks and feels like a much bigger truck. I have the Quad Cab and very comfortable seating for 5 adults. I like the AWD and the ability to shift on the fly into 4 wheel lock and even 4 wheel low if needed...but never used. Just peace of mind. Handles great in the snow and on wet roads too. Like all the safety features like side curtain air bags, etc. I would highly recommend the Dodge Dakota.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

49 out of 49 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

get up and go

by Kewl for Kars from Thunder Bay, Ontario on Mon Jan 07 2008

I've got the SLT fully loaded, trailer package, 4x4 chrome rims and black/chrome exteriors. Sharp looking and the V8 has guts. Tows my 18 foot camper like it's not there. No major problems at 35,000km. Replaced a seized caliper around 25,000km and back chrome bumper started rusting from day one. Cloth seats will stain from just rain so get covers for them. Stereo has good bass. You feel like one of the big boys in this compact. Competition looked too cheap and Toyota was too expensive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Won't find a better mid-sized truck

by DodgeforLife on Mon May 21 2018

Happily owned a 2005 Dodge Dakota SLT Crew Cab V8 Magnum for the last 7+ years. Hauls whatever you throw at it and with the V8 it's just as fast and just as strong as it's big brother but smaller and lighter giving it great gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great dependable truck

by Elmo from Dalton Georgia on Fri Aug 25 2017

I have owned my Dodge Dakota for 3 years now and it has never once let me down. I love the 4 doors and the v/8 engine. The secret to these trucks is to keep the tires and wheels to factory specs. If you change the tires and wheels it affects the gearing and changes everything. Always use mobile one synthetic oil in these engines. If you do regular oil changes and drive these trucks right they will last you a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Been through the worst but it's my daily

by Agg from New Mexico on Thu Sep 11 2014

So being from New Mexico having ranches I use trucks all the time. My 05 4.7 4x4 does everything but pull the trailers. This thing has seen some pretty horrible days. Me and a buddy were off roading in a dry river bank when I hit a mud hole and sunk. Tried to get me out but no use, so we figured we would just get the front loader in the AM. Well it rained that night and the river bank filled up water was up to the middle of the doors and flooded the interior. After I got it out the only problems I had was a broken radiator a messed up tensioner pully and belt and thermostat besides that truck runs great!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sweet truck

by roughneck from woodstock,il on Fri Feb 26 2010

my third dakota take care of it, and it will take care of you. 5 years old still runs and drives like new. The ranger is to small and outdated. and chevys have to much plastic.always had dodge vehicles I also have a sweet running 93 plymouth grand voyager and a 03 jeep liberty all run great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love this truck

by truck driver from chicago,il on Mon Jun 01 2015

great truck,great size,wish they still made them. If dodge brings them back I will be first in line to get one. and yes it has some minor issue's but show me anything that hasn't had problems. gas mpg could be better but again no worse than anybody unless you buy a base stick 4 cylinder import that struggles to tow something as small as a jet skii.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth, quiet, powerful, & a head turner.

by a78magnumXE from Jacksonville, fl on Sat Jan 12 2013

By far the best truck for the money. Dakotas aren't to big so it's easy around town. Yet they aren't small either so it's stable and spacious on the interstate. I have owned every generation of Dakota and the 2005 generation is the Best. I love to point out the flaws in other trucks when riding in them. For instance, the chevys have the cheapest interiors. Fords have the worst dealers and there are a billion of them on the road so you aren't going to turn any heads driving a Ford. Be the best when u drive the best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Truck

by Lee from Cleveland, Ohio on Sat Jul 07 2007

For the size I couldn't find anything else that compared. I've had good luck with it. Already 55k miles and no problems. My first truck that isn't full size - and I've been pleased.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very loyal truck

by Ab from St.cloud fl on Sun Jul 07 2019

A lot of power for small v8 truck a lot fun. And. Soft. Ride. Own. For more than. 8 years 4 door very convenient perfect

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2005 Dodge Dakota

Dodge Dakota gains a new look and a boost in size for 2005. It also loses something that no one is likely to miss.

Following the trend in pickup trucks, Dakota no longer comes with a traditional, single-seat cab. Now, there is just a variety of Club Cab and four-door Quad Cab models. Both have rear seats, though only the Quad has full-size seating in the back.

Dropping the short cab makes sense because most pickup drivers have learned to appreciate the extra space behind the front seats. That and the ability to use the pickup as a family-size vehicle, especially in the Quad mode.

The revamped Dakota is about 4 inches longer and a smidgen wider than its former self, moving up from midsize and closer... Read More