2002 Grand Caravan

Consumer Reviews
2002 Dodge Grand Caravan

Change Vehicle
4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

20 Reviews
2002 Dodge Grand Caravan
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.1 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Mini van economy with SUV all weather abilities.

by Multiple mini van owner from Richmond, VA on August 3, 2009

I have owned a 2000, 2001, 2002, and a 2003. All were purchased used and were equipped about the same...All wheel drive, 3.8 liter V6 engines, Sport Package, and about 60k miles. Yes, All Wheel Drive. Many people do not know Grand Caravans can have AWD. After purchasing I had all of the fluids changed, even the ones most people ignore like transmission fluid. I also have the tires balanced and rotated, the alignment checked, the engine tuned up, and then state inspected. Doing these things alerts me if there were any issues I did not catch when purchasing and catches up any maintenance not done by the previous owner. I have run the vans to a minimum of 100k and have had very few issues outside of expected maintenance/repairs. I drove/drive the vans around town and regular road trips at speeds of 75-80mph. The vans drive and handle well, good visibility, have good room for carrying people and stuff, and the AWD provides excellent traction in heavy rain, snow, and ice. If you take care of it, they seem to hold up well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Only vans i own

by Drive alittle of everything from Landover, Md on August 28, 2009

I have owned an 87,90,92,96,98 and now a 2001 grand caravan. Wouldnt trade it for the world. Great van use it for work {cable installer} and personal. Just have that tranny money ready at 80 to 100k miles. No complaint tho. Drive the van any and everywhere.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle!

by "Doc" from Grand Junction, CO on January 12, 2012

Purchased used (2 yrs old) w/ 36K miles. After 8 yrs, now have 200K on it. Use for general getting around, utility (lots of cargo space w/ rear seats removed), travel , & family (take grandkids fishing - w/ rear seats in). Usually use w/ only one rear seat in, so lots of leg room for back seat passengers. For travel, take rear seats out & have a mini-RV for sleeping 2 adults + room for storage! Worked great for trip of a lifetime to Alaska via ferry and AlCan highway. General wear & tear maintenance, nothing major; gas mileage up to 32 mpg highway (usually 27-29 mpg highway; keep tire pressures at 40 psi w/ tires rated for such); original transmission still in it. Used synthetic oil only since purchase (5K oil change schedule) so engine remains strong. Great vehicle; will be sad when time comes to replace it. But I will look for stow & go rear seats in my next van (possibly quicker & easier to switch rear seating) arrangements)!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

so very worth every penny

by mini enthusiast from wellington on June 27, 2009

loads kids, groceries, luggage, with ease, and unloads as easily. very reliable, I LOVE THIS MINI VAN, so do my kids :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great van for the money

by Josh from Pacific Northwest on November 22, 2008

Great family car. For the money it has the comfort and styling that most families need. Great for hauling to soccer games or swim meets. Can be used for a fuel efficient work van too. (seat are removable and foldable.)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by 2002 Grand Caravan Fan from Houston, TX on December 12, 2011

Great value, and very dependable! My 2002 now has 216K miles on it, and is still going strong - some of the usual maintenance items are required over 100K but all in all, the engine and transmission are very sound on this model. I would buy one again 100 times over!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Paradise for family

by Bob from NY on January 23, 2013

I drove this car for few months when staying in the US. A real good family car, lot of space, very reliable, a real pleasure on the road. I'm more used to manual transmission, so automatic always seems less efficient to me, but for a so big car, the performances were very good

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my van !!!

by MerittGB from OWATONNA.Mn 55060 on May 7, 2017

I just love my 2002 Dodge Grand caravan Sport van !!! Had a tuneup done and radio fixed also. Nice ride best investment I made buying this . Price was very reasonable. Happy Camper !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Just bought this one

by Dad of two from Boston on May 23, 2007

So far so good. My wife REALLY likes this car. I really like it too, but was very surprised by the MPG. We had a Toyota Corolla for 4 years, so going to a minivan was a BIG difference in MPG. Bringing it in for its first tune-up since we bought it last week, so maybe the MPG will get better... Great car for the comfort and handling!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The cost of maintaining is relatively inexpensive

by 187 from Myrtle Beach, SC on May 15, 2017

This is definitely a good vehicle for a family seven to eight passengers good on gas very comfortable to drive and the stylish isn't too bad either

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2