2016 Journey

Consumer Reviews

2016 Dodge Journey

$12,223 - $23,111  MSRP Range
2016 Dodge Journey

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

97 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Dodge Journey?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 97 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car Best value

by mike from Oakdale,Ct on Sat Apr 29 2017

perfect size with just the feature you need. Great all around car / suv looks ,rides & handles great this is a well versed vehicle good gas milage , cargo space yet has the option with 3 rd row seating when you need it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

More car per dollar

by Vwase from Dallas, TX on Mon Jul 17 2017

This car basically fit my budget very well. We were skeptical at first as we don't see a lot of Journeys on the road but I think we made a very good decision now that we see a lot of Journeys on the road since the last 8 months of our ownership of the vehicle. Firstly, a 7-seat vehicle for this price? It's a steal. No other vehicle offered us the features that we have now come to consider as "must-haves" for today's crossovers / suvs. It's short stance and longer wheel base offers a smoother ride and handling with minimal body roll on the curves. The 2.4l engine is ok for our family needs but the vehicle also comes with a 3.6l V6 option just $1000 extra. The Uconnect infotainment system is the most intuitive car interface I've seen on the vehicles.. I've driven a ML250, RX350, Accord EX, for 2 years each in the past but Uconnect tops them all. Again, the body roll in this Journey is far far far minimum than the 250 and the 350. Over the past 1.5 years, I've rented a 2016 ford explorer, edge, escape, 2017 Hyundai Santa fe, jeep patriot, compass, 2017 Dodge Durango, and a couple other V6 Journeys as well. The only other vehicle upgradable to would be the Durango but I'm reviewing my 2016 Journey here so I'll stick with that. Coming to the storage/ interior space in the vehicle, its sufficient to say that I was able to transport a wooden Queen bed with 4 storage drawers, and a Queen mattress from Ikea into this journey with an extra space for a night stand still available. An extra seat for my wife to sit was also available. Not to mention extra cubby holes under the second row foot areas for cold beverage storage. Removable for discarding melted ice and cleaning. Very neat and convenient. Same under-floor storage in the back cargo area for dirty shoes and umbrellas. The switch gears are exactly the same as the Grand Cherokee and Durango. With an exception of front / rear wiper controls being integrated into the turn indicator staff itself so you've got all the controls in your left hand if you use left hand for steering. It gives a cleaner look as there's no staff on the right of the steering column and after you use it, you realise its very intuitive and doesn't need a special "getting used to" time. The only suggestion I'd like to give to the FCA designers is to upgrade the design to a more modern look which would considerably increase the fan following of this incredibly underrated and overlooked vehicle. Given the exterior design is 10 years old, it would certainly help to give this vehicle a smaller front overhang and a slightly higher ground clearance, with modern LED drl. (Not that it matters but just to keep up with the competition) Rear LED tail lamps are awesome btw. Overall I will and I have recommended this vehicle to my friends and colleagues and I'm always looking for an excuse to show off the vehicle to whoever takes a ride from me. Still the best car so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable ride.

by Crafty Diane from Woonsocket, RI on Fri Jun 16 2017

Keyless option is very convenient when your hands are full. The room is in the length making parking easier. Casual style (not too showy ) and very comfortable adjustable seats. It also has some nice PERKS!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by trumpet fan from il. on Wed Apr 19 2017

Great vehicle. Fun to drive.Very comfortable on long trips.Has more than enough power for passing ,also gets very good gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most attractive economical reliable SUV

by Sax from Chicago, IL on Mon Apr 24 2017

I've enjoyed this vehicle on road trips, it has descent pick up and great cruise control. This car is good on gas and sells at an affordable price. Nice interior, attractive and comfortable. Had no problems with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it. Lots of room. Nice power.

by Mark from on Sun Apr 16 2017

Surprised with all the amenities. Remote start. Flex fuel with V6 and leather. Seats almost go flat so hauling things that are 9ft long is no problem. The passenger front seat folds forward. Lots of little cubby holes. I like it so far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 Journey

by JSRECTOR from Knob Noster MO on Tue Apr 04 2017

Purchased a 2016 dodge journey and its everything my family needs, it has power, they are stylish, they even have a 3rd row seat. that folds flat when we do not need it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good so far.

by Rashid_44 from Tracy, CA on Thu Apr 20 2017

In the change of speeds a sudden change occurs. But I knew it but dealer said is Normal due to the type of motor that they used for this minivans.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by Tylerfegan from Lousna on Tue Apr 04 2017

We have had 3 journeys and have been happy with all of them. Very comfortable and lots of power with the V6 model. Would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a good deal. They are a good bang for your buck. The only complaint is that they could use a redesign. Have had the exact same interior and exterior since 2011

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A smooth ride with plenty of room for the kids

by Csnyder910 from Wind Gap, pa on Thu Jun 22 2017

We purchased the vehicle and then drove with 4 kids to Florida and it was a smooth excellent ride with plenty of room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2016 Dodge Journey

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2015 about the 2015 Dodge Journey. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2016, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The 2015 Dodge Journey is a low-cost, relatively family-friendly alternative to other people-movers, but you get what you pay for.

I want to like the 2015 Dodge Journey — with its affordable price, available third row and refreshingly simple multimedia system — but major ride and powertrain refinement issues sap a lot of its likability.

Again for 2015, the Journey is available in five- or seven-seat configurations with front- or all-wheel drive. Compare... Read More