2002 Neon

Consumer Reviews

2002 Dodge Neon

$920 - $4,728  MSRP Range
2002 Dodge Neon

Review Score

3.6 out of 5 stars

3.6

21 Reviews
67% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.5 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Dodge Neon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Cutest car ever.

by Neon Lover from Yakima, WA on Sun Jul 05 2009

My 2002 Neon runs excellent, haven't had to do any repairs since keeping up with the maintanance. Will admit the factory paint is not the best as it chips easily. It is extrenely comfortable to drive, not the most powerful off the block but it can get you where your going quick enough.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Dependable Little Car

by Emily from Alpena, MI on Sat Mar 05 2011

I bought my 2002 Neon in September 02 and drove it until Feb of this year. It was a great little car for me. Got me to and from work, college, and it was great to travel with. Excellent with the gas prices the way they have been. It just was too small for my growing family.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever bought

by Neon dude from Chicago IL on Tue Feb 28 2012

Best money I've spent. This car not only looks sexy but it feels sexy as well. It handles great. Its no race car but it has some kick to it. A great first car for a teenager!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very reliable car.

by neon owner from Boston,MA on Thu Dec 06 2012

I bought this car barely used in 2005 with 10,000 miles on it and it has been the perfect car never left me broken down on the side of the road. the only problem I was the average wear in tear for a car. the dodge neon is plain jane car so if your so if your looking for all the bells and whistles find a different car. I finally trade my neon at 230,000 miles for a truck because I needed something bigger.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

not bad

by working man from south dakota on Sat Oct 20 2007

I own on and is pretty happy but reliability is a question.Handles and corners really good great for city driving.It is worth the money.Kinda slow of the line but not to bad.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Reliable and economical

by SUV mama from Benbrook, TX on Tue May 16 2006

With the roller coaster ride that today's gas prices are taking, it seems that the Neon is definitely in the winner's circle with low gas consumption. I mainly use my Neon for getting to and from work as well as errands, soI only fill up twice a month. It's a good, reliable and economical car. I would recommend this car to be suitable for only those people of short stature. I'm 5'1" and it fits me perfectly but my husband, who is 6'1" has tough time adjusting the seat to give him enough leg room. He sets the seat all the way back and his legs are still bent. There have been no major repairs needed and it's been pretty reliable. I bought this car three years ago completely because of necessity and it's time for me to move on.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i' owned

by sport car enthusiast from michigan on Mon Jul 26 2010

is the best used car i have ever owned. very low maintinance. i brought it in 207. i have not spent 5 thousand on it. great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

A OK car but be willing to drop some cash

by ty6971 from Richmond,MO on Mon Jun 08 2009

I have had my 2002 neon for about a year now that I bought for $5500 and have already had to put about $2000 in repairs so far. Bought the car with 48000 on it. Now has over 65000 on it and since then alot of stuff has went bad. Heres the list of everything repaired, new front brake rotors and pads, new clutch kit(clutch,flywheel,presure plate) and the master cylenoide in the tranny($835 alone)new oxygen sensor and check engine light still stays on,bent front axle(dont know how no wrecks)a/c charge,new tires all the way around,head and manifold gaskets,exhaust flange and wireing issues. And tommorow I have to take it in to see about a throtle issue. Will sometime idle high about 2000rpms or just die. Don't buy unless you have to and if you do be willing to drop more cash into it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not bad,could use some improvment

by Neonowner02 from west PA. on Fri May 06 2011

Back bracks locked up, needed towed, problem with air cond. kinda rough ride when over 70,000 mls. but all and all not to bad, have had worse!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cheap to run, cheap to fix

by This guy from on Sun Apr 26 2015

I've owned a 1999 neon before this one and I can say your get the bulk repairs from about 70000 to 140000 miles. after that you'll be able to go a while after that though I suggest getting the timing belt replaced along with shocks and struts around this time also. After that, it runs like a charm. I get ~ 35mpg on the freeway going 70 and about 39 going 60. City I usually got around 25mpg. Overall good little car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3