1998 Ram 1500

Consumer Reviews

1998 Dodge Ram 1500

1998 Dodge Ram 1500

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

28 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Dodge Ram 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

98 dodge ram 1500 Laramie review

by The big asian from on Sun Aug 31 2014

My family has own one since new, it's a 98 Laramie slt, 4x4 club cab, it's hard on fuel but eh so what, it's easy to work on, a lot of room in the engine bay, it's only rated for 7,200 lbs but we've pull about 10,000lbs with it across canada, when pulling you'll get about 8 mpg if you're lucky

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good truck has power and gets the job done

by Dodgeguy from MCMINNVILLE on Mon Aug 20 2018

This truck exceeded my expectations. Has power and great handling .Very stylish , dependable . Will only own a Dodge from now on . Has all the power u want or need for any job.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It?s a truck

by Mike from Hatfield pa on Fri Nov 02 2018

I bought this truck with 187k miles with the 5.9l gas v8 engine. The trans is a little inconsistent in performance but the engine does what it needs to do. It is annoying that I?m getting 6 mpg but hey, it?s a truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bad xxx truck

by Mep0906 from Port Arthur, Texas on Tue Jul 17 2018

Loved owning this truck. Even at 13 years old and 150,000 miles, 2 previous owners, no ac (great heat lol), and the need for occasional maintenance well outside of the basic oil change. It was still a fun truck to drive. Plenty of power and interior room, even for an extended cab. Which btw had more leg room in the back seat than my 2013 RAM 1500 4 door. I recommend this as a first vehicle for a young man who is mechanically inclined. Or a lucky buyer who likes a big comfortable truck that floats down the street like a big body Cadillac.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can?t beat it for the money

by Countryboy447 from Nashville TN on Mon Sep 17 2018

At twenty years old my 1998 Dodge Ram is running like a top starts every time 3rd owner one fender bender hard on gas but I mean it?s a 5.9 v8 plenty of power hauled up to 2000 lbs in it before preformed excellently only minor fixes pulleys, belt, radiator keep fluids changed and it?ll run to 300k miles and beyond

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

98 Dodge ram extended cab 318V8

by Earl from Houston Texas on Sat May 30 2015

I am Earl. master mechanic age 59. To own a Dodge ram 1994 to 2002 is very close to owning a 60s vehicle. Any good experienced mechanic can only know these are the best. They have much more interior room and bigger seats than your Ford does. The suspension on these beats your Chevrolet and ford pickups. I know this because I won a f150 ford and have owned several chevy silverados and the Dodge is King of pickups in the year range I mentioned above. As a long time mechanic I feel secure with any investment I might put in this truck. Mine (98 Ram extended cab) has 181k miles on it and is doing great. I will never get rid of it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

55 out of 56 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Old Faithful!

by farmerjp37 from richmond, VA on Fri Jul 10 2009

The best thing since sliced bread. It has been an amazing vehicle. Under a light load with a trailer I can barely tell there is anything back there. The performance is amazing and has a great turn radius for such a large truck. I installed a cold air intake as well as opened up the exhaust and i now get close to 16mpg which is amazing for a full size V8

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Still going at 200,000 miles

by BeastOwner from Washington State on Wed May 29 2013

Bought the truck new, with 4 miles on the odometer. With proper maintenance, the beast is still on the road. I finally had to replace the tranny and fuel pump. Tires, oil changes and maintenance cost more on a big truck, but it's worth not having to buy a replacement vehicle since 1998. Mileage is 12-15 mpg - not great but not bad for all the hauling I do for Boy Scouting activities. The interior is comfortable for long trips, and it handles well for such a big vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Has been a good truck!!

by Stomper from Leitchfield, KY on Mon Feb 16 2009

I bought my 98' Ram Sport model 4x4 about 5 years ago and have never had any significant problems. It now has approximately 178,000 miles on it and still going strong. Never had tranny, motor, axle, or any other problems. I keep my oil and fluid/filters changed. I use it often to pull my car hauler and it does so with ease. The 5.9L has quite a bit of pulling power and the tranny is holding up fine. One of the big reasons I like this truck so much is the reliability and integrity of the solid front axle because the truck is lifted 5". I have never so much as replaced a u-joint so far. This is also a daily driver!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome truck

by Big head from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Mar 18 2008

I bought this truck about a year back (with 80k miles )with a few problems on it. A little TLC and it's the best vehicle I've ever owned or driven (now 120k). It's REALLY fast, handles well, and looks sick. If you ask me, the low gas mileage is worth the benefits (12 mpg average, mostly city driving on the big V8). The engine is reliable, just keep an eye on your fluids and other maintenance and you'll push this truck into 300k on the odometer. The ride is a little bumpy too but what do you expect from a full size pickup?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1998 Dodge Ram 1500

The question around Dodge Division these days is: "If two doors are good, are four doors twice as good?"

For the 1998 Dodge Ram Quad Cab pickup truck, the answer is, "Yes."

Dodge's Ram Quad Cab is the first full-sized pickup to offer four doors. Previously the domain of passenger cars, the '98 Ram Quad Cab invades sedan territory with a pair of rear doors.

These doors swing open away from the front doors. This creates a large, single, pillarless opening for easy access or cargo-loading from either side of the cab.

The concept of rear doors that swing out and back from a central body point isn't new. Back in the 1930s, some passenger cars had rear swing-away doors for more convenient access to... Read More