2000 Ram 1500

Consumer Reviews

2000 Dodge Ram 1500

$8 - $10,052  MSRP Range
2000 Dodge Ram 1500

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

20 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Dodge Ram 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

2000 Dodge Ram 1500 EX cab long bed 4x4 5.9 V-8 AT

by Backwoods Vermonter from VT on Sat Feb 02 2013

I bought this truck with 51,000 miles on it from somone who bought it new. I could tell that the truck sat alot so I went through and changed all the fluids from front to back. Along with spark plugs and wires cap and roater, basicly a full tuneup. I have a 16 foot job trailer full of tools that it pulls just fine. She is pritty thirsty I average about 15 mpg if I,m nice to her. The truck is very solid and will liquify the tires if i want to. The 360 V-8 has plenty of tourque. I have owened a Ram with the 318 in the past and the 360 is much better, the trannie doesn't bounce through the gears as much. I only paid 8,000 for the truck and it was in beautiful shape this is my 2nd Ram and it wont be my last.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great truck, but has its draw backs...

by Ram Guy 27 from Cape May Court House, NJ on Wed Sep 26 2012

I have a 2000 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT Laramie 2WD. It has the 5.2 and the automatic trans. I have had the transmission rebuilt to tune of $1500, replaced the shocks, front end needs work, and heater core is bad. I can honestly report though, that I have never had a problem with the engine. It has 192,500 miles and starts up without a problem everyday. It's not a speed machine, but it's a truck. I have had dual axle trailers packed with fire wood hooked up and it pulls them with out a problem, has plenty of torque to get some of the heaviest jobs done. I do have the dash board problem as well, that's one of those typical problems. As far as the body I have very minimal rust, if any at all. In my opinion it is a very good work horse vehicle, definitely not luxury but trucks just started entering that market about 5 years or so ago, so it's not expected with this year of vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A very Good truck for the money

by Dodge man from Cinnaminson NJ on Mon Mar 05 2012

I have had my truck since it had 30k on it and now its got 230k on it gas motor 5.9 liter and still runs like it did when i got it good truck i love it its all about how the owner before you took care of it if bad then that truck is gonna treat you bad but there are not a bad truck thats for sure i would buy another 1 brand new if i had a chance

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by Fisherman from Midland City, AL on Wed Mar 14 2012

Very good for the fisherman, pulls any size fishing boat with ease. Truck is good for 30000 miles with no problems if oil is chandged every 3500 miles and trans. fluid every 70000 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Truck you could rely on

by Moe from Riverside, CA on Fri Nov 03 2017

For the price you pay, its a nice reliable truck with good towing capacity, seat comfort and strong engine

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Classically useful

by truck lover from on Fri Jan 30 2009

Great, reliable vehicle. We had this truck and 2 foreign vehicles from the same year and spent at least twice as much on repairs for the other vehicles.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

not bad used buy

by CRW from North Carolina on Tue Jan 18 2011

Good truck to buy used for work truck since re-sale value is poor. Purchased in 07 with 145,000, has 165,000, 3 years later. Engine still strong. Much front end work required ($2100), just replaced radiator. Tranny was re-built with 127K and doing okay. Temperature control gives hot air and cold air, but nothing in between. Seats very comfy, ride is smooth for old truck, surprisingly quiet ride (best thing). Worst thing is the cracking dash- almost falling in. Local Dodge service manager acted like he'd never seen a Dodge truck with a cracked dash: Bad actor. Dodge will sell you a replacement dash for about $450. I told them that pretty much totaled the truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

only cummins

by bulldozer from Ankeny,IA on Sat Mar 24 2007

i thought i got my moneys worth bought it with 170000 miles on it cummins turbo diesel with manual 4x4 quad cab cant beat it. it came with some after market stuff like boost gauges and stuff buy it is still a good truck wouldnt get a autimatic or gas dodge though. so stick with diesel and stick lots of power and better gas that a gas truck

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Has been very reliable

by Criss from Olympia on Sun Aug 13 2017

One owner, in good condition. 5.9 liter 4X4 quad cab short box. 150,000 miles. The tires are nearly new, I wasn't intending to sell this truck. I have fixed many of the parts recently as I planned to keep it for many years. I just had the tranny completely serviced and it operates very well. I recently replaced the dash because the original cracked due to faulty material as is common for dodge pickups of this generation. While replacing the dash i replaced the heater core because it had a slight leak. I recently had the a/c completely replaced and it will freeze you out on a hot day. I replaced the door hinges. Replaced front wheel bearings recently and the brakes were also recently replaced. In last couple of years replaced all fluids... differential, transfer case, coolant, etc. A little over a year ago had the fuel injection system cleaned. This truck has been as reliable as they come and never abused. To be honest I will miss it! This truck has many more years left in it. I recently bought a new truck and I am ready to pass it on to the next owner. Come take it for a test drive. I am not in a rush to sell, I am open to offers but keep in mind I am not in a rush to sell.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

best used truck i ever had

by max1 from nj on Mon Apr 02 2012

not bad for overall except for the engine size(5.9) gas eater sleak look,roomy,nice ride,big tires nice color

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2