NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2004 Ram 1500

Consumer Reviews

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

88 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 88 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT

by ClayJ from Conshohocken, Pa. on Sat Jan 09 2016

Bought it brand new in 03'. Couldn't have asked for a better vehicle. Worth every penny I paid for it. Held up extremely well. Plenty of power. Extremely reliable. I owned it for 12 years and the only problem I ever had was a small radiator leak. I tried to fix it with quick stop, and clogged the radiator. My fault. I changed the tranny fluid and filter around 60,000 miles for peace of mind and other than that, it was normal maintenance. I can't brag about this truck enough. I only traded it in for a new one as I couldn't pass up the deal I came across.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The only truck to own.

by 507dodge from Kasson,mn on Tue Mar 20 2012

Overall,Great everything.. Try to work on any of the others,and you will understand the difference.And by the way, the others have many issues!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good overall truck!

by jjj from columbus, oh on Fri Feb 15 2008

I have the 5.7L hemi, hasn't given me any problems yet with 57k. Traction is not that great when the roads are wet, suspension is a little tough for comfort. Overall pleased with the truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Dependable Truck

by Jimbo from California on Sat Jul 19 2008

I have about 45,000 on my 2004 Ram 2500. It has the diesel and I've added a Banks tuner, exhaust and intake. With the tuner in the maximum power setting, it will set you back on your ear. On the economy setting, it will get up to 24 MPG on the highway. City mileage is about 14. I am 6'4", 270 pounds and the seats are extremely comfortable. At 63 years old, I plan on this being the last truck I ever buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love that truck

by Eric from Ontario Canada on Tue Jan 22 2019

I m a owner who of 2004 Dodge Ram HDMI I have 3120000 km on the truck and still running great best truck I ever owned

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far so good

by Luis from Philadelphia on Sun Apr 14 2019

I bought my first truck which I think was a great first choice. Wanted something for work but also some slight performance. And I'm super happy I chose my Dodge ram 1500 with a 5.7 engine. I've only had it for a few months and it hasn't disappointed me... There's a few things I'm aware of when it comes to mechanical problems such as valve seat failure due to overheating. And ball joints. I'm will to put some money into it being as tho I only purchased it for $3800 best choice I made! I'll never part ways with her she's the last of a dying breed!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Has held up very well for the past 15 years.

by T.C.Ray from Chattanooga Tennessee on Sun Aug 04 2019

Great Truck. Not good on fuel tho. Have used for pulling Auto trailers and Uhaul transporting mostly. Still love the truck after 15 years. It has been a great truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome vehicle

by Louis Rodriguez from Plant city, FL on Thu Jun 14 2018

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT with 5.7 he I engine, If you’re in to muscle this is the truck you gotta have, no other substitute, incredible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck I have ever owned

by Canvas Painter from New Mexico on Tue Dec 12 2017

had my 2004 dodge hemi sport for almost 14 years.. no major problems.. best auto I have ever owned..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

My first pickup truck

by Joe H from Detroit, MI on Fri Jul 07 2017

Overall, a good vehicle. Not good in terms of fuel economy, but has a 35 gallon tank to compensate. The main reason I wrote this review is to report that the Original battery lasted 13.5 years. I have driven 87,000 miles. Recently the water pump failed when I was out running an errand. One bit of advice, By All Means, get the power door locks ( which I didn't)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500

The World’s Fastest Toy Truck?
2004 Dodge Ram SRT-10

DENALI, Alaska — Cars and trucks, such as they exist here, are simple and relatively few. That is my assessment after traveling through this gargantuan, rugged, beautiful state for two weeks.

This came as a surprise to me — perhaps because I’ve been a captive of television commercials, the kind showing drivers of supposedly tough off-road pickups and sport-utility vehicles doing stupid things such as speeding along narrow mountain roads or conquering rocky terrain.

Maybe I’ve just been a sucker for the Lower 48 Attitude, the arrogant presupposition, prevalent on the U.S. mainland, that man is... Read More