2006 Ram 1500

Consumer Reviews

2006 Dodge Ram 1500

$1,853 - $18,357  MSRP Range
2006 Dodge Ram 1500

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

96 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Dodge Ram 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 96 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Ram 1500

by Ram from on Fri Jun 24 2011

When i owned this truck,it had the v6 engine,wasn't very powerful got good gas milage,ok towing.I would say go with the v8 and ya got a good truck

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First New Truck

by Will from Burlington, VT on Wed Oct 18 2006

Recently had problems with older import pickup, decided to take advantage of incentives. I own a Black SLT Sport 4x4 Quad Cab Hemi. Paint dirties very easily but looks stunning when washed and waxed. Dealer was overly pushy. Laramie not worth the extras. Tires spin very very very easily with no load, avoid Michelin ATX, get BF Goodrich replacements. No spinning and better wet traction. Interior very solid, driver's seat a bit hard. Fold-flat rear seat very usable. 5.7L is thirsty, although if you go below 70 on the highway not bad for 360cu inch V8, about 21mpg. Power is excellent, no complaints. If towing avoid 20" wheels, otherwise they look awesome; get many compiments! 4.7L Hemi might have been more economical choice. Sometimes sounds loud when first turns over but quiets after 30 seconds even in warm weather. A little pricey with fuel at 2.75, but worth it in the snow and cold.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

got more than i planned

by i like big trucks from New York, NY on Mon Apr 07 2014

the truck is in great condition. when i went to look at it, it had several features that attracted my attention the color of the exterior and interior, the size, and the affordability of this vehicle. i put a down payment on it right away and picked it up yesterday. when i went to pick it up i also noticed the front seat is a bench seat which made it even better in my mind. i got much more than i had expected. definitely a very good investment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

One good monster truck

by Gabriel from IN on Thu Jan 22 2009

I have an 06 Ram Night Runner Edition. The hemi is strong and powerful. Does not have good mileage of course with a huge engine, get 11mpg in city and 19mpg on highway. Smooth ride for a pickup. Love the looks on the Night Runner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Defiantly a lot of powet

by Dentonmm01 from NY on Tue Jul 18 2017

Super strong! Would be excellent for towing. Only real issue I e had with it was the reAR axel was leaking fluid.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most dependable truck I have ever owned!

by cobia296 from Winterville, NC on Sat Nov 18 2017

Totally awesome for towing my fishing bay boat. Engine is rock solid. Paint still looks great after a decade.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Truck for the Money

by RAM Man from NC on Thu Sep 12 2013

Bought a slightly used 2006 RAM1500 HD HEMI with 4WD and Mega Cab in 2009. Truck had 17K showing and now is at 95K. For 4 years I had a company car, so I drove it little and when I did, I was towing a 35' RV Camper, so this truck was used hard. ( a lot of West Virginia, Virginia and North Carolina mountain driving) I have had 2 Fords and a GM in the past and I can say without a doubt that the Dodge has been the better truck. The only two repairs that I have had to make on it, were some rear end work at 60K and recently the one outer "U" joint on the driver's side front axle needed to be replaced. I have had no other major issues. Replaced the front break pads once and the rears are still going.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

this is one great truck

by vince-m from vacaville california on Fri Sep 01 2006

outside is the look of one tough truck while inside it give you massive room and comfort.you can haul the whole family and still have under seat room.the 4.7 motor is just enough but should have gotten the hemi.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nice truck for the money

by george from lakeworth fl on Fri Aug 17 2007

Nice truck but could ride a little better .Great for towing the boat it like its not there over all not too bad !!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2nd car from here

by JohnPaul from Phoenix Az on Wed May 24 2017

This truck was not what i expected....its way better....the value is awesome and the truck performance is amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2006 Dodge Ram 1500

The Dodge Ram pickup hasn’t had a major redesign since the 2002 model year, meaning it is facing fresher competition from everybody who makes a full-sized truck. The top-selling Ford F-150 was new for 2004, the same year the Nissan Titan debuted. For 2006, we got the Honda Ridgeline, which the company would certainly like you to think of as a full-sized pickup. Redesigned Chevrolet Silverados and GMC Sierras are just now reaching dealers, and in a couple of months we’ll get the all-new Toyota Tundra.

But there is one powerful bullet in the Dodge Ram’s arsenal: the Hemi V-8 engine. It’s probably the only current engine known to the public by its one-word name, sort of the Madonna... Read More