2006 Ram 1500

Consumer Reviews
2006 Dodge Ram 1500

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

74 Reviews
2006 Dodge Ram 1500
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 74 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Safe and Dependable vehicle

by Meat from Arizona on December 12, 2010

I bought my Ram several years ago after I conducted my own research between Dodge, Chevy and Ford. I have worked for a Sheriff's Office for ten years now and I have responded to numerous accidents. I first fell in love with Dodge ram when I responded to a Ford vs Dodge head on accident. The combined speed was 130 miles per hour and of coarse the Ford received the most damage. The Ram's passenger compartment was untouched and the driver only sustained a burn from the air bag. The driver of the Ford sustained a broken leg, broken sholder and an injury to his head. I responded to a roll over where a Dodge Ram rolled several times and again the driver only received minor injuries. I have a friend who ownes a Chevy and was in a roll over accident where he had to be cut out of his truck because the cab was so collapsed his rescuers thought he was smashed and feared dead. My truck has 150,000 miles on it now and I have only had to replace minor things. The truck is very dependable and it is has never failed me. I have several friends who I have recommended this truck to.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

46 out of 46 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Dodge Ram 1500

by 4X4 king from Aledo, Tx on August 5, 2010

I like the truck, but it has had many expensive repairs needed shortly after the warranty ran out. Hope you never have to have a repair done behind the dash board because most mechanics won't touch it except for the dealership and it was 650 bucks in labor just to take off the dash to get to the $25 part that needed repairing...just horrible design by Dodge.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

'06 Ram 1500

by rt shorts from Suburban Chicago on September 8, 2010

Got this after my '05 Ford F-150 XLT was totaled in a head-on. The other guy, '06 Grand Cherokee, fell asleep, not good. But anyways looked hi & lo for a similar Ford, couldn't find one, so started looking at Dodges. Went on line @ Kelly Blue Book and this one just jumped off the screen. Higher mileage, 77,000 when I bought it, but in imaculate condition. It is a Florida vehicle, white Quad Cab, 2 wheel drive w/limited slip, trailer tow, Lo-back buckets. It has the Thunder Road pkg., 4.7 L., V-8, 3.92 rear, and to tell the truth a lot quicker than the 5.4 L., in my late F-150. Has quick confident handling, for a P/U, just liking the truck more and more every day. This from a long time Ford P/U guy. Anyone and everyone looking for a P/U should give the Ram P/U's a try.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I was surprised!

by My first Dodge from Savannah, Ga on January 19, 2007

I purchased this truck because my family had outgrown the Ford Ranger supercab. My wife said whatever we purchased next had to seat everyone and this truck does. It has the largest bench and shoulder in it's class and the ride if great. My teenagers go to sleep on 20 miles or greater trips and they're enjoying the comfort. For fuel economy with the 3.7 L, V6, 6M transmission, I'm getting 24 MPG highway and it's not broken in yet (2 MPG better than the Ranger with a V6).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

got more than i planned

by i like big trucks from New York, NY on April 7, 2014

the truck is in great condition. when i went to look at it, it had several features that attracted my attention the color of the exterior and interior, the size, and the affordability of this vehicle. i put a down payment on it right away and picked it up yesterday. when i went to pick it up i also noticed the front seat is a bench seat which made it even better in my mind. i got much more than i had expected. definitely a very good investment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ram 1500

by Ram from on June 24, 2011

When i owned this truck,it had the v6 engine,wasn't very powerful got good gas milage,ok towing.I would say go with the v8 and ya got a good truck

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First New Truck

by Will from Burlington, VT on October 18, 2006

Recently had problems with older import pickup, decided to take advantage of incentives. I own a Black SLT Sport 4x4 Quad Cab Hemi. Paint dirties very easily but looks stunning when washed and waxed. Dealer was overly pushy. Laramie not worth the extras. Tires spin very very very easily with no load, avoid Michelin ATX, get BF Goodrich replacements. No spinning and better wet traction. Interior very solid, driver's seat a bit hard. Fold-flat rear seat very usable. 5.7L is thirsty, although if you go below 70 on the highway not bad for 360cu inch V8, about 21mpg. Power is excellent, no complaints. If towing avoid 20" wheels, otherwise they look awesome; get many compiments! 4.7L Hemi might have been more economical choice. Sometimes sounds loud when first turns over but quiets after 30 seconds even in warm weather. A little pricey with fuel at 2.75, but worth it in the snow and cold.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dodge Ram 1500 SLT

by Deric from Denver on December 15, 2006

Awsome truck for the buck. Takes the mountain roads without so much as a groan. Mileage is so/so, but that's with any truck for the most part. My Ram does the same job as my Silverado 2500, and looks much nicer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

One good monster truck

by Gabriel from IN on January 22, 2009

I have an 06 Ram Night Runner Edition. The hemi is strong and powerful. Does not have good mileage of course with a huge engine, get 11mpg in city and 19mpg on highway. Smooth ride for a pickup. Love the looks on the Night Runner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nice truck for the money

by george from lakeworth fl on August 17, 2007

Nice truck but could ride a little better .Great for towing the boat it like its not there over all not too bad !!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Our Expert Review: 2006 Dodge Ram 1500