2009 Ram 1500

Consumer Reviews

2009 Dodge Ram 1500

$8,368 - $22,892  MSRP Range
2009 Dodge Ram 1500

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

69 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 69 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Muscle Truck!

by YeOldeStonecat from Southeast CT on Mon Jun 11 2012

Picked up a used 2009 RAM 1500 quad cab, 28k miles, as I needed a pickup truck for home projects. After researched pickup trucks, even though the RAMs seem to have lower reliablity than the Ford F150s in many reviews..I just loved the style of the 2009 and higher RAMs, and the HEMI motor. VERY fast, great sounding engine. Very comfortable seating/cab area. Mileage..well, you don't buy a V8 pickup truck for mileage....I seem to average 14 around town. Longer highway trips she'll get into the 17's. Haven't had it long enough to rate the reliability..only been 4 months, but so far not a single hiccup.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love the new Ram

by fisrt time Ram guy from Los Angeles, CA on Sat Jul 23 2011

I had a Nissan Pathfinder and 07 Chevy Tahoe and the RAM is by far the best vehicle I have ever driven. The Tahoe was a disappointment, the old 4sp tranny and its weak 5.3 had to go. Rear suspension was jumpy and couldnt handle the corners. It is a big SUV but the 2nd row leg room was minimal and the 3rd row was just garbage. I test drove the ram and fell in love with it in an instant. It has great power, roomy cabin, comfortable ride and the styling of the ex/inteterior is top notch. I used to struggle going up and down of the moutain road with the tahoe cuz of its weak 5.3 and ancient 4spd but with the RAM i was astonished how well it handled the uphills. One complaint i have is the 5spd tranny, it works fine and drives good but wished RAM offered the 6spd tranny. I loaded this truck with more than its weight rate but the truck handled it well. i was surprised how well the ram handled the load and the u haul trailer i was pulling. i strongly recommend this truck, i know lots of people who are loyal to a certain car brand but i think thats total ignorance we should buy the vehicle by its quality regardless of the brand. I have a friend who is a 'chevy' man and bough the Silverado. Honestly it does not match up to the ram at all. it still has ancient 5.3 with no power, no sway control system, no hill assist, no power outlet as it is standard on the ram, back seat is crampy like a compacct sedan, interior is cheap and my friend is regreting it. it does have 6spd tranny which is great but the engine is just too weak. I think the new Ford is much better than the Silverado. Stop being a chevy or ford or dodge man and go out and test drive these trucks and buy what you think performs the best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

30 day review

by Bargain shopper from Memphis TN on Sat Oct 17 2009

I wasnt really in the market for a new truck, but the incentives on the new Dodges were amazing! I have owned this truck for just over 30 days now and it exceeded my expectations by a long shot. The interior design and finish is heads and shoulders above my 2008 Ram. I looked at Ford and Chevy too and couldn't find a truck with as many options for anything under $35K. The Hemi's power is addictive, (70HP better than Ford's 5.4L). I would recommend this truck to family and friends, Dodge has hit this one out of the park!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I have ever owned by FAR

by marc12205 from Missouri City, TX on Tue Nov 08 2011

Want a real truck - get this one !! Goes like a bullet and stops like a nat. Best sound system, comfort beyond expectations.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I've owned

by Caps from Lancaster , Texas on Wed Jan 30 2013

2009 Dodge Ram crew cab 1500 SLT Texas edition , Best truck I've ever had. 177,000 miles no mechanical problems Rides great with coil springs in rear, good mileage on the road 21 mpg , inside room very good. Tows very good with the Hemi 390 hp. Lifetime warranty om power train , I paid for max care , lifetime bumper to bumper 100 decutable Will keep this truck for ever GREAT Truck

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

If you can't DODGE it, RAM it!

by RAM ENTHUSIAST from Las Vegas, NV on Tue Jan 20 2009

I've owned a 96, 01, 04, 06 and now a Brand New 2009 Dodge Ram. I have loved every one and have been a loyal Dodge Ram fan since I drove my first one. Now Dodge has out done themselves with the 09 Ram, it is by far the best looking, best riding truck yet. It has more than enough space inside with great features. The exterior looks great with a very intimidating front end, everyone is sure to move out of the way. The new suspension system rides better than most cadillacs and thats not expected in a 4x4 truck, but this one does. There is more than enough power out the Hemi stock with plenty of room for it to grow. I would highly recommend this truck to everyone!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best pickup I ever drove

by bobby68 from n adams ma on Mon May 04 2009

I own the o9 ram crew txr4 model wth Hemi. It is the best truck or car I have ever drove. The comfort of the rear coil springs are great and when I was going 80-95 mph on interstate{ps dont speed}the secure handling from a truck was reashuring.{no rear hop}.Ive looked at a new tundra the dodges interior is way nicer and the seats fit me great [im 6'2''].IM getting 17 mpg with the hemi thats good the engine is got gteat feel to it at 50 if you step on it it goes. I also have the Ram box storage I am really impressed with the extra storage golf clubs are no problem. Chrsyler is having problems but this is not one off them I dont think you could buy a better truck. They will get back up and be even stronger America loves an underdog.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A New and Different Ram Experience

by danman7 from Lawn,TX on Tue Oct 20 2009

So far this thing is a credit to Dodge and their design team,it has a level of comfort,features,and ride quality not before seen in Ram ( or others) and it delivers the power in a more fuel efficient way,plus the extra storage features that Dodge throws in are a nifty bonus when needed.It's obvious that these guys are serious about earning your truck business after experiencing one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

DRIVES LIKE A CAR...RUNS LIKE A BEAST

by GRIFFMAN63 from Wappingers Falls. NY on Mon Aug 31 2009

I had an "04 Dodge Ram with a Hemi engine and this new one makes it look like Prius. Hit the gas in this truck and the pickup will floor you in the seat. I looked at several different trucks but none of them had the combination of performance and styling inside and out like the Ram did. The new instrument panel is awesome. It may seem like a small thing but being able to see the radio station on the instrument panel comes in handy. Plus the truck just looks mean and nasty....and thats a good thing

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Truck of the Year

by Dodge Fan from Pennsylvania on Sun Sep 28 2008

Dodge has really done it this time. They have produced a beautiful looking truck with the most powerful engine in a light pickup. The Ram Box storage system was a great idea, and the coil springs in the rear should give it supreme handling. Don't know why its max towing is only 9100 pounds, but most light duty truck drivers wont use their trucks to tow over 5 tons of cargo, i know i won't, and where dodge comes in; speed. id rather my truck pull onto a major highway and quickly get up to speed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500


My family loves trucks. Perhaps it's because we have two boys or because the hubby is in the construction biz, but there's a definite novelty associated with them for us. The 2009 Dodge Ram is wicked looking. Standing tall with a bright, shiny grille angled inward, it almost looked like a giant sheet-metal shark. I have to admit that the moment my string-bean 4-year-old stood in front of the parked Ram, I had the urge to push him out of the way for fear it might gobble him up.

Dodge redesigned the Ram for 2009, but little has changed for the 2010 model year. The 2010 Ram comes with improved iPod connectivity and a tire pressure monitoring system.

My test pickup truck, the Ram 1500 SLT Crew Cab Sport... Read More