1999 Contour

Consumer Reviews

1999 Ford Contour

$13 - $4,525  MSRP Range
1999 Ford Contour

Review Score

3.3 out of 5 stars

3.3

10 Reviews
60% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.2 out of 5 stars Performance
3.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Ford Contour?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Reliable Vehicle

by Bobby D from on Thu Sep 08 2011

It has been a great car for over a decade now. No problems with it at all except for replacing the breaks and a timing belt. Best investment ever.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Reliable Car

by Likes No Hassle Cars from Richland, WA on Fri May 19 2006

We bought this car when it was one year old. It has been a great car for our family of four. We have had very few problems that required us to go in to have it fixed. It now has almost 80,000 miles on it. We have been quite consistant with maintenance. The only problem we have had was that at about 70,000 miles the "check engine" light came on and we have had it in on the "computer" at the mechanic and he replaced the thermostat and some other little part. It came on again and they can't figure out why. But, other than that, I think it has been about the best, most reliable car we have ever had. A feature that I wish it had was a way to make the air conditioning not just to go the vents but to the floor also.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Car with little left over problems

by clarence from Williston, SC on Tue Nov 01 2011

The Car is quite and has good heating / cooling system and good running. Car has a quick start and very good ride what we gotten used to.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

One For the Money Two for the SHO

by SinePari160 from Dracut, MA on Wed Sep 30 2009

You cannot now, nor could you ever beat this car for the money. It's no BMW but its close, and don't forget to factor in maintenance, reliability, and parts replacement - if you factor those it, nothing comes close, literally. Its just quick enough and sounds like its going to eat its competition. All that at it gets better mpg's than its 328i counter part (which my girl friend owns). The handling, if you haven't checked, is bar none amazing. It leans just a little then bites HARD, especially with the right tires, heck, it'll almost pull 1 G stock. The Chassis up front is as stiff as you could possibly ask for, outback, it could use a strut tower brace or something, but nothing to be ashamed of or worried about. The exterior is delicious to me, but thats all subjective, but I'd argue with you if you told me the butt of this vehicle wasn't beautiful. The seats are supportive and never get hot spots on long trips. I have to admit though that the ergonomics are simply sufficient, they aren't anything to compliment. You will notice there is no center arm rest (but you can get one out of a Mistique in a junk yard for 20 bucks). One compliment I must make though are the back seats! If you miss the chance to just briefly sit in them - your life shall be incomplete, automakers take note please! Those 1 G turns couldn't dislodge you. For 99 the features in this car were decent, Everything power, CD Player, Sunroof, Leather. There are 3 things this car has as far as features go that no one has, not even BMW - a tiny engine with huge muscles for its size (in fact it beat the M3 for hp per liter, and here is the kicker to me... not just 4 sensor ABS, like every car, but a specific Bosh ABS control computer WITH 4 sensors AND Channels. Even here in 2010 most cars have 4 sensor 3 channel ABS, which means your rear tires are pumped together, not independently. Lastly but most importantly 4 wheel vented disks - and not tiny ones either, try to get these to fade on the road ... you're a liar if you say you did. Overall value - there is no argument against it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Euro flair w/o Euro muscle

by Ford Freak from Vermont on Sat Oct 07 2006

Bought the vehicle 1 year old in 2000. It's a 1999 Contour SE. It was a used rental car (if I didn't know this, I never would've guessed due to the great reliability). It is equipped with three options, automatic, ABS, and 15in 6 spoke alloy wheels. The inline-four cylinder engine has little power, but decent for crusing and FLAT areas. At times, if you let off the accelerator in the right place, you can feel the entire vehicle shake (this is because of the unimpressive four-speed auto transmission preformance). The chassis isn't that strong, as is reflected over moderate-severe bumps. All that aside, this vehicle is great fun and surprisingly agile through corners. The steering is precise, nicely weighted, and has good tracking. The fuel economy is a nice surprise as well. I average in the higher 20s in a city/highway mix! Be sure to get a Contour with anti-lock brakes. Speaking of brakes, while they're nothing to brag about, but you get a short travel, they're relativly linear, and they are responsive. The front cloth/velour bucket seats are comfertable, and the low cowl make seeing the road easy. The interior design is pleasent, but the "foam" top dash warped. The rear seat is also comfortable, but legroom is tight. This is a great sporty, reliable, good-on-gas economy car! Recommendation: If you're looking for a little car with a relativly roomy front seat, won't need the back eccept for occational use, want to have a little fun, and be safe (all Contours have dual front air bags, and ABS is optional, Traction control is on some as well), then the Contour may fit your needs well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not as Special as it should be...

by SVT Owner from America, Earth on Mon Dec 01 2008

I owned an SVT Contour and I was not impressed at all with the reliability of the car. Anything that could have gone wrong did go wrong. The High Output engine requires Premium gasoline which nowadays is not very economical. The high end power, the handling abilities and the overall look and comfort were top notch though, easily rivaling the BMW and Audi models that are in the similar class. However, $18,500 for a 10 year old car that was originally $25,000 is asking way to much. Look online, you can find these cars priced around $10K to $12K.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

OK car, but thats the problem, just OK

by a reviewer from US on Mon Jul 17 2006

PROBLEMS: So far, struts have gone, headlights became uneven, part of back of rear-seat popped out, trunk stuck shut trunk latch inside the car sticks, a/c doesn't work, driver's side key lock won't work, passangers key-lock sticks sometimes, passanger seat control panal fell off so you have to fit it back together to put the seat up or down, windows are slightly off track, part of the rear window defroster has stopped working, ABS motor comes on when to full potential when it shouldn't and doesn't when it should usually, the fuel pump went, and the check engine light is almost always on. The strange thing is that the car has been taken very good car of, cleaned all the time and oil changed when it should, gas tank usually above 1/2 tank, very well maintenenced, and probably over 75% of the miles we put on the car are highway miles. We were lucky that the problems were usually spread out somewhat. EXTERIOR/INTERIOR: Good side, car looks good, scratches on it usually stay surface scratches, and rust isn't a problem. Inside, the seats and design are very confortable, even with cloth seats, it is a confortable seat to be in, the only problem is that the head rests feel like wood. Also, its either confortable front seat leg room or rear-seat leg room, not room enough for both. The overall design is good, easy accessibility to things, the power window passanger lock only works for the rear passangers, not the front passanger, which is a problem with kids that like to play with the windows. The power locks are completely power, meaning that even on the door, where if you need to manually open the door lock if the car electricity fails, is power, you press on it, the power takes over and moves it for you, so you can't manually unlock or lock the locks, so if you are inside the car and it is locked and the electricity fails, you can't unlock the doors. Also, for the driver and front passenger, if the door is locked, and you go to open the door, the lock automatically unlocks for you, a very big problem with kids that need to sit in the front seat as there aren't any kid locks in the front seat. The car was purchased used, so it is possible that the car wasn't taken car of before we purchased it, and that usually, these problems wouldn't exist. Overall, I wouldn't purchase this car if I could go back in time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

money pit

by brokeman from Beacon, N.Y. on Wed Dec 22 2010

just when you think you have the car running in good order, something else breaks. at 130k and all highway miles, very well maintained, i think i should get a little more out of it without having to spend on repairs every month. we wonder why more people are buying cars made in japan.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Kinda Sad

by Dude from Washington, DC on Fri May 04 2012

This car was really ugly. It also broke after nine years of use, and had a nasty brake problem. It lurched when I stopped, and the stick shift demanded alot of attention. You could do better.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Don't get a spoiler or manual locks!

by Fix My Car from Boulder CO on Tue May 05 2009

This is an ok car. As it ages, the power steering doesn't work so well. I have a spoiler - it's awful! It makes the trunk so heavy that it's hard to open and frequently decides to shut on my head. Finally, the manual locks are horrible. They stick - some of my doors refuse to unlock anymore. It's especially bad in the cold. Don't EVER lock your keys in the car - it takes special heavy-duty machinery to get the locks undone, as my AAA guy can tell you. He said he's never had such a hard time opening manual locks on a car. The rest of the car is average. There is nothing about this car that stands out to me as especially good.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1999 Ford Contour

The Ford Contour has been a work in progress since its introduction in 1995. That is, the car has been in a constant state of correction. There were seat readjustments to create more legroom, suspension rearrangements to provide better ride and handling, exterior tweaks to mute its jelly-bean look, and changes to help the instrument panel make more sense.

Ford prefers to call those fixes "improvements," things done in the normal course of product development. Perhaps. But it is also true that most of those "improvements" came in direct response to customer complaints.

That should be a cause for celebration instead of an occasion for corporate euphemisms. People complained. Ford responded by... Read More