1997 Escort

Consumer Reviews
1997 Ford Escort

Change Vehicle
4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

33 Reviews
1997 Ford Escort
3.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4.1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Nearly best value for the money

by Ford Escort fan from Cambridge, MA on December 25, 2009

Our 1997 Ford Escort 5-speed 4-door is an excellent vehicle. The fully stock 2.0 engine can still deliver 37-40 MPG on the highway with conservative driving. After having lived its whole life in states with salted roads in the winter it has very little rust, and none affecting the paint yet. It has needed the rear coil springs replaced twice and the tie-rod ends replaced twice as well. The only other maintenance has been a re-built alternator, brakes, tires, and exhaust. Otherwise this car still drives like it were new, it is nimble in city traffic and can maintain 70-75 MPH on the freeway with only some increased wind noise (turn the radio up). At 13 years old and nearly 200K miles its "value" is nearly nil, but I would need a car with a warranty to be as comfortable about its reliability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Lasted me 9 years... then I hit tree.

by RIP Zippy from St. Paul, MN on April 9, 2008

I drove this car for 9 years and 110,000 miles and I would have driven it for longer but a kid spun out in the snow and slammed into me head on and then I hit a tree head on. For such a major accident in such a small car I walked away with only bumps and bruises. Had very few issues with this car. New trany at about 50,000 but it was covered under waranty and it leaked/burned break fluid and we could never figure out why. I had such good luck with this car that I had two family members get the same one and they have all been just as happy. Great for new drivers and people who need an affordable and reliable car. Highly recommended.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Gas Saver

by car_fan7 from Chicago, IL on December 28, 2010

This is a good starter car, i learned how to drive with the Ford Escort. ~Good gas mileage ~Compact ( so it's easy to park) ~Very reliable ~Good acceleration ~Easy to handle ~Easy maintenance (parts are usually affordable) Just take good care of the car and it should be very good to you; I've put a very good amount of miles in the car and it shows no sign of breaking down.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Its like driving the Energizer Bunny

by Escort lover from Joplin, MO on July 30, 2011

I bought this car 9 years ago with 103,000 miles for $3000. It has 255,000+ miles on it and it still is running strong. I just now had to replace the clutch, but other than that, I have not had any real problems with the car. I still trust it more than cars with half the miles and it still gets 30+ miles per gallon in combined city/highway driving. You don't get better value than that!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Extremely reliable and cheap for maintenance

by Zee from Detroit, MI on March 14, 2009

I bought this car with 100000 miles on it back in 2005 for $1500. So far, i have put 43000 miles on it with no major problems. Just replacing engine oil regularly and brakes when needed is all it takes for this little baby to get you everywhere you want to go with no worries. Average mileage is ~26mpg combined driving with normal acceleration. Car has been so good to me, that i'm gonna drive it `till it dies and that (according to the state the car is in) won't be soon.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good....if maintained

by car_fan7 from Chicago, IL on December 21, 2010

When my father bought this car, it was in really bad condition. The people who owned it where very "heavy", and the struts were broken. The car was so neglected that it needed a new engine, so we replaced the engine block and some other parts. After getting the car back into running condition, we drove it from Chicago to Dallas Texas, MULTIPLE TIMES. The car was very good, and never had any serious problems with it. We have put well over 120,000 miles on the car now and it shows no signs of going down soon. The parts for the car are very affordable, maintenance is easy, tune-ups can be done real fast, and the car gets good gas mileage. It's not a good-looking car but it sure does get you from point A to B and back. Just maintain it, like any other car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

'97 escort reaches perfection and is retired

by blue ridge naturalist from Ferrum, Virginia on February 1, 2012

'97 and later model escorts with the 2.0 L engine were the acme that earlier makes and models had achieved and been retired to the dustbin. The standard transmission gives better mileage 35-40 than the automatic 26-32. Other models of perfection, imo, included the '63 ford falcon and the '83 honda civic. I've had '83, '88, '93, and '95 escorts before these. The '80's models wouldn't go past 140k without head (gasket) failure. '90's models won't die.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cute!

by Cnfsd91 from Mokena, IL on August 23, 2011

I went from a jeep to an escort and at first I felt like I was driving a go cart but now I'm used to it and I LOVE it! The mpg is awesome and its pretty low maintenance. Definitely a great college car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

fuel economy and roomy

by stilson04 from Ypsilanti,Mi on March 1, 2013

small 2.0 engine which brings fuel efficiency yet cargo space of a station wagon. This is a nice family car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Owned this car for 15+ years. Was a good steed.

by JordanQB from Whitefish, MT on October 5, 2017

My old Ford Escort has been a reliable car that got me everywhere I needed and did it with great fuel economy. It had enough room that my family nor I ever felt cramped and was even pretty comfortable. It is a surprising little car to drive, as it was able to cruise down the interstate at 100+ with ease when in a real hurry and never had any major issues. I used this car as a daily driver and also would drive it about 300 miles to visit friends and 300 miles back about once a month for around 2 1/2 years. Mine, after around 200,000 miles of use eventually needed a new transmission. It didn't cost too much to replace and still worked good for another year and a half. The engine eventually just broke. Something about a rod or whatnot. Oh well. It was a great car for the decade and a half that I owned it and not all cars suffer the same fate. If you are looking for a car and find a 97 escort for a good price and good miles i suggest that you get it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 1997 Ford Escort