1998 Escort

Consumer Reviews

1998 Ford Escort

$922 - $4,390  MSRP Range
1998 Ford Escort

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

27 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 1998 Ford Escort?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Single Mom cocoa,fl

by Debbie from cocoa,fl on January 21, 2010

I purchased my 1998 Ford escort zx2 in 2000 with about 23kmiles on it. It is a fairly comfortable car, 2 doors offered enough room to pick up my water heater one year,in the front seat, take a road rip to the mountains another year, stayed at biltmore.The fold down rear seats have inside buttons which means you do not have to open the trunk to pull a knob.Like some cars.the controls are easy to use,I like the cruise directly on the wheel not on a stick behind it. Rasio is cassetee.This car gets in and out of traffic fine, has enough pickup to get on and off ramps and passing.It has wonderful pickup,Agile but not a cheap feeling car at all. Ive driven this car 138k miles and its still going strong!The only thing Ive had to do is regular maininance timing belt serphantine belt, and brakes tires oil change and radiator.(Shocks are good so far)Motor mounts tend to go but mine are fine so far. This little car is so rugged and solid.Its like the heavy denium of all cars.Casual,sporty,and always easy to dress up with a Chrsitmas tree in winter. I've hauled so many kids to church and to the beach. Its gone camping, doe trails and gets along with all other cars.Doesnt need to lead or follow does not crib, has great tires and grill, and no bad habits. (lol)!All my Mechanics and friends say the same thing:Ford should have continued with this car! It is a strong vehile.I often wonder why they havent ...everyone loves my car, I try to get a new car now and then but i dont have the heart.For a car that is swift and never goes out of style!consider the Ford Focus zx2!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

runs forever cheaply

by smalltown guy from Lebo,Kansas on July 15, 2012

I bought this car new in 98 have put one timing belt and two altnators on it other than that just gas,oil,and tires, got over 305,000 miles on it and still get 32 to 35 mpg at 75mph. I drive it about 320 miles a week

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best $6000 I ever spent!

by Jean of Jonestown from Jonestown tx on March 17, 2008

I bought my 1998 Escort with 110,000 miles on it. We just past the 206,000 mark, and it just keeps on running. The only repairs have been tie rod ends, an alternator, and a timing belt. This is the best car I've ever owned for overall economy and reliability.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent car

by hemiplz from Illinois on May 16, 2011

Great little car i have a 98 zx2 escort coupe. nice amount of torque comfortable front seats rear seats are a bit tight. 150k haven't had to many issues with it have had to replace the exhaust twice but i have a lifetime warranty on it so no cost to me. fun to drive an gets decent mileage about 24 city and i am a pretty agresive driver

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

10 Years and still going

by Chris from TN on February 18, 2008

I originally bought this car new in 98. Never had any major maintenance to do. Routine was all done to keep it going. Some minor glitches here and there. But it runs great, gets excellent gas mileage, and has been very reliable. I would recommend this to anyone as a first car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Billie Ray from Massachusetts on March 28, 2007

Great little car. excellent value. Over 200,000 liles. minimal repair. Bought used for my daughter and passed to two more kids before finally selling.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

50 MPG

by 50MPG on non-hybrid from Central NY on May 26, 2008

I have a Manual transmission one and I get 50 MPG. That's ofcourse being concisious. But in average it gets over 40 MPS easily. Not much problems at all, only thing so far is TIMING BELT had to be changed, which suppose to be done around 70K miles. Mine didn't have any special features, (didn't even have a cassette player only radio) only extra is automatic moon-roof. It is a great car for a commuter.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible Car

by Luis from Denver on August 17, 2009

I bought 98 Manual ZX2 w/ 54,000 miles, this pass 150,000 easy, the only fix that I made, was replace a Air mass sensor, never problem, I sold for get a Focus 2004, this look modern obviously, but the performance from escort 98 zx2 was so far better, I had Zetec engine in that 98 escort, incredible, for the city or in the mountain, great performance. That was a perfect car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car - Best in class

by 1998ZX2 from on November 16, 2011

Excellent use out of the car so far, very roomy, Mustang size interior, slick but economic. Almost to 200k miles and still going strong!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I bought the Escort new

by ChuckH from Rancho Cucamonga CA on November 1, 2017

I bought this car new. It was then driven by me, my daughter and my son. It's a basic reliable car. The odometer has 158,000 miles but the engine, water pump and clutch have only 12,000 miles. I was planning on keeping the car longer when I had the remanufactured engine put in, but plans change. It gets 30-40 mpg. I have gotten 40 mpg on drives to San Diego.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1998 Ford Escort

The Ford Motor Co. has a cool version of a hot set of wheels in its new 1998 Ford Escort ZX2 coupe.

The '98 ZX2 comes in "Cool" or "Hot" form and is aimed at young buyers who want to combine sporty with a brisk performance.

Ford hopes the ZX2 will become Generation X's favorite vehicle. Although the ZX2 shares key components with the regular Ford Escort Sedan and Wagon, the coupe has sleek body work unique to this model, more power, and a fractionally longer overall length than the sedan.

The principal difference is a potent Zetec 2.0-liter (121-cubic inch) four-cylinder engine that delivers 130-horsepower, 20 more than the 2.0-liter motor in the sedan or wagon. Suspension is tuned to deliver maximum... Read More