2004 Excursion

Consumer Reviews

2004 Ford Excursion

$5,121 - $24,245  MSRP Range
2004 Ford Excursion

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

25 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2004 Ford Excursion?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great for the long haul

by X-man from Charleston, SC on Tue Sep 20 2011

I needed to replace my aging Dodge Ram with a more reliable truck that can handle a load and tow to match.. Sure, there are lots of 8-passenger SUVs out there but none that can tow 11,000 pounds and carry 8 and stow cargo in a weather tight environment...the Excursion is ideal for my use. Combined gas milage is about 14.5 with a drop to 12 when I load it and hook the trailer up to it. Keeping the speed to a sensible 65 MPH helps with gas milage. Eddie Bauer package is hard to beat and the only thing that I'd add is a sun roof.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

King Of All SUV

by Excursion lover from Bay Shore,NY on Wed Sep 26 2012

Purchase my 04 Excursion with the 6.0 liter engine. I love it, I use this truck mainly for family excursion and hauling my daughter and her friends to cheerleading practices. I only wish Ford Motors bring back the Excursion.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top of the line!

by Ford Fan from Salem, Oh on Wed Dec 19 2012

I went from a 2000 ford f150 2 wheel drive V6 to my 2004 ford excursion eddie bauer edition V10 4x4. I tow a 27 foot boat a wife, kid and 4 big dogs. My F150 got me about 15 mpgs and my excursion gets between 10 and 12 mpg depending on if I hotrod. I have so much more truck in my excursion then I did with my F150. The milage difference between the Excursion and the F150 are minimal. I have more power then I'll ever need, its roomy and reliable. My kid loves the fact that it has a TV/DVD system. This is the perfect vehicle for recreation and family travel. I feel safe knowing I am larger then most vehicles on the road and you cant put a price on your families safety.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extreme Quality Vehicle

by Mo from Ft.Myers FL on Fri Oct 16 2009

We have had this excursion for 5 years and 120,000 miles and except for a seat malfunction (easily fixed) we have had NO problems. It still runs like brand new and the size is just what we needed for our trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by Taylor from Chicago, IL on Tue Jan 11 2011

We purchased ours in 2006 and have loved it - just a fantastic family vehicle - most comfortable road trip car we've owned to date and has awesome power for towing if you get the 6.0L turbo diesel motor - definitely the way to go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ford Excursion diesel

by Bryn from Houston, tx on Tue Oct 11 2011

serious tow capability, roomy, carries x3 22feet sea kayaks onboard and tows a large trailer. Good fit for a family of five plus two dogs plus penty of extra interior space. Diesel engine econcomy- why did they stop making this truck?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever!!!!!!!!

by "the wrecker" from on Fri Feb 24 2012

Love the excursion!!! wish ford still made it though:( who cares about gas milage it's your car!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

150K miles plus and still going strong

by Mystic from Texas on Wed Aug 26 2009

Love my Excursion! Over 150,000 miles, nothing but normal maintenance. I tow a heavy horse trailer all the time. With the 6.o turbo diesel I get 10 mph with the loaded trailer. Without it, I get 17 in town, 21 on the highway. Lots of room, smooth, quiet ride. Feel safer than being in a tiny little car! Like I said, LOVE IT! I bought in new in Dec. 2003.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent hauler!

by Maddog. from Okc on Sat Aug 18 2012

Awesome truck! Painful to fill up but not terrible when you consider how big and versatile it is. I have the 4x4 version and love how much higher it is. Ford messed up by ending production of these. The inside feels a little plastic, but not terrible. It's a great truck; well made. I've been very impressed with the quality of the drive train.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Badass truck

by John and Jessica Sax from Wiggins, Colorado on Sat May 27 2017

We were looking for a diesel excursion but after test driving a few diesels and a few v10's we decided on the v10 because the price was cheaper than a 7.3 powered excursion and has just as much power. It gets terrible mileage but it's been amazingly reliable, it's go plenty of power to haul 10,000lbs down the highway and hardly drops any fuel mileage with a load. We are the second owner and bought it at 104,000 miles, it now has 170,000 miles and no issues but regular maintenance. It has since been "totaled" in a hail storm which only really beat up the roof, we bought it back and have been enjoying it ever since. We drive it on 1000-2000 mile round trips through the mountains in the summer and manage 13-14mpg on the highways, and 11mpg in the city or towing. I plan on buying a 6.0 powered excursion in the near future as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3