2016 Expedition

Consumer Reviews

2016 Ford Expedition

$20,435 - $43,739  MSRP Range
2016 Ford Expedition

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

14 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Ford Expedition?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Vehicle

by Dennis B. from Eastvale, Ca. on Sat May 27 2017

My family and I traded in a 14 year old 2003 Eddie Bauer Expedition which had 218,000 miles on it, for a 2016 Limited (w/ 35,000 miles). We were extremely hesitant because we loved our 2003, but frankly, we started to be concerned about long road trips and runs to the River (towing our boat) multiple times a summer. All I can say is we made the right decision. I cannot believe the power of the twin turbo v6 over the v8, WOW. Where do I start: The overall handling, pick-up, steering, etc., is all incredible. I was a little taken aback by the plastic air vents, which could have been made a lot nicer (our 03 had better quality vents), but that's my only gripe. If you are on the fence, do it. Ford really hit it out of the park with this vehicle, you will not be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best driving SUV I have ever had!

by Ajlemmo from Erie, pa on Thu May 11 2017

love it, comfortable, smooth ride, and lots of get up and go! I feel very safe in this ride and love all the options it has

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best SUV

by firechicken44 from Bay Village, Oh. on Fri Jul 07 2017

I am impressed. Great power, handling, ride and steering are awesome. The dash and controls are confusing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Just Purchased

by CS from jacksboro, TX on Thu Jun 15 2017

I recently traded up from the Explorer because I needed more room. The only thing I do not LOVE, is the cargo space is tiny, in comparison to my explorer. It is very nice, and roomy. I have 6 children, two of which are teenager boys close to 6ft tall, they fit in the back seat nicely and have enough space to breath. LOVE LOVE LOVE this vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Low Mileage

by Chris M from Long Island NY on Tue Feb 13 2018

Single Owner-Purchased New. Immaculate Condition In and Out. Well Maintained/ Serviced Regularly. Low Mileage Commuter Vehicle. Excellent in Inclement Weather. Never used to Tow or Plow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It runs great and have had no problems whatsoever!

by RealRay from Abingdon, MD on Thu May 17 2018

Perfect for a family of four, loaded with friends (seats 8) towing my boat or camper. I've towed my camper all over Maryland, Pennsylvania, Delaware, etc. and towed my boat to Florida and back. Plenty of power climbing mountains with the camper. It's just a great truck...I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great versatile vehicle-does it all!

by Brody from Meridian, ID on Sat Sep 09 2017

Plenty of capability, comfort, reliability and security for long road trips, towing, and outdoor activities. Amazing power, fuel economy and maneuverability for such a large vehicle. Comfort, convenience and safety features make driving a pleasure! Even fits in the garage. Certified Pre-Owned program has great benefits.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by donna b from fletcher, oh on Wed Oct 25 2017

Love the room and seating capacity in the vehicle and the V-6 Ecoboost feature. Great SUV for traveling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing vehicle

by Eac5141 on Fri Aug 18 2017

It is a perfect SUV. It has enough room for the whole family! It also does not feel like your driving a large SUV with it's amazing pick up. I test drive everything from the suburban to the pathfinder, none of them compared to the expedition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very powerful and quick for a 3 ton people mover

by Fourfun1 from Boerne, Texas on Wed Jul 25 2018

If you want or need a large SUV that gets great gas mileage and carries lots of gear and people, this Ford will do the trick. The Limited model comes nicely equipped and will garner lots of compliments from your passengers for both room and comfort. Ford is getting closer to perfecting this model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2016 Ford Expedition

Editor's note: This review was written in February 2015 about the 2015 Ford Expedition. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2016, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Updates to the 2015 Ford Expedition create one of the nicest-driving big SUVs ever, but the disappointing lack of cosmetic updates means few people are likely to notice.

Big SUVs used to be the de facto choice of families all over the U.S. Able to haul massive amounts of stuff, or most of a basketball team, their V-8 power and four-wheel drive made them the ultimate wagons — all-weather, modern Conestogas that can haul boats and... Read More