2004 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

2004 Ford Explorer

$1,292 - $7,956  MSRP Range
2004 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

75 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 75 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Drive What You Love

by Explorer Girl from Knoxville, TN on Fri Sep 27 2013

Best vehicle that I have ever owned. Evidently my family agreed since they all borrowed it whenever they took long trips. This could be because of its comfort and great handling. I have towed everything with it from a tandem trailer to a pontoon. The mileage is not as good as our car, but then look what you get : space, 4x4 is great in snow or mud, ground clearance, great ride, towing capabilities, great price, and more. It is a fun vehicle. Things that I did not like: you must run matched tires at all times,and the faulty hinges on the rear window. After 150,000 miles it started needing lots of repairs so I made them before I traded it off. Trading it off was a big mistake. I will buy another one Ford Explorer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just like new

by Dan from Oceanside, CA on Sat Sep 22 2012

I purchased a 2004 Ford Explorer on s private sale with 134000 miles. I have been in the rental car business for many years and have driven Ford Explorers quite often. This one drove exactly as I would expect from a new one. No paint wear and Ford carpets clean up like new. The leather seats have some wear and can't be made to look brand new. The best I could get was very good and with one small tear on the left side if the driver seat. Every Explorer I looked at had this same damage. Expect that a cared for Explorer should run exactly the same as a brand new one and if it doesn't then there is something wrong. The interior buttons and carpet should not be stained or worn even at high mileage. If it is then the vehicle may have been used hard. I did have to replace the alternator and an oxygen sensor but both of these were easy to diagnose and fix by ordinary mechanics.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My second explorer and definitely not my last!

by Yo Max from Los Angeles, CA on Thu Feb 07 2008

Great car! I dont know what else to say. I dont regret the purchase at all. It does everything I need, though I wish the fuel economy was a little better but it was an easy fix with a new performance air filter and performance spark plugs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by green from columbia, mo on Tue Jan 17 2012

We bought ours in 2006 w/33K miles. It runs like a top, have never had any major problems with it. Cloth seats are easy to clean, exterior still shines like a new dime. Gas mileage could be better, but overall we are very happy with our very reliable truck!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Descent suv

by DaCarlo from on Wed Mar 11 2009

I bought 2004 used with 32,000 miles on it.Have not had any problems but I am worried because of the transmission problems I hear about.Chance u take with any vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great bang for buck

by car dude from phx, az on Wed Jul 06 2011

I bought this SUV used when it only had 30,000 miles on it and It has 82,000 now and the only thing I have replaced was the tires, battery, and brake lights. It is very comfortable and drives like a dream, the rear air is very powerful. The front A/c is my only complaint as it seams a little weak but the rear air is so powerful it cools the car down quick even when sitting in the back third row. I love this truck and will drive it untill it can't drive anymore.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Grate SUV #1 seller for a reason :-)

by Motown Man Modeto from Modesto CA on Wed Sep 27 2006

Bought this car for family duties. Third row seat a big plus. Turning radius better than our PT Cruiser! Car does what's designed to do haul people, things, and trailers on vaction. Smooth ride. Love the features auto lights, electronic door enrty used way more than I ever thought. Cons Gas Mileage, Transmission shifting sloppy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Sturdy Truck!

by Proud Ford Owner from Erie, PA on Tue May 10 2011

I bought this truck as I wanted to drive a Full size Ford SUV. And Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer was my best bet!! It is one solid truck! Very sturdy and very comfirtable ride on freeways! I'll give it a 4.5 out of a 5! (0.5 less because of the gas mileage...but hey... if you are worried about the mpg ..why drive a ford! :))

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I want another one

by Ford Explorer Addicted from Chicago, Il on Sun Sep 20 2015

My Dad found a 1993 in TN, I drove it from TN to Chi back in 2011. Only stranded 2x BUT for flat tire. I'm still driving it & it's just as reliable. I'm looking to buy another NOW.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1984 Lincoln Towncar

by silver bird from Indianapolis, In on Tue Dec 11 2007

My 2004 Ford explorer LTD has been a great truck to drive . gas milage is good for a 4,000 lb. 15 1/2 city and 21 on road. The ride is comfortable, quiet, sound, and safe. room for kids and adults. radio sound is perfect. steering is right on the money. look good to.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8