1997 F-150

Consumer Reviews

1997 Ford F-150

$387 - $7,919  MSRP Range
1997 Ford F-150

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

33 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1997 Ford F-150?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

One of the best truck I've ever owned

by Sumo from kansas city mo. on Thu May 30 2013

I'll tell you,Matt & Red @ All American Dealership was the best experience I've ever had.. I bought a 1997 F-150 from them.What a jewel!!!,I would not be concerned about driving on long hauls.Thanks guys.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It worked hard for me

by great work truck from Casey, Illinois on Thu May 28 2009

Bought this truck 6 years ago ,had 160000 mile on it. It now have 312765 miles,5.7 motor,runs great,but had to 3 sets of breakes on it.I have hauled everything from 100 sheets of plywood to gravel runs great use no oil hit a deer insurance totaled bought it back looking for grill ,bumper,header panel,and lights and see how far it will go or find one just as good. Keep up the good quality

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Former Chevy girl, changed for this truck.

by JamieLee33 from Malakoff, TX on Mon Oct 09 2017

I bought this truck in August 2016 with 313,264 miles on her, until a kid hit me last week she ran like she was almost brand new. Only had minor problems that would need fixed on a 20 year old truck fixed. She was far more dependable than ANY other vehicle I've owned. Had she not been totaled I would drive her til the end. She had 340,474 miles at her time of death, and was still the best ride ever! Very dependable, comfortable, and worth any dime spent!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A true workhorse

by Chris from Denmark from Palo Alto on Sat Jun 07 2014

Purchased private, 98XLT 4x4, 4,6 Triton V8. NO worries at all, treat the Ford as it deserves..and should..with quality-oil, filters and you-name-it, never rev the engine before it's warm..and you'll never have problems with this super-reliable truck. Next time I'll probably go for a diesel-truck,..and a Ford again ofcourse !

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hated to see it go

by Nathan Nelson from Knoxville, TN on Tue Jul 04 2017

I owned this truck from 2003-2017. Over 14 years I had to replace a number of odd ball parts. This includes a few PVC valves, tons of spark plugs, plug wires, headlight switch, passenger door lock switch, passenger window motor, under dash computer system, reverse switch on the transmission, radiator, clutch, brake calipers, and a blinker switch. This does not include normal things like brakes, tires, etc.. it had 180K miles when I sold it. I loved the truck overall. Took me across the country a few times and rarely left me on the side of the road. Being a popular model I was always able to find cheap parts. I had to sell as things just kept breaking.. and besides a commuter car I used the truck to go way out in the national forests, so I needed reliability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very dependable

by salexander7822 from Greenwood, SC on Wed May 03 2017

Very good even at 21 years old this vehicle runs and drives as good as when it was new. Very little maintenance over years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1st and best car i've ever bought

by unknown from Oak Cliff on Thu Mar 15 2007

this car has been good to my family for more than a decade i bought it brand new i still have less than a 100,000 miles on it and we've gone to my hometown in mexico every year and it has never let my family down all through the 20 hrs non stop to mexico.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

best vehicle i have ever owned,low miles,

by ford guy from searcy,ar on Thu Aug 18 2011

brand new parts are many...a/c compressor,water pump,radiator,starter,manifold,brakes, lots more... I started upgrading and restoring two years ago after my son drove for a year. i have owned since 2004. it has been pampered and well maintained. I would not hesitate to drive cross country in it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome for the price

by Mike from Fowler, CO on Sun Dec 06 2015

I bought my 1997 Ford F150 in 1999. It has been my daily driver ever since. I have put 250,000 miles on the motor and it still runs like the day I brought it home. It's comfortable, and been reliable since purchase. After 18 years of moving the only real problem I have had is the paint is beginning to fade and wear. I will keep this truck til it retires itself.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First ford truck i've owned

by F150 first time owner from Louisville, KY on Tue Feb 28 2012

Asthetically, i prefer the f150 in the bodystyle i purchased, and you cannot beat the fuel economy of the v6 w/ 5 speed transmission. Parts are inexpensive, and most things that have needed to be replaced are simply typical with age, such as tires, brake pads, light bulbs, and other various wear items. The truck is incredibly inexpensive to maintain in comparison to others. Dead reliable on the coldest mornings and the longest trips. The interior is somewhat spartan, but doesn't have the cheap thin plastic feel of a lot of cars and trucks of it's era. the 4.2L provides enough power to tow small things if you need it, yet the fuel efficiency to rival even new trucks. On average i'm getting about 23-25mpg city and run about 28mpg highway simply by maintaining proper tire pressure, weight of oil, air filters are replaced on time, and the fuel system maintained every 36,000 miles with an intake cleaner (seafoam) Have easily pulled a 20 foot pontoon boat at the lake, and it rides reasonably for a truck. It does however have some cosmetics that could have simply been thought out better, such as incomplete window trim design, and it lacks any amenity above the XLT package. The ride quality is comfortable for long hauls, but can get a bit bouncy on the interstates due to the light weight of the bed. Also the headlamp housings tend to fog and turn somewhat yellow rather quickly, making it difficult to maintain clear vision at night unless you upgrade to a brighter style headlight bulb. if you happen to smoke, and use the window to flip ashes, in the rain your control panel will get wet, so you have to be aware of that so as not to burn out switches for window controls and mirror adjustment. Has plenty of room in the cab for a taller person, and some storage behind the seats with an organizer to keep things from rolling under them. Center console is roomy with enough space to easily fit three 12oz cans of soda in the front, and several CDS in the back. Cupholders hold larger cups well, but are somewhat scary with smaller ones, as drinks tend to rock around a bit, wich if unwatched can splash your drink on the radio controls, larger cups can block access to the controls as well. Overall, it's a reliable, comfortable, and practical truck for the sensible driver.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 1997 Ford F-150

Here in truck country, the brawny Ford F-series pickup is still the unchallenged king of the hill.

After a stylish redesign unveiled early this year, the F-series remains the No. 1 vehicle in U.S. sales for the 16th year running, pulling away from its nearest challenger, the Chevrolet/GMC CK pickup.

And just a glance at the four-wheel-drive SuperCab F-150 we tried out confirms another superlative.

This thing's big. Really big, as in huge. And this is just the half-ton.

Does this truck need its own area code? If I walk around to the passenger side, should I pack a lunch?

And no, I won't help you move.

Despite its Herculean proportions, this jumbo drives like a charm, accelerating briskly and... Read More