2004 F-250

Consumer Reviews

2004 Ford F-250

$4,534 - $20,826  MSRP Range
2004 Ford F-250

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

31 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2004 Ford F-250?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Trevor from Chicago on Sat Oct 12 2013

Been searching for the right truck for about 2 years and finally found one. I bought a 04 F250 Harley Davidson edition with the 6.0L. People say that these have had problems and i have not run across any problem with this truck. Take care of the truck and you wont regret your purchase. The guy before me used it as a construction truck and beat it up pretty good. the only thing i have had to work on is the tailgate and the back bumper which both look brand new. Even though this engine had problems back when they first came out, ford really did a good job with standing behind there trucks. I bought it used and they gave me a year warranty on it. I would suggest anyone who is looking for a truck to get a ford. Built ford tough and it shows.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Take Care of it and it will Take Care of You

by Nate from Charleston, SC on Mon Jan 22 2018

2004 F250 6.0L Powerstroke - overall it is a fairly reliable truck once some issues are corrected (as with any diesel truck). Most busted 6.0L trucks have been tuned and abused. You can't throw an extra 200 HP on any engine and expect it to last without replacing other bits (head studs, turbo, oil cooling system). My truck is now 14 years old, 121,000 miles. Replace the oil cooler at 98K. Nothing else. I change the oil at 3-4K mile intervals, change the fuel filters every 10K, air filter when needed, trans fluid every 30k, no radical tunes, no silly tires, no drag racing. The oil cooling system is the weak point of the engine and can be fixed for as low as $450 or up to $2000 if you want a remote system (i opted for the less expensive factory replacement). If you are looking for a reasonably priced used diesel truck, purchase one that has not been modified or tuned and keep it that way. most failures are due to aftermarket add-ons that increase the fuel delivery and compression without strengthening the other components.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great Truck if you can handle the upkeep

by Nate Baker from Ladson, SC on Tue Jul 11 2017

Ford builds a great super duty! the truck body, frame and suspension are all top notch - I wouldn't change a thing. at 13 years old, the interior and paint are all in great shape and the transmission performs flawlessly. However... the stock 6.0L Powerstroke diesel has a weak spot in the oil cooler design. Even with intensive maintenance, the cooler will have to be replaced (likely more than once) at up to $2k at a shop ($500 in your driveway). That said, these trucks are perform better and are cheaper than a Duramax, even when you factor in the cost of an Oil Cooler. At 115,000 miles and one oil cooler, i still wouldn't trade my truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Looks GREAT and runs GREAT. Ready to go anywhere..

by Macd from Galesburg, MI on Fri Aug 24 2018

This is a real nice truck. Super clean inside and outside looks good as well. Runs and drives fantastic. 6.0 Turbocharged Deisel s run forever...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great all around truck

by Diesel Tech. from PA on Tue Jan 10 2012

To those on here complaing about the 6.0L Diesel let me ask this. Have you taken care of the truck? Mine is a 2004 F250 with 76k mi on it and It runs great. I use it to pull our 10,000LB 36' Camper and haven't had any major issues with it and it pulls it with ease. Keep the oil changed and the coolant clean and you can avoid many of the common 6.0L problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

F-250 XLT FX4

by Big Red Truck Fan from Plano on Tue Mar 24 2009

I bought this vehicle used w- 23K miles. It has plenty of power with or without a trailer. I've driven across country a few times and only had one issue with the Turbo. It was covered by Ford and no issues since then. I'd tell anyone to get one. It is a great truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Its a Beast

by HD TrUCK from Portland Or on Wed Dec 22 2010

Great truck, plenty of power and comfort, turning radious not that great, it is a truck and it reminds you that it is a truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not a Single Problem!

by Great Truck from Seattle, WA on Tue Mar 20 2007

We love our Ford! It runs great, rides smooth and is very roomie. We can fit adults & children in the back seat very easily. I recommend this truck to anyone interested! The only change I would recommend is more give to the seats, and you might find that with leather interior I am not sure.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect for towing, fuel mileage is great

by JasROtt from Loveland, Colorado on Fri Dec 22 2017

The fuel mileage is almost double that of the gasoline model. Low end torque makes towing a breeze. Maintinence is a bit in the pricey side, however you will find that with any diesel model. Best truck that I have ever owned.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

They got it right.

by Diesel from on Sat May 08 2010

The 2004 Ford Diesel is an amazing truck. Plenty of power to work all day and comfortable enough to drive cross country. Over the past 5 years I've had no difficulty with any aspect of the truck. I highly recommend and would be very comfortable with buying another.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2004 Ford F-250

One for the Haul of Fame
2004 Ford F250 Lariat King Ranch

I call it the Fairfax Dump. But its real name is much longer, its real purpose much larger.

Officially it's the Covanta Fairfax Inc. Energy Resource Recovery Facility, off Exit 161 of Interstate 95.

People from Northern Virginia and the District of Columbia bring loads of trash there. The refuse, up to 3,000 tons a day, is burned and turned into electricity, which flows to 75,000 area homes via Dominion Virginia Power Co.

It's a habitat for environmentalists and trucks, including this week's test vehicle, the 2004 Ford F250 Lariat King Ranch pickup.

Dump culture is inherently truck culture. People who arrive in cars, minivans and... Read More