2006 F-250

Consumer Reviews
2006 Ford F-250

Change Vehicle
4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

44 Reviews
2006 Ford F-250
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great truck... Worth every cent paid..

by HDstroke from Pittsburgh, PA on April 13, 2011

The 6.0 powerstroke is actually a reliable truck. How many of those that leave a bad review beat the truck, stack chip on chip to the truck, change the oil at 7K plus miles???? No matter what ford, chevy or dodge is going to have issues if you treat it like that. The truck will last but be smart and take care of it. For fuel economy the truck ways more than a honda civic ITS NOT GOING TO GET 30 mpg the trucks way 7,000lbs and more depending on truck. Would buy another one tomorrow hands down...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

84 out of 84 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not for everyone

by Riverrat from Santee on March 20, 2018

If you're going to own a 6 liter, you better understand it and learn how to work on it. Otherwise it'll break the bank. Once you bullet proof these trucks, they're very reliable. You have to do away with the stock oil/EAR coolers. Replace it with an external oil cooler and BD EGR cooler. Once replaced, you won't have a head gasket issue. It will not get hot enough to blow up. Everyone says it's a bad motor, but they're wrong. Its the components that's attached to it. The motor will go 500k miles or more if taken care of. I have a BD external oil cooler and BD EGR cooler. Never had an issue with mine. I pull a 10K toy hauler with no issues. BTW, you can do the head gasket without removing the cab. Love my truck!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE MY F-250

by Manda on July 25, 2017

Bought it when it was 2 years old and 9 years later it still runs like a champ. Just broke 200,000 miles a couple months ago. Don't think I have ever owned a better diesel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome truck

by Justin from North Las Vegas on May 31, 2017

I love this truck ever since I got it. Runs strong is clean inside and out. Just an awesome truck handling wise it's smooth. The truck looks really good for a used 2006 got it for a steal at 14,000 had to do some minor maintenance to it once I picked it up but other than that truck is in good shape.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great all around truck

by William from Dallas Texas on May 22, 2017

This truck is excellent for towing and work. It cleans up great for nights on the town and the power to pull anything you put behind it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It?s an absolute beast!

by B. Scott from West Lafayette Indiana on January 28, 2018

So far I love it! 2006 Indiana truck that has been through winters. So has some underbody rust, which I anticipated and planned on addressing with a body shop to keep it fresh. Diesel motor is an absolute ferocious beast !!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Nickle and dime

by Dugg06 from Phoenix, az on July 31, 2017

Truck has great power, looks sharp inside and out. Get 17mpg around town. But it Nickel and dimes you to death. Avoid the 6.0 liter diesel. Owned 2 months been towed 4 times. Sensors... sensors..... more sensors. $4500 since purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hauling fun

by Mort from Barrington, IL on July 14, 2006

I replaced my 1995 F 150 XLT with a 2006 F 250 Lariat at the end of January. Just turned 10,000 miles on the OD on July 4. This truck handles the slide in camper and 16 foot fishing boat with more stability than the old one, but there is a price in fuel economy. The F 250 weighs about 7,000 lbs. With the camper and boat the total on the road is about 11,000 lbs. I am getting 11 mpg on the road fully loaded and about 14 mph highway empty. This compares with 12 mpg loaded with the same camper and boat and 17 mpg empty with the F 150. The F 250 has the 5.4 L V8 with automatic and 3.73/1 rear end. The 95 F-150 had the 5.0 L V8 and I am not sure what rear axle ratio. I also had added Motorsport headers, a high-flow cat and 3" exhaust to the F-150. The ride is much firmer than the '95 - especially empty. Now I am looking for ways to improve the fuel economy on the F 250.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Plenty of towing power

by NDFan from Illinois on May 13, 2018

Plenty of power and even more room in the crew cab. Great MPG for as much as it weighs. All in all very pleased with the truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good performance controls easy to get aty

by Fix it twice from Genoa, WI on January 13, 2018

I think that it costs alot for its age but it is better than buying a new one which costs alot more. If it breaks down it costs alot of money to just look at let alone fix. The design for a major repair is so labor intensive for these vehicle anymore that it is rediculous. Why do the engineers have to make it so the cab has to come off to take the heads off an engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5