2006 F-250

Consumer Reviews

2006 Ford F-250

$6,052 - $24,172  MSRP Range
2006 Ford F-250

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

45 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Ford F-250?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great truck... Worth every cent paid..

by HDstroke from Pittsburgh, PA on Wed Apr 13 2011

The 6.0 powerstroke is actually a reliable truck. How many of those that leave a bad review beat the truck, stack chip on chip to the truck, change the oil at 7K plus miles???? No matter what ford, chevy or dodge is going to have issues if you treat it like that. The truck will last but be smart and take care of it. For fuel economy the truck ways more than a honda civic ITS NOT GOING TO GET 30 mpg the trucks way 7,000lbs and more depending on truck. Would buy another one tomorrow hands down...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

93 out of 93 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE MY F-250

by Manda on Tue Jul 25 2017

Bought it when it was 2 years old and 9 years later it still runs like a champ. Just broke 200,000 miles a couple months ago. Don't think I have ever owned a better diesel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great all around truck

by William from Dallas Texas on Mon May 22 2017

This truck is excellent for towing and work. It cleans up great for nights on the town and the power to pull anything you put behind it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It?s an absolute beast!

by B. Scott from West Lafayette Indiana on Sun Jan 28 2018

So far I love it! 2006 Indiana truck that has been through winters. So has some underbody rust, which I anticipated and planned on addressing with a body shop to keep it fresh. Diesel motor is an absolute ferocious beast !!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hauling fun

by Mort from Barrington, IL on Fri Jul 14 2006

I replaced my 1995 F 150 XLT with a 2006 F 250 Lariat at the end of January. Just turned 10,000 miles on the OD on July 4. This truck handles the slide in camper and 16 foot fishing boat with more stability than the old one, but there is a price in fuel economy. The F 250 weighs about 7,000 lbs. With the camper and boat the total on the road is about 11,000 lbs. I am getting 11 mpg on the road fully loaded and about 14 mph highway empty. This compares with 12 mpg loaded with the same camper and boat and 17 mpg empty with the F 150. The F 250 has the 5.4 L V8 with automatic and 3.73/1 rear end. The 95 F-150 had the 5.0 L V8 and I am not sure what rear axle ratio. I also had added Motorsport headers, a high-flow cat and 3" exhaust to the F-150. The ride is much firmer than the '95 - especially empty. Now I am looking for ways to improve the fuel economy on the F 250.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Plenty of towing power

by NDFan from Illinois on Sun May 13 2018

Plenty of power and even more room in the crew cab. Great MPG for as much as it weighs. All in all very pleased with the truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2006 F250 5.4L used farm vehicle.

by MFCobb from Houston, Texas on Tue Jul 03 2018

A handy man special at $3,333 plus the $215 document fee. I bought it as is. Had eleven codes, I got it down to two(evap canister and fuel tank pressure). Replaced plugs, coil packs, tail speed sensor, transmission temperature sensor & tow solenoid, and someone had removed the evap canister and all associated under the spare tire and to the gas tank... and changed the gas tank to a newer one but did not put the pressure sensor or evap canister or solenoid back.... A trip to a pick a part or craigslist part out will solve that for a bill. Someone had cut all the vacuum hoses under the dash behind the glove box AND A/C mode selector switch. I patched all those until I get a replacement harness from pick a part. The dust in the dash was everywhere. I cleaned it up with a keyboard vacuum attachment brush. Bought two new front fenders off of Amazon installed. Bought rear door cable ends off of Amazon to install on a cool Saturday morning ... all in all so far I have $4200 in it. The tires on it are like new so I got that going for me. It needs some body work here and there. It is a work truck so someday when I get a round to it. It looked like the tranny filters or fluid had never been cleaned. Burned some but luckily the filters did their job. It is clean and changed now. I am gonna flush it some cool Saturday morning. It now runs like a top except for the emissions crap. I replaced the factory radio with a Kenwood. All in all not a bad deal, but not for the squeamish. I knew it was a good deal for me because I can work on that stuff. I have one of those Bluetooth code readers... and patience... It will be a good work truck that I will not slowdown for railroad tracks or worry about scratches for. Just an old farm truck headed to the oil field. I have the title in my hand. .

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good performance controls easy to get aty

by Fix it twice from Genoa, WI on Sat Jan 13 2018

I think that it costs alot for its age but it is better than buying a new one which costs alot more. If it breaks down it costs alot of money to just look at let alone fix. The design for a major repair is so labor intensive for these vehicle anymore that it is rediculous. Why do the engineers have to make it so the cab has to come off to take the heads off an engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great Truck... Shaky Reputation

by EF Jr. from Lexington, NC on Sun Apr 09 2017

Design flaws cause the oil circulators to clog up and break down. Obviously not repairing this creates problems which can cause the heads to damage and break head bolts later. My truck has great torque and runs fine as long as it is babied. Bullet-proofing the engine is really needed to make engine more reliable. I wish Ford would increase interior padding and work on noise reduction inside the passenger compartment. It's hard to hear the radio without blasting away at your ears.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 F250 6.0 diesel

by Milton T from Roanoke on Fri Nov 11 2016

This year & model is one of the best values on the market. Ford worked through the poor design issues by 2005. If you research statistical facts, it has a good reputation in comparison to the earlier 7.3 and 6.4 or 6.7 which are heavily laiden with increased emissions designs. Most people just report on a single truck issue without considering the number of good performing trucks on the road. Just don't add aftermarket computer tuning chips, use synthetic oil change at least every 7000 miles. Clean out your egr valve every oil change and replace oil and fuel filters at recommended intervals. Keep good coolant cap on the truck and change coolant about every 30,000 miles which is much shorter interval than recommended. I have almost 300,000 miles on my 6.0 with standard components and I monitor engine oil heat, coolant heat and trans temp with a onboard gauge. Oh, use good quality diesel fuel additive on each fill up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

55 out of 56 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5