NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
1996 Mustang

Consumer Reviews

1996 Ford Mustang

1996 Ford Mustang

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

28 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Ford Mustang?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

20 years!

by JimC from Omaha, NE on Mon Sep 15 2014

I have owned this car since it was brand new, I bought it as my 1st real muscle car. I compared it to the Camaro, Firebird, and even the Corvette - for the ride it was better than all three; for the price it was better than the Camaro and Corvette; depending on the configuration the Mustang wasn't quite as fast off the line but MORE than made up for it on the curves! The convertible in the night time is unbelievable and what a great car for two on a road trip - love the car still after 20 years!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever

by thirsty from tx on Fri Apr 25 2008

great car, great looks, great handelling great everything, love the interior lay out, would recoment this car to anyone

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and fun car I've had.

by Joey from Orlando, FL on Thu Jan 09 2014

The Mustang starts every time on the first try...the engine is easy to work on and plenty of room for replacement parts and aftermarket parts. Love the low rumble of the engine and exhaust. Very fun in the spring and summer time to let the top down and enjoy the weather. The top comes down with an automatic switch for all you have to do is undo 2 latches above the windshield. Great car...would definitely get another one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SVT Cobra Power

by Tony Montana from Boston,MA on Wed Aug 17 2011

The vehicle is awesome. It's 15 years old and it looks like it came off the showroom floor when I bought it. The SVT Cobra was designed to be a great cruiser and a power house and it does not disappoint!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A very fun and super reliable car.

by Mur351 from Fargo, ND on Sat Jun 23 2018

This car was a blast to drive. It's mainly a fun weekend car, but for a sports car it's also pretty comfy and very reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

High performance, limited edition, certified

by Stacey from California on Wed Jun 20 2018

This Mustang is a car for a person who appreciates performance, perfection & beauty! There are no dings or scratches. This car is in Mint Condition. A Must see!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GT Convertible

by The Gear Jammer from MA on Sun Feb 19 2017

I bought my 1996 GT convertible in 2005. It had 56,000 miles on it when I bought it. It was red with a white top and white leather interior. I loved this car. I owned it until 2014 when I traded it for a newer Mustang. When I traded the 96, it had 125,000 miles. In the time I owned it, it needed a radiator and a heater core. The rest was just maintainence. It was exciting to drive, but still gave a reasonable ride. The bang for the buck ratio is just unbeatable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mustang GT Convertible - one with the road

by "PONY" GT Convertible from Jersey Shore, NJ on Tue Sep 19 2017

Summer day, top down, ocean breeze, Mustang GT Convertible, cruising down the shore drive, Life Is Good !

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MUSTANG GT CONVERTABLE 8 CLY VERY GOOD CAR

by SUSAN from BROOKLYN NY 11206 on Thu Mar 30 2017

SO SORRY THAT I HAVE TO GIVE HER UP VERY RELIABLE GREAT FAST MUSCLE CAR TOTALLLY GREAT IN ALL AREAS VERY FAST CAR IF YOU LIKE SPEED THIS IS THE PERFECT CAR FOR YOU

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I have owned

by RoySmith from Brandenburg ky on Tue Jan 15 2019

Very sporty and quick, love the convertible , flashy red color just have to watch my speed, very fun to drive leather interior is very comfortable

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1996 Ford Mustang

Adding power may make a better sport coupe, but it doesn’t always make a better ragtop, and Ford’s ’96 Mustang Cobra Convertible is yet another case in point.

I don’t mean to suggest that the 305-horsepower, all- aluminum version of Ford’s 4.6-liter, V8 engine makes the going less stimulating. Au contraire.

Its performance is distinctly different from the big 5.7- liter V8s available in the Chevrolet Camaro and Pontiac Firebird. But when all those valves (32 of ’em) and overhead camshafts (four) start turning at higher speeds — 4,000 r.p.m. and above — this engine is pure delight.

As addictive as it is, however, the engine’s additional... Read More