1996 Mustang

Consumer Reviews
1996 Ford Mustang

Change Vehicle
4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

25 Reviews
1996 Ford Mustang
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever

by thirsty from tx on April 25, 2008

great car, great looks, great handelling great everything, love the interior lay out, would recoment this car to anyone

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

20 years!

by JimC from Omaha, NE on September 15, 2014

I have owned this car since it was brand new, I bought it as my 1st real muscle car. I compared it to the Camaro, Firebird, and even the Corvette - for the ride it was better than all three; for the price it was better than the Camaro and Corvette; depending on the configuration the Mustang wasn't quite as fast off the line but MORE than made up for it on the curves! The convertible in the night time is unbelievable and what a great car for two on a road trip - love the car still after 20 years!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Car for little money

by Skiman from New York on May 13, 2011

Bought this car used as I always wanted a convertible. The overall performance for a V6 is not bad but the millage( Aprox 21 to 23mpg)more than makes up for it as the above numbers are all city stop and go driving. Car seems to handel and acellerates and stops just fine.The car is comfortable but could use more cup holders. The wind noise seems ok as everyone told me they were noisy I would have to disagree as I can here the radio fine without having to crank it way up the automatic tranny seems a bit sloppy on the upshifts, a shift kit or a tunner chip will solve that.The car is box stock except for a Cold Air Intake and a strut tower brace and I love it and would recomend this car to anybody looking for a fun ride I wouldn,t want to drive it in the snow or put more then 2 adults in it as the back seat is small.but other then that I give it 2 thumbs up. FUN FUN FUN top down crusin!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SVT Cobra Power

by Tony Montana from Boston,MA on August 17, 2011

The vehicle is awesome. It's 15 years old and it looks like it came off the showroom floor when I bought it. The SVT Cobra was designed to be a great cruiser and a power house and it does not disappoint!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and fun car I've had.

by Joey from Orlando, FL on January 9, 2014

The Mustang starts every time on the first try...the engine is easy to work on and plenty of room for replacement parts and aftermarket parts. Love the low rumble of the engine and exhaust. Very fun in the spring and summer time to let the top down and enjoy the weather. The top comes down with an automatic switch for all you have to do is undo 2 latches above the windshield. Great car...would definitely get another one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

3rd one was the best

by Belle from Garrison, KY on June 16, 2010

My husband & I met driving Black '86 GT's. I owned a '92 - loved it and currently own a '96 red convertible GT/126,000 miles on it. No big maintenance problems as of yet and it gets driven. They are a wonderful car and if you do not own one in your lifetime you are cheating yourself. This car will hang a curve and weave in and out of traffic for sooooooooooooooo much fun. Love, love, love it!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1996 Mustang Convertible

by Honest Review from NY NAssau on January 28, 2010

Purchased a V6 Convertible look I'm over 45 so I don't need the V8 speed & my kid uses the car. What eles can be said it looks good it's an American Icon it is very reliable good on gas & you can drop the top. Update the (SHOES)or I should say rims stock ones are ugly & you got one great ride for the summer ( keep the old rims for winter )

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nothing but tail lights

by Tango 96 from Elkhart, Indiana on February 10, 2010

Second Mustang I've owned...by far the most fun. The first was a Mach One. It was quick, but a little squirrely. This car is a "sleeper"...with a Cobra upgrade, it makes a believer out of the competition...you're seeing nothing but tail lights. Purchased used @69k, now has 115k...some minor issues that one expects with age..had a problem with the manifold leaking @80k, replaced the tie rods, etc @90k. Will replace the convertible top in 2010. Total stangers love this car...purple pearl paint that morphs to hot pink, with black leather interior..not for everyone. Would strongly advise anyone who has a chance to buy a '96 GT that has been well maintained (that's the key)...just do it! You won't regret it! Oh, yes...also, if you live in a wintery area, a "beater" for the winter is a must. You'll want to garage this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Love My Car

by mustang man from Clear Lake, IA on May 2, 2008

This is the best car that I have ever owned! I have a 1996 base convertible, even though it's the V-6 it has plenty of power. The only thing that I would change about would be to add another cup holder. I would recommend a Mustang to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Black Betty

by Evan from JEnsen Beach, FL on April 20, 2009

I love this car!!! I have a 96 GT blacked out with the 4.6 V8 and the %-speed. These cars are sick!!!! I recomend for everyone, but never buy one automatic or with a V-6. there's no point for it. If u want a slow or comfortable car, you shouldn't really be looking at these cars. If you want to be able to smoke rubber at any light over and over again, this is the car for you!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 1996 Ford Mustang