1998 Mustang

Consumer Reviews

1998 Ford Mustang

1998 Ford Mustang

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

41 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Ford Mustang?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

235,XXX and still going strong

by Burrito2158 from St. Louis, Mo on Tue Feb 16 2010

I was given this car from a family member and has been the best car owned so far. 235,xxx miles and still no repairs even has the factory clutch in it. i will run this car till the wheels fall off before i get rid of it. Not much for power out of the v6 but the mpg make it great and fun to drive daily. ive taken this car on three cross country trips and had no issues.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the best

by mustang freak from Grand Prairie, Tx on Mon Dec 13 2010

i bought my 98 mustang v6 with 165,00 miles on it and now have over 232,000 miles and still going. i had to repair the clutch on it at 200,000 miles other than that no major repairs to the engine. no smoke or leaks. the only thing is the cruise control on these model mustangs had a factory recall which the speed control cable got in the way of the throttle assembly and made the throttle stick wide open which can cause an accident. very nice car to have.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

200k and still going

by happy maryland ford owner from chevy chase,md on Tue Nov 06 2007

well i told my wife when this car explodes i am going to buy another ford mustang...so far 10 years later it is still going with no major repairs. Even the keyless remote battery is still going! I still have people who compliment me on my car. Bought it new for 20k and it is a convertible. Best bang for the buck American or Import.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely the best car ever

by Crispysdad from Louisville, KY on Wed Sep 28 2011

I bought my yellow 1998 GT coupe in Oct 1997. I drove it 6 years, then my son drove it 3 years to high school, 4 years to college, and 2 years to grad school. When he was ready for a new car, he had it detailed and brought it back to me. It still looks and drives like new. The paint shines the same as it did on the show room floor. No major repairs. Only a tune up, new belts and hoses. Still gets 22-23 mpg on the highway. 102,000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

4 years and 100k miles later....no problems

by Mad Hungarian from Los Angeles, Ca on Tue Jul 03 2007

I bought the car (98 V6 coupe automatic) with 91k miles on it and now it reads 184,532 miles on the odometer. I never had to take it to the mechanic for anything! The shocks were too soft to begin with and that part I don't like as well as the fake vents (styling on the body) - I personally prefer functional vents. Lots of torque and impressive amounts of cargo space! I actually took my mom and stepdad to the airport with 4 gigantic suitcases and 2 mammoth sized carry ons and it all fit in!!! I did take out the spare tire and it was tight in there but it did fit! Fold down seats are very convenient and the A/C blows at full strength still. One thing to keep in mind about this car is that it does NOT have Limited Slip Differential (LSD) and both rear tires spin when you press the gas! Meaning you can peel out and make smoke with your tires, but if you need traction (snow, rain, mud, etc.) you need to be aware of this!! I got a bolt on cold air intake to replace the factory air filter assembly and it improves MPG and performance.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1998 Cobra Mustang

by Shea69 from on Mon Apr 16 2012

The car goes great and I think I bought the car at a descent price. The dealer ship I dealt with was fair and honest. Would do business with them again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by Crispys dad from Louisville, KY on Mon Aug 26 2013

I bought this yellow GT coupe new in Oct 1997. It has been the best car I have ever owned. It hit 100,000 miles a few years ago and I had all belts, hoses, gaskets, fluids, plugs and plug wires replaced with factory original. I would drive this car anywhere. It now has 112,000 miles and never a problem.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best first car EVER

by J dog from Franklin, IN on Thu Sep 25 2014

I just got a 98 v6 coupe for my first car, and aside from a few scratches and dings, this car is amazing! It has 200,000 miles and still goes strong! I plan on having this car for a long time and I can't wait to drive it some more!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best of the Bunch

by svt49007 from North Wales, PA on Tue Oct 11 2011

I bought this 13 year old car with 31,700 original miles. All systems work perfectly and it has performed beautifully.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Tanya from Cary, NC on Wed Aug 16 2006

I bought my Mustang used with 65k on the odometer. Have had the car for 2 years and have only had 1 small issue with the car which is steadily approaching 112k. Very dependable and reliable car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 1998 Ford Mustang

Hold on.

Tightly.

The 4.6-liter, 305-h.p., 32-valve V-8 packs a punch when you kick the pedal, and the 17-inch radials bite the pavement--unless it has rained and the asphalt is covered with water and those radials would rather surf the turf.

Anti-lock brakes are standard, but traction control isn't available. For shame.

And be advised that the Mustang line gets some cosmetic changes for the 1999 model year, including a small h.p. boost in the 4.6-liter V-8 engine--the Cobra version and the base 225-h.p. V-8.

So if you wait a few months, you will have to hold on longer and tighter when leaving the light, though, of course, the price of the '99 isn't going to be lower than that of the... Read More