2001 Mustang

Consumer Reviews

2001 Ford Mustang

2001 Ford Mustang

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

60 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Ford Mustang?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 60 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Mustang Fanatic from Bronx, NY on Tue Aug 16 2011

I bought a 2001 Mustang Convertible with A 3.8L V6 engine and it's great!! it runs like a dream! Great pick up and handling. Very comfortanle bucket seats! My only problem is my back passengers complain there's no leg room but thats to be expected. It's my first car and I couldn't be happier with it. Not too bad on gas either!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW

by Chris from Pottstown, PA on Thu Jul 05 2007

What a Great year for Mustang! I bought my 01 GT pre-owned with 30,000 miles on it. I am so happy with my decision to go with this car. It's comfortable, powerful, and has the muscle one would expect from this American legend. The MACH 460 stereo sound excellent, the only sound sweeter is that of the 4.6L V8. I highly recommend this car for anyone debating on a sport car to buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I have had this car since 2002

by Ribasgt from Uniontown, Pennsylvania on Thu May 15 2008

I have owned this car since 2002 and I like it so much I got a 2002 the following year. Both of these car are the same and I feel that these are the best cars I have ever had. If there is something that I feel could have been improved would be more leg room in the back. No big problem, i never sit there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best used car I'v owned,

by Sports Car Girl from Malvern, PA> on Tue Jul 24 2012

I love my Mustang, bought it the end of May, drives like a dream, and for a 6 cyl. really moves. No problems so far. Car had 76,000 on it and it drives like new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best American Car I've ever owned!!

by Best American Car I've ever owned!! from Tampa, Fl on Sat Nov 19 2011

I always wanted a Mustang because I used to own an Iroc-Z and the guys in the Mustangs sounded louder and 100 times better! Ford makes it a standard in all their vehicles from factory. I had a few problems with the Camaro, and by far...this Mustang has always been the most reliable I've owned surpasing previous imports, etc. LOVE this vehicle and would recommend to anyone!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most enjoyable car I've owned.

by Kissa from Spanaway, WA on Mon Sep 01 2008

Between the purr of the engine, the gas petal beneath my feet and the convertible top down, I couldn't imagine owning anything that I'd enjoy more as a carefree young adult!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great American Car

by Masterkenny from Gurnee, IL on Fri Jun 11 2010

I got this car with 74,000 miles on it its a great car. Its Fast Its Fun It has a great turning radius It has lots of aftermarket parts Its Comfortable The only complainant is the gas mileage but with a new intake and keep the engine clean and it gets a lot better.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Always have loved Mustangs. from Federal Way, Wash on Sun Nov 04 2012

This car was a Mothers Day present a few years ago. I love it. Fun to drive, turns heads, wins 1st or 2nd place @ car shows. I plan on keeping it for a long long time. Bye the way it's a "COBRA" contvertiable....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

True muscle

by Firemann from Northern Calif. on Tue Jul 10 2007

I have owned four late model V-8 Mustangs. Simply put, you cannot get more performance for the money. The styling is classic and the handling is better than anything in it's class. Reliability is solid as well. Getting ready to buy my 5th- an '03 Mach 1!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2001 Mustang

by Reed124 from Strongsville OH on Fri Jun 02 2017

This car was good personally I like the v8 mustang over a v6 any day but the style of 99-04 stand is one of my favorites! I'm trying to sell my v6 for a v8 one now so if your looking to get one I'd go with the v8 all day if your looking for more power if not then just get the v6 great body style and a great car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2001 Ford Mustang

One nagging question kept creeping into my mind while I was roaring around in the Ford Mustang Bullitt:

Do I really feel like Steve McQueen?

The answer: a reluctant no.

However, there was another, more important question: Is the 2001 Bullitt a good stand-in for Steve McQueen's 1968 Mustang GT 390 fastback, made famous in moviedom's most celebrated car chase? Of course, that's the 1968 movie of the same name, Bullitt, which contained the eight-minute chase sequence pitting tough-guy detective Frank Bullitt (McQueen) in the dark-green Mustang against two bad guys in a Dodge Charger.

Flying, crashing, screeching sideways across intersections, cascading down hilly streets in... Read More